Customer Reviews for

The Lost Saint (Dark Divine Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A New Grace

    The Lost Saint: A Dark Divine Novel by Bree Despain is the second of the Dark Divine novels. The story picks up where The Dark Divine left off. Grace's world is falling apart: Jude is still missing, her father is gone all the time trying to find him and her mother is a mess. On top of all this, she is trying to deal with her newly found strength and anger, while Daniel just wants everything to remain 'normal'. And, in walks the perfect stranger: friendly, handsome, always in the right place at the right time and willing to help Grace find Jude. A recipe for disaster...

    I have to admit that I had a hard time reading this book. I was very surprised since I really enjoyed The Dark Divine. I was bothered by Grace's anger and bouts of self-pity. It is quite a turn from Grace of The Dark Divine. Grace, however, is evolving, in more ways than one, and her evolution is painful and hard. It's painful to read as well, but pushing through it was well worth it.

    I did enjoy The Lost Saint: A Dark Divine Novel, although it was not at all what I expected. I'm not quite sure what I did expect, but the process of Grace's transformation certainly threw me for a loop. It is a great second segment of the Dark Divine series and I look forward to reading the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All saints preserve us!

    First and foremost, if you can manage to hold off on The Lost Saint for a little while longer, this is one of those books where you definitely want the 3rd book on the ready before you swallow the sequel whole! This will not be kind to those of us who dislike hanging off cliffs...literally. I am sad to say that I have mixed feelings for this sequel to The Dark Divine after my raving review last month. It just did not move me as much - I was not too impressed with Grace and felt a little disappointed in her behavior this time around. Perhaps it was deliberate on Ms. Despain's part - and I'll grant that Grace's actions might have been slightly colored by the wolf's demon nature and frustration with Daniel's apparent brush-off. However, I thought Grace would react a little bit differently - or had more sensibility to listen to the more experienced who were looking out for her. The Lost Saint definitely takes the story arc to a darker edge and plunges even darker when we reach the final page. To see the toll of Jude's disappearance on the Divine family was heart-wrenching, and I could not help but share Grace's desperation to find her brother and heal their broken family. I am definitely itching for the 3rd book! I cannot believe it ended the way it did, and I am absolutely heartbroken for Grace and Daniel - and how things stand between them! What a HUGE obstacle for this couple! What does it mean?! I only hope that the final chapter of this series is finished next year as anticipated! I don't think I can wait that long to find out what happens to Grace, Daniel, and company!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Wonderful

    This bookis so good but i am so mad at grace. How could she do that to daniel. Cant wait 4 the third:) this series is awsome :)becca

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Follow-Up

    I have to say I didn't love The Lost Saint as much as I loved The Dark Divine. The suspense of constantly guessing what supernatural creature was at large wasn't there- I now knew that the big secret was about werewolves. There was also the thrill of forbidden romance taken away since Grace cured Daniel of being a werewolf at the end of book one and he's proved himself to be a good guy. But mostly I think The Lost Saint was just lacking some of the quality of writing that made it's predecessor so good.

    The book picks up almost a year after the first one left off. Grace is infected with the werewolf bite and she's working with Daniel on harnessing her powers without giving up control to the wolf. Jude is still missing and the Divine family is falling apart because of Grace's brother. Just when Grace is starting to come to terms with her new life, violent crimes reminiscent of the Markham Street Monster start happening in and around her town. Around the same time Grace meets, Talbot, a young man who's a werewolf like her and who might have answers that link Jude to this new string of crimes.

    A love triangle ensues and it felt kind of stilted. It was like Bree Despain knew that love triangles are a requirement of young adult paranormal romances but didn't put a real effort into making the situation plausible. At times Grace got a bit on the annoying side, with her unwavering morals and self-righteousness making her seem more like a saint than a teenage girl. But two-thirds into the book things picked up with some truly riveting rising action. The climax had an explosive excitement that made up for the book's shortcomings and the twists near the end took me by surprise. The book left me desperate to get my hands on the next installment and I would definitely suggest it to people who enjoyed The Dark Divine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!! UNORIGINAL PLOT, NOTHING EXCITING UNTIL 1/2 THE BOOK WAS READ. AT THAT POINT I WAS READY TO THROW IN THE TOWEL.

    The problem with this book is two fold for me; First: The second book took so long to come out I did not even remember the story line and plot. Second: Th book dragged on and on until finally after about giving up and almost half way thru the book it piqued my interest. I read a lot of books and given the change, I will not longer read books from the author. I want a book that keeps me hanging on, one that I do not want to be left once again disappointed and knowing the series will continue and either I leave it alone or be forced to buy a poorly written book to get to the ending. Please limit it to 3. It is bland and nothing special, all teens books are about true love and supernatural creatures these day. Stop stealing other peoples ideas and write something new for god sakes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    ahhh

    when is thr third one coming?!?!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    grrr

    the book was great! only thing i didnt like that she was falling for the other guy and the ending is such a cliff hanger! it makes you mad if your team daniel! i hope theirs a sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I really enjoy paranormal stories that have more substance than just the paranormal aspect. I like characters that feel real. For some reason, it makes it completely plausible in my head that these paranormal people can actually exist.

    I really enjoy Grace's devotion. She's devoted to her family. This shows pretty much in every aspect of the story. She's constantly calling her father to give him updates. She's basically taking care of her two younger siblings while her mother has gone off the deep end. And she hasn't given up on Jude. Which explains her total belief in the fact that she can use her new powers without letting the wolf take her over.

    I also liked that fact that Daniel and Grace aren't the perfect couple in this book. They fight, keep secrets, and basically distrust each other. I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop and for the relationship to be over, but it didn't. In the end, their devotion to each other actually pulled through.

    Oddly, I found the story to be predictable but yet surprising all at the same time. I'm not sure how that happened. I completely wasn't surprised at who/what I couldn't trust during the story. I was surprised at how the Hounds of Heaven came into play. I was thinking something different in my head. And, I was completely surprised by the ending. Complete cliffhanger, but I actually thought it worked well with what was happening.

    Bottom line is that I really enjoy this series. The characters are rich and the ideas behind the paranormal aspect are different. I will be reading the next one (please tell me there's another one)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Better Than The First

    This book was really good,I expected an awe moment between Grace and Daniel was disappointed by that, I really like the mystery that was involved and I like Talbot. He was a little skeptical to trust but turns out he was pretty decent. I hope things turn out well for Grace and Daniel being that (spoiler) he can't change back into human form after he went wolf to save Grace :-) I def think anyone who wants to read this series should because I wasn't going to read this one because the first was a little slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    4 Stars

    From the back cover: A family destroyed. A love threatened. An enemy returns. Grace Divine made the ultimate sacrifice to cure Daniel Kalbi. She was infected with he werewolf curse while trying to save him, and lost her beloved brother in the process.
    Desperate to find Jude, Grace befriends Talbot, a newcomer to town. But as the two grow closer, Grace's relationship with Daniel is put in danger -- in more ways than one. Unaware of the dark path she is walking, Grace begins to give into the wolf inside of her -- not realizing that an enemy has returned and a deadly trap is about to be sprung.

    My thoughts...Daniel and Grace's relationship is going great. Daniel is training Grace on how to use her new found abilities and teaching her the balance those abilities so that the wolf doesn't have too much power over Grace. Life is starting to get back into a normal pattern for every one. Grace's Dad is constantly gone following up on leads to where Jude might be. Grace's Mother is not taking well that Jude ran away, so she is either completely withdrawn ignoring the whole family or being a hyper protective parent involved in everything, this changes on a daily basis. But Daniel starts to be secretive and seems to be pulling away from Grace. Which in turn sends Grace running to Talbot for help....then the trouble all begins.

    A couple of things that bug me, I know this is a young adult/teen read so this might just be my age speaking but it bothers me how fast Grace runs off to Talbot, It was a week maybe of Daniel being secretive, and all Daniel said was that he just need a little time and he would explain everything to her. But the first chance she gets she is off with another boy, and keeping just as many secrets from Daniel as he is keeping from her, I thought Daniel and Grace loved each other. The other part that bothered me as well was that when Daniel became secretive it was very abrupt and mean to Grace, if he needed a little time that is all he should of said. But I guess that is teenagers for you.

    I can't wait for the third book to come out and see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Even More Thrilling Than Its Predecessor - A Fantastic Sequel

    Much like the opener in the series, The Lost Saint is an addictively good read. Grace's newly wolfish state sets her up as an almost entirely different person. The old Grace is still there, but I loved seeing this new, strong, dangerous Grace. The majority of the book throws hints about how she may or may not be losing herself to the wolf. Despain even adds little angry and sometimes menacing wolfy thoughts.

    Grace's change in personality means that her relationship with Daniel changes quite a bit as well. The Daniel we got to know in The Dark Divine isn't gone, but like Grace, he's changed. Their relationship hits more than a few bumps in the road and I was thrilled by that. No two people could have gone through all that Grace and Daniel went through, and are still going through, and come out unscathed.

    The inclusion of gorgeous older man/lumberjack looking Talbot brings so much tension to the book; both for Grace internally and externally. He's attractive and attracted to her - hello sexual tension! Still, all of the tense, 'let me fight the world to find my brother' moments are lightened thanks to April. Seeing as how I hated April in TDD, I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed the character this time around.

    The Lost Saint also delves much more deeply into the Urbat world and what it means to be the wolf. Biblical references abound, as well as demons and the repercussions of killing another being, human or otherwise. Grace grows a lot in this installment and really begins to come into her own. Was the story somewhat predictable? Absolutely - I had figured out much of the ending before I even got there, but I still enjoyed reading it. Grace's need to save Jude, to do for him what she had done for Daniel, is raw and pure. She gets a little lost along the way, but don't we all. Even the best intentions can get lost in the shuffle and become muddled in our worlds.

    Bree Despain has once again created a werewolf story that, while full of supernatural elements and plot twists, is still carried by a simple girl who can't give up on those she loves. The Lost Saint may not be for everyone, with its more than obvious Christian overtones, but that never overpowers the storyline and how losing your way does not have to mean you're lost. If you loved The Dark Divine or even if you only enjoyed it a little, pick up The Lost Saint because it is even more thrilling and heart-pumping. Oh, and the cliff-hanger ending? That killed me - I need more now!

    Opening line: "Do what he wants, and you might survive," a harsh voice said into the boy's ear before he felt a sharp blow to the kidneys. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite lines (I had to pick one with Talbot):
    "You swear there are no demons waiting inside to jump me?" I could just picture a room full of Gelals with their claws out, ready to pounce on me the second I entered.

    Talbot smirked. "Well, I might jump you - but only if you ask for it."

    "I'd like to see you try." ~ pg. 252

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book/Major Emotions

    Is there some kind of rule that say the second book has to be an emotional roller coaster?
    This one was filled with drama and major emotions. Grace saved Daniel. Thinking everything was okay, things all of the sudden began to change. Daniel becomes more distant leaving a wide open space for a new boy to come in. Grace is lonely and that is bad. Grace begins to lies and falls into a trap that she doesn't see.

    First off, major emotions. Poor Grace. After all that she has done, Daniel goes and treats her badly. He stops answering calls, stood her up on dates, and just become different. Grace becomes agitated. She is hurt a lot and let her emotions play her. Instead of doing rational things, she allows her emotions to over run and is always putting herself in danger. I was glad for one that she wanted to be strong, that she can prove that she didn't need Daniel. But I felt like Grace only responded that way because of Daniel. His fault.

    Daniel leaves for the same reason all guys leave in the second book. They don't want to hurt the girl, they are better off without them, blah, blah, freaking blah. Seriously, I'm so over this plot. Daniel is dumb and need to get his head out of his butt.

    Even though the plot is overplayed, I still enjoyed it. The writing and the way the emotions played out was good. The characters were brought to life as the emotions flowed freely through her writing. The new boy in the book made for a great change. He certainly was cute and an eye opener for Grace. Although I am sad that it had to end badly. The secrets in this book did have me gasping. I couldn't believe the things that were happening. I was just taken back and WOWed.

    As I said before I didn't really like the plot between Grace and Daniel. But the rest of the book was good. The family betrayal I had not seen and I admit I was even hurt by it. It was shocking and well....it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Great Book!!

    Great series so far the ending in the second one kinda frustrates me but if the third book comes out soon it will be ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as the first

    First off I have to say I love the cover, it's so pretty. I really liked the 1st one in this series The Dark Divine. This one I'm not too sure about. Daniel & Grace were not together much and it just took like the entire book to finally find Jude. The book had a lot of action in it, although not much romance at all. Then there's the new guy Talbot, a county boy who is also an urbat (werewolf) and a demon hunter. I just didn't enjoy it that much. Grace's family is torn apart most of the book, her mom is out of it, her dad is out looking for Jude all the time. All the meanwhile Grace has Talbot train her to use her powers & she is out tracking down and killing demons. It just didn't seem like the Grace we got to know in the 1st book. The ending was ok but I didn't like what happened to Daniel. Overall I would probably give it a 3.5 stars. I will be reading the 3rd one when it comes out cause I want to know what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Love this series

    I really enjoy both of the Dark Divine novels and hope a third novel is written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Andrea for Teens Read Too

    When Grace Divine saved Daniel from the curse of the werewolf, she was bitten by her brother, Jude, and was burdened with the curse, as well. Now, Daniel is training her to balance the wolf side of her self, her superpower side, and her normal human side. But when Daniel becomes distant and doesn't think it's a good idea to train anymore, Grace turns to a new guy in her life. Talbot thinks Grace needs to train and helps her learn how to use her power. And all Grace wants is to use that power to find her brother. But using her wolf-ish powers can have the very effect that she doesn't want to have happen. I have a truly horrible memory when it comes to remembering plots of books and movies. And while sometimes, once I start to read a sequel, it will all come back to me, unfortunately it didn't happen with this book. So after a couple of chapters I had to go look up a spoiler summary of THE DARK DIVINE. And once I did that, I remembered why I had loved the first book so much. This book was a roller coaster of emotions. I loved Daniel and Grace together, and then I didn't like Daniel because of his behavior and I was starting to like Talbot more. There were times I felt both hopeful and hopeless about Jude. Yeah, I was never sure which guy to trust and like. It made for an intriguing and gripping story. I don't think I enjoyed this book as much as I did the first in the series, but I think that's because Daniel and Grace's relationship was kind of strained in this book. And I felt that there was a lot more action in the book and not so much a character-driven storyline. But that doesn't make it bad. It definitely makes it a gripping read and one that I couldn't put down. And the end...Oh boy, I definitely didn't see that one coming! And how I want the next book now so that I can find out what happens next! Once again, the cover is absolutely gorgeous. Both the cover for THE DARK DIVINE and the cover for THE LOST SAINT are so totally striking. I just love the coloring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Sequel that Surpassed it's Predecessor

    This is a sequel that surpassed it's predecessor. I don't know if I've ever credited Ms. Despain for this but she dead on with dialogue and interpreting teenagers.

    I loved the sequel more then the first one. The Lost Saint has everything The Dark Divine has but more. New Characters, more action and a riskier Grace Divine.

    Grace will do anything to find her brother, even if it means unleashing the demon inside. You really felt Grace's pain, confusion and her misunderstanding of being unwanted. Even though everyone around her was trying to protect her, she translate it differently. She feels unwanted, unspecial. And like a lot of people would do she find someone who cares for her and will make her feel special and that person is Talbot. Talbot makes Grace feel good about herself but at the same time is unleashing what everyone around her has been trying to protect.

    The Lost Saint, though a adventure packed book, is a bit predictable in areas and plot twisty in others. As a reader I always felt one step ahead of Grace, and sometimes I wondered how she didn't realize that when I did so simply. Other bits of this novel were confusing. I really wished the author would have put more back info in the novel. It's been a year since I read the first book and the whole Gabriel thing escaped me.

    All the new and old characters are fun to read about. The book ends in a cliffhanger and if your like me then you'll be dying for more. I enjoyed reading The Lost Saint and am glad I picked it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!

    If you loved the first book of the dark divine series you are bound to love this one which is the second in the series. It is very thrilling and keeps you guessing towards the end. There are many events where you could've never expected it coming. It shows a little how Daniel and Grace(Gracie)'s relationship seems to lose itself in a tangle of secrets. Its a must read and i hope you enjoy it as much as i did!!!!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Book!

    Great Book! Lots of suspense and some new characters that make the story more interesting. At some points I was almost rooting for the new guy:)This one takes you on a journey of self discovery, while testing all boundaries, and inspires you to believe in true love. In the end, she leaves a huge cliffhanger that will leave you begging for more! Can't wait for the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    ahh i wanted to cry!

    is there going to be a third book? i have to know. the ending made so mad, but so excited at the same time. she has to make another book, she cannot leave someone hanging like this! i read the book in a day. its four in the morning and i cannot stop thinking about what could possibly happen next!? please tell me there is going to be another book?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11