Customer Reviews for

The Lost Saint (Dark Divine Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    DID NOT SEE THIS COMING!

    THE EPIC LOVE STORY OF GRACE AND DANIEL CONTINUES WITH THE LOST SAINT. SUDDEN TWISTS AT THE END LEFT ME SPEECHLESS, AND SURPRISED. HOPE THE NEXT BOOK COMES OUT SOON, BECAUSE I JUST CANT LEAVE THE SERIES ON THIS NOTE!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ahhhh!! AMAZING Sequel. Keeps you hooked from beginning to end I seriously could not put it down!. I don't know how else to put it into words because it was soo good in so many ways, but it's a definite must read. And the cliff hanger at the end...Can't wait for the next installment! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Good, but the middle was lacking.

    I loved The Dark Divine and was so excited when this one came out. However, the middle was hard to get in to and I found myself skipping chapters and not missing anything. I love the ending, though, and can't wait for the next. All in all, great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Actual rating: 2,5 stars The Lost Saint is one cliché on top of

    Actual rating: 2,5 stars

    The Lost Saint is one cliché on top of the other, and that’s being generous. Our heroine, Grace Divine, is in a relationship with former-werewolf and bad boy, Daniel. But as usually in the second book in YA trilogies (and this annoys me without end), a conflict arises between Grace and Daniel. A new guy shows up, Talbot, and he shows Grace a whole new world, a whole new part of herself, a part that is powerful and in control, and that can help fight evil. Of course Grace is attracted to this new power, the possibility of doing something good with the werewolf curse now streaming through her veins. Daniel is almost definitely keeping secrets from her, and he’s being awfully cryptic, and spending more and more time with Kate, a regular, normal girl. As tension rises between Grace and Daniel, they have to find out where their relationship stands…

    You’ve no idea how many times I’ve read about the fault-love-triangle from both sides in the second book of a YA series, and it doesn’t work for me. Either go full-blown love triangle, or don’t. And what’s with couples hiding everything from each other? It’s mentioned in almost every single young adult book. It’s hardly original, and it’s not something all couples do. Sure, people go through hiccups in every relationship, but not everyone handles it by keeping secrets from each other.

    Then there’s the plot, which was typical for a “middle” book as well. Jude comes back, turned into a full werewolf, unable to control who he is, and he may just be the bad guy now. Grace must learn to deal with her new powers, and there are some demons showing up in town. That’s basically it. Or all I remember of the plot – and I barely finished reading it.

    The writing was all right, but the plot dragged on, and didn’t do anything for me. Nothing new under the sun. I had trouble finishing this book, and even took a couple of breaks. Not recommending this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Here i come!!!!!!!!!!

    I just finished the first book and OHHH MYY how i just NEED the lost saint now . I will seriously go crazy if i dont get this book now.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    As soon as I finished the first book in this series I had to sta

    As soon as I finished the first book in this series I had to start the second one, even though I feared the middle child syndrome. Although, to be fair, I fear that with EVERY series I read. This book did not suffer from the dreaded middle child syndrome as much as previous books have! The Lost Saint picks up quickly after the first book ends. Grace’s brother is still a werewolf, Grace has been infected with the curse, and her father is on a great search to find the golden child, Jude, because the matriarch of the family has slowly begun to lose her mind because her son isn’t at home anymore.

    I thought The Dark Divine was a dark book, but The Lost Saint proved to me that Despain could get even darker and make me wonder what twist and turn she was going to make next. Throughout the book, Grace is searching for her brother, Jude, while she herself is becoming a stronger person/werewolf. Plus, a new mysterious person enters the scene, and while you could tell they were bad, you were never quite sure of what they were going to do. Of course, Grace, being a teenager, finds the appeal of the mysterious interesting (heck, I at almost 25 find the appeal interesting.) It was fast-paced with twists and turns that I did not see coming. That being said, if the two main characters, Daniel, the boyfriend, and Grace, would have just talked most of the conflict wouldn’t have existed. Yes, I get they are teenagers and they aren’t supposed to be “logical” (something I have issues with). But seriously, if I’m supposed to believe that you’re in love, but you never actually talk, it makes it hard to believe that you’re really in love.

    Even with the conflict, which I tend to hate, I couldn’t put this book down. The ending had me gasping with shock on more than one occasion. I can’t wait to see where Despain goes with the third book.

    Originally posted at Nose in a Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Bree Despain has written a compelling sequel to The Dark Divine,

    Bree Despain has written a compelling sequel to The Dark Divine, in which seventeen year old Grace Divine (a pastor's kid) is struggles to cope with her new "superpowers" as a werewolf, or Hound of Heaven. She believes that her powers can be used to do good in the world, while her true love -- and former werewolf -- Daniel Kalbi believes that her newly acquired powers may lead her down the same dark path that he once tread.

    When Daniel refuses to teach Grace how to use her new powers, the new boy in town agrees to teach her what Daniel will not. But is there a good reason for Daniel to not train her? What does he know that Grace -- and the new boy -- do not? And, how does Grace's missing brother Jude -- who is also a werewolf -- fit into all of this?

    The Lost Saint is a tightly woven, fast paced, yet thoughtful YA novel which tackles issues of trust, experience, and doesn't shy away from challenging questions about life. It gives a unique spin on the werewolf mythology -- different enough that I feel like I'm reading something new, and not just rehashing the same old, same old.

    I'm a 30 something male, and I am completely captivated with the characters in this book. I'm frustrated by Jude, and was genuinely irritated at Daniel -- and of course, the whole mystery surrounding Jude's whereabouts had me guessing throughout the book -- and I guessed wrong.

    My only complaint would be that the book ends on a serious cliff hanger, and at the moment, book three is not next on my reading list. However, it will be bumped up and I sure hope things get resolved in book three. But that's really not a complaint with the story, as it is a commentary on my lack of time to read the next book. :)

    As far as what to compare this book too? That's a tough one. It's YA fantasy/romance, but nothing at all like Twilight and some of the other books. Despain has given us a new world that stands on it's own and believable characters -- and as much as I love the main characters, I think Grace's friend April is my favorite. :)

    I highly recommend the book, but you will have to read book 1 in order to understand what's going on. This is definitely not a series you can pick up midstream (as you can with many others like Dresden Files, or The Hollows). However, book 1 is just as good and Bree Despain is definitely an author worthy of more prominence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Oh my gosh!

    I just finished the dark devine and it was like the best book ever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Ummm.

    I liked The Dark Divine better because I like the journey and reading what Grave is feeling when she starts to realize that she loves Daniel or that she never stopped.
    And the ending was like...DF!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Best book ever

    This is really the best book ever no lie. Its with love, romance, trust and many traits. I totally love this book after the first one i was so happy to learn thatbthey had a new one. This book is so good i would pau anything for this book and the rest of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Dagbert Endless & company

    Dagbert:I heart pools. Emma:wheee!(jumps off of building.) Dr.Bloor:i luv my mustace. Tancred:timber!!(knocks a vase over) Random person:hey who r u wiredos? Zelda:ataches ballons to random person and they float away. Manfred:stares. Billy: this unicorn likes candy. Unicorn:(these are his thoghts)CANDY CANDY CANDY!! Gabriel:who likes my banana costume? Olivia:i got a part in the musical "wicked". Fidelio:plays "march in d major" on his violin. Charlie:takes numerous pics of olivia. Tammy:i am a wizard! Lysander: stalks dr.bloor. Uncle Paton:runs into a lightbulb. Grandma Bone:i will go find some roadkill. Maisie:paints grandma bone pink. Josua:uses his magnent to atract paper clips. Dorcas:i hate your banana costume. It is not fashinable. Ineth:shoves a chair at inez. Inez:shoves it back. Asa:pets a wolf.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE LOST SAINT- A dark and dangerously attractive sequel to THE DARK DIVINE!

    Grace and Daniel are back, finally! A big part of the story circles around how the beings that hide somewhere in the lovers Grace and Daniel influence their growing relationship. Their relationship goes in a more intimate and sexy way on the one hand, on the other there appears to be the danger of distance. The relationship between Grace and Daniel is loaded with a lot of tension, which is released over the course of the story, leading to an explosive ending. There are dangerous and dark things going on and I promise you won't be bored by Bree's sequel to THE DARK DIVINE.

    This book has a fantastic prologue and ending. The prologue just throws you into the story with a moment of early surprise. Then we get an action-loaded ending, nerve-racking and it made me so curious for THE SAVAGE GRACE. My fingers were tingling for the next book in the series.

    The title, THE LOST SAINT, is very fitting and makes up a big part of book two. The search for Jude, the hope for his return. As before Grace’s family is a big part of the story, too. In the second book in this series the religious background of the Divine family isn’t addressed as much as in THE DARK DIVINE.

    We meet some new characters, of course, and one of them really made me hate him. There’s also a new guy involved who doesn’t only wake Grace’s interest. He is that hot stranger with a special role in the story. Find out yourselves, you’ll be surprised at how his relationship to Grace develops. I can only say that Bree Despain found exactly the right path. Her writing is awesome!

    THE VERDICT

    THE LOST SAINT is the fulminant sequel to Bree Despain’s THE DARK DIVINE. I liked the first book, but totally fell in love with the second. It convinces with an even darker notion and more exciting plot turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling Sequel!

    The Lost Saint is the thrilling sequel to The Dark Divine, which I read and enjoyed last year. I was really excited to finally read this, and the book did not disappoint.

    Most of the characters we met in the previous book; Grace, Daniel, Jude, etc. I liked Grace just as much as I did in the previous book, although she did make some rash decisions in the book. It wasn’t really her fault though; it was the wolf inside her that was taking over. I found myself sympathizing with her as she struggled to cope with the burdens that were placed upon her by her family, friends and Daniel.

    The relationship between Grace and Daniel was extremely strained throughout the book. I am not a fan of boys that suddenly have issues and decide their girlfriends are completely incapable of helping them. This is pretty much what happened between Daniel and Grace, which lead to the strained relationship. We do find out what his deal was towards the end of the book, which made me somewhat forgive him, but I still wanted to strangle him through most of the book.

    We are also introduced to a few new characters in this book as well; one being Talbot, who is new in town and takes Grace under his wing to train her after Daniel decides not to train her anymore. I honestly didn’t know what to expect from Talbot, and he was definitely full of surprises up to the end of the book.

    I really enjoyed the storyline of the book; the idea of the curse and werewolves definitely kept me interested. Although a bit slow in some parts, there was a lot of action in other parts. There was also a lot of religious talk in this book, which may bother some people, but it didn’t bother me. The ending was a huge shock, and I can’t wait to see how the next book plays out.

    Overall, I thought this was a really great sequel to The Dark Divine. While I wanted to strangle the characters a few times, the storyline kept me hooked. I’m dying to get my hands on the next book in the series; The Savage Grace!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    I CRIED!!!!!

    I never cry for books or movies bree despain is the only one who has ever done it i love the characters if your going to read this AND YOU SHOULD read her first book the dark devine it is also AMAZING ahhhh her new one needs to come out sooner <3 i now have a faviorate author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Awesome

    I loved this book, u never knew what was coming and uwill never want to put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    OMG!!!!!!!

    I have to say these books are soooo addicting. I just finished this one and i am in desperate need for the next! READ IT!!! I think im in love. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    Cant wait for the next one:) I find this one better than the first. The end kinda left me hanging but in a good way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    UGHHH!!!

    THIS IS HORRIBLE!!! I TRIED TO DOWNLOAD IT AND IT DIDNT WORK!!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Chels

    This was the best book ive read.its hard for me to get into the book this was amazing! Just like the first one! I WAS UPSET AT THE ENDING OF THIS ONE. I NEED!!!!!!!!!! the third one. HURRY!! LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    one of my favorite books!!! i love Bree Despain shes awesome;)

    Grace Divine is strugaling with her relationship with daniel because she finds him forgeting to call her,blowing her off for no reson except daniel tells her just to be pationt. in the mean time she finds a Tablot a nice guy who is intrusted in her. Is grace going to be pationt or is she going to end up doing something stupid?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12