BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lost Saint (Dark Divine Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    DID NOT SEE THIS COMING!

    THE EPIC LOVE STORY OF GRACE AND DANIEL CONTINUES WITH THE LOST SAINT. SUDDEN TWISTS AT THE END LEFT ME SPEECHLESS, AND SURPRISED. HOPE THE NEXT BOOK COMES OUT SOON, BECAUSE I JUST CANT LEAVE THE SERIES ON THIS NOTE!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ahhhh!! AMAZING Sequel. Keeps you hooked from beginning to end I seriously could not put it down!. I don't know how else to put it into words because it was soo good in so many ways, but it's a definite must read. And the cliff hanger at the end...Can't wait for the next installment! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Here i come!!!!!!!!!!

    I just finished the first book and OHHH MYY how i just NEED the lost saint now . I will seriously go crazy if i dont get this book now.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Oh my gosh!

    I just finished the dark devine and it was like the best book ever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Ummm.

    I liked The Dark Divine better because I like the journey and reading what Grave is feeling when she starts to realize that she loves Daniel or that she never stopped.
    And the ending was like...DF!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Best book ever

    This is really the best book ever no lie. Its with love, romance, trust and many traits. I totally love this book after the first one i was so happy to learn thatbthey had a new one. This book is so good i would pau anything for this book and the rest of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Dagbert Endless & company

    Dagbert:I heart pools. Emma:wheee!(jumps off of building.) Dr.Bloor:i luv my mustace. Tancred:timber!!(knocks a vase over) Random person:hey who r u wiredos? Zelda:ataches ballons to random person and they float away. Manfred:stares. Billy: this unicorn likes candy. Unicorn:(these are his thoghts)CANDY CANDY CANDY!! Gabriel:who likes my banana costume? Olivia:i got a part in the musical "wicked". Fidelio:plays "march in d major" on his violin. Charlie:takes numerous pics of olivia. Tammy:i am a wizard! Lysander: stalks dr.bloor. Uncle Paton:runs into a lightbulb. Grandma Bone:i will go find some roadkill. Maisie:paints grandma bone pink. Josua:uses his magnent to atract paper clips. Dorcas:i hate your banana costume. It is not fashinable. Ineth:shoves a chair at inez. Inez:shoves it back. Asa:pets a wolf.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE LOST SAINT- A dark and dangerously attractive sequel to THE DARK DIVINE!

    Grace and Daniel are back, finally! A big part of the story circles around how the beings that hide somewhere in the lovers Grace and Daniel influence their growing relationship. Their relationship goes in a more intimate and sexy way on the one hand, on the other there appears to be the danger of distance. The relationship between Grace and Daniel is loaded with a lot of tension, which is released over the course of the story, leading to an explosive ending. There are dangerous and dark things going on and I promise you won't be bored by Bree's sequel to THE DARK DIVINE.

    This book has a fantastic prologue and ending. The prologue just throws you into the story with a moment of early surprise. Then we get an action-loaded ending, nerve-racking and it made me so curious for THE SAVAGE GRACE. My fingers were tingling for the next book in the series.

    The title, THE LOST SAINT, is very fitting and makes up a big part of book two. The search for Jude, the hope for his return. As before Grace’s family is a big part of the story, too. In the second book in this series the religious background of the Divine family isn’t addressed as much as in THE DARK DIVINE.

    We meet some new characters, of course, and one of them really made me hate him. There’s also a new guy involved who doesn’t only wake Grace’s interest. He is that hot stranger with a special role in the story. Find out yourselves, you’ll be surprised at how his relationship to Grace develops. I can only say that Bree Despain found exactly the right path. Her writing is awesome!

    THE VERDICT

    THE LOST SAINT is the fulminant sequel to Bree Despain’s THE DARK DIVINE. I liked the first book, but totally fell in love with the second. It convinces with an even darker notion and more exciting plot turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    I CRIED!!!!!

    I never cry for books or movies bree despain is the only one who has ever done it i love the characters if your going to read this AND YOU SHOULD read her first book the dark devine it is also AMAZING ahhhh her new one needs to come out sooner <3 i now have a faviorate author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    OMG!!!!!!!

    I have to say these books are soooo addicting. I just finished this one and i am in desperate need for the next! READ IT!!! I think im in love. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    one of my favorite books!!! i love Bree Despain shes awesome;)

    Grace Divine is strugaling with her relationship with daniel because she finds him forgeting to call her,blowing her off for no reson except daniel tells her just to be pationt. in the mean time she finds a Tablot a nice guy who is intrusted in her. Is grace going to be pationt or is she going to end up doing something stupid?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Wonderful

    This bookis so good but i am so mad at grace. How could she do that to daniel. Cant wait 4 the third:) this series is awsome :)becca

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    grrr

    the book was great! only thing i didnt like that she was falling for the other guy and the ending is such a cliff hanger! it makes you mad if your team daniel! i hope theirs a sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Even More Thrilling Than Its Predecessor - A Fantastic Sequel

    Much like the opener in the series, The Lost Saint is an addictively good read. Grace's newly wolfish state sets her up as an almost entirely different person. The old Grace is still there, but I loved seeing this new, strong, dangerous Grace. The majority of the book throws hints about how she may or may not be losing herself to the wolf. Despain even adds little angry and sometimes menacing wolfy thoughts.

    Grace's change in personality means that her relationship with Daniel changes quite a bit as well. The Daniel we got to know in The Dark Divine isn't gone, but like Grace, he's changed. Their relationship hits more than a few bumps in the road and I was thrilled by that. No two people could have gone through all that Grace and Daniel went through, and are still going through, and come out unscathed.

    The inclusion of gorgeous older man/lumberjack looking Talbot brings so much tension to the book; both for Grace internally and externally. He's attractive and attracted to her - hello sexual tension! Still, all of the tense, 'let me fight the world to find my brother' moments are lightened thanks to April. Seeing as how I hated April in TDD, I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed the character this time around.

    The Lost Saint also delves much more deeply into the Urbat world and what it means to be the wolf. Biblical references abound, as well as demons and the repercussions of killing another being, human or otherwise. Grace grows a lot in this installment and really begins to come into her own. Was the story somewhat predictable? Absolutely - I had figured out much of the ending before I even got there, but I still enjoyed reading it. Grace's need to save Jude, to do for him what she had done for Daniel, is raw and pure. She gets a little lost along the way, but don't we all. Even the best intentions can get lost in the shuffle and become muddled in our worlds.

    Bree Despain has once again created a werewolf story that, while full of supernatural elements and plot twists, is still carried by a simple girl who can't give up on those she loves. The Lost Saint may not be for everyone, with its more than obvious Christian overtones, but that never overpowers the storyline and how losing your way does not have to mean you're lost. If you loved The Dark Divine or even if you only enjoyed it a little, pick up The Lost Saint because it is even more thrilling and heart-pumping. Oh, and the cliff-hanger ending? That killed me - I need more now!

    Opening line: "Do what he wants, and you might survive," a harsh voice said into the boy's ear before he felt a sharp blow to the kidneys. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite lines (I had to pick one with Talbot):
    "You swear there are no demons waiting inside to jump me?" I could just picture a room full of Gelals with their claws out, ready to pounce on me the second I entered.

    Talbot smirked. "Well, I might jump you - but only if you ask for it."

    "I'd like to see you try." ~ pg. 252

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Great Book!!

    Great series so far the ending in the second one kinda frustrates me but if the third book comes out soon it will be ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Love this series

    I really enjoy both of the Dark Divine novels and hope a third novel is written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Andrea for Teens Read Too

    When Grace Divine saved Daniel from the curse of the werewolf, she was bitten by her brother, Jude, and was burdened with the curse, as well. Now, Daniel is training her to balance the wolf side of her self, her superpower side, and her normal human side. But when Daniel becomes distant and doesn't think it's a good idea to train anymore, Grace turns to a new guy in her life. Talbot thinks Grace needs to train and helps her learn how to use her power. And all Grace wants is to use that power to find her brother. But using her wolf-ish powers can have the very effect that she doesn't want to have happen. I have a truly horrible memory when it comes to remembering plots of books and movies. And while sometimes, once I start to read a sequel, it will all come back to me, unfortunately it didn't happen with this book. So after a couple of chapters I had to go look up a spoiler summary of THE DARK DIVINE. And once I did that, I remembered why I had loved the first book so much. This book was a roller coaster of emotions. I loved Daniel and Grace together, and then I didn't like Daniel because of his behavior and I was starting to like Talbot more. There were times I felt both hopeful and hopeless about Jude. Yeah, I was never sure which guy to trust and like. It made for an intriguing and gripping story. I don't think I enjoyed this book as much as I did the first in the series, but I think that's because Daniel and Grace's relationship was kind of strained in this book. And I felt that there was a lot more action in the book and not so much a character-driven storyline. But that doesn't make it bad. It definitely makes it a gripping read and one that I couldn't put down. And the end...Oh boy, I definitely didn't see that one coming! And how I want the next book now so that I can find out what happens next! Once again, the cover is absolutely gorgeous. Both the cover for THE DARK DIVINE and the cover for THE LOST SAINT are so totally striking. I just love the coloring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Sequel that Surpassed it's Predecessor

    This is a sequel that surpassed it's predecessor. I don't know if I've ever credited Ms. Despain for this but she dead on with dialogue and interpreting teenagers.

    I loved the sequel more then the first one. The Lost Saint has everything The Dark Divine has but more. New Characters, more action and a riskier Grace Divine.

    Grace will do anything to find her brother, even if it means unleashing the demon inside. You really felt Grace's pain, confusion and her misunderstanding of being unwanted. Even though everyone around her was trying to protect her, she translate it differently. She feels unwanted, unspecial. And like a lot of people would do she find someone who cares for her and will make her feel special and that person is Talbot. Talbot makes Grace feel good about herself but at the same time is unleashing what everyone around her has been trying to protect.

    The Lost Saint, though a adventure packed book, is a bit predictable in areas and plot twisty in others. As a reader I always felt one step ahead of Grace, and sometimes I wondered how she didn't realize that when I did so simply. Other bits of this novel were confusing. I really wished the author would have put more back info in the novel. It's been a year since I read the first book and the whole Gabriel thing escaped me.

    All the new and old characters are fun to read about. The book ends in a cliffhanger and if your like me then you'll be dying for more. I enjoyed reading The Lost Saint and am glad I picked it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    ahh i wanted to cry!

    is there going to be a third book? i have to know. the ending made so mad, but so excited at the same time. she has to make another book, she cannot leave someone hanging like this! i read the book in a day. its four in the morning and i cannot stop thinking about what could possibly happen next!? please tell me there is going to be another book?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Great sequel!

    THE LOST SAINT, by Bree Despain, was a fantastic addition to the series. This book explores the relationship between Grace and Daniel in the wake of Jude's disappearance. Tensions run high with their relationship and the Grace's constant battle between body and wolf.

    Despain wasted no time in the continuation of the story. She jumped right into the chaos that was Grace's life after she save Daniel and was cursed herself. Grace's generous and loving nature was put to the test in learning to balance body and wolf. But within their small town was threat of danger and Grace wanted to use her superpowers to fight for good when everyone told her not to. At that point, Talbot is introduced.

    Talbot is a very interesting character. His appearance is a bit too convenient and I found myself falling for him but at the same time, wary of whose side he was playing on. He was good competition for Daniel and it surprised me at the end which side he was really on.

    Even with the seed of doubt planted in Grace's mind, I know that Daniel and Grace have to be together. They are created from the same mold and both are willing to sacrifice everything to keep each other safe. Their relationship is anything but perfect but they stand to be one of my top YA couples.

    Despain brought some serious action into this book and I found myself wishing each scene would bring Grace to her full superpower potential. I felt the anticipation and thrill that came along with each villain that crossed her path. And the big battle scene at the end kept my heart thumping with anxiety for the outcome.

    Overall, great book, great series. I gave TDD 5 stars and I will definitely give this book no less. Despain left me with a massive cliffhanger and I will patiently wait for the next book to quench my Grace/Daniel thirst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7