Customer Reviews for

Lost Scriptures: Books That Did Not Make It into the New Testament

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful read

    As with many of Ehrman's writings, I found this to be thoroughly entertaining and accessible. I am a particular fan of this type of history of the various forms of Christianity and Ehrman provides some fine examples of the various writings left out of the New Testament (for a variety of reasons). Don't read this as an attack on religion, a view that these books should have been included or anything like that. The fact is that they were written as someone's belief (Gnostic and otherwise) and are legitimate views. And to the other reviewers. Please stick to reviewing the book at hand and not pontificating about your various views. There are other (and far better) forums for that type of discussion.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    I wish that you would do a book on the misunderstanding of homosexuality

    I am fascinated that so many christians are so quick to turn to the bible to reinforce and confirm their views on homosexuality being a sin. These so called people believe that every word in the bible was inspired by the heavenly Creator Himself. I on the other hand do not, I think that those people who clain that everyword is an order, law or layout for how we are to live our lives, ought to take a closer look at the bible. First of all, the bible is very clear at letting us know exactly when GOD is speaking as well as when JESUS is speaking. There are several accounts in the old testament where GOD is walking with or talking with people. Such ex's. are- adam and eve, in the garden-Moses and the 10 commandments, Noah, and warning him of the flood, Issac, and Jacob. David, Joseph, as well as shadrac, meishac, and abendigo, in the fire, even lott. In the new testament, again, we are clear as to when JESUS , is commanding, healing and spreading the new doctrines, and laws to be obeyed. I guess that my point to all of this is that, the people critisizing gay people coming in the name of JESUS, who scream their going against GOD's Laws or HIS word, should look at the times that we know for sure when they are talking. Isn't it funny that the subject isn't brought up once, which leads me to believe that the times that it is mentioned is nothing more than opinions, or laws, customs of the times, as to what was accepted and what wasn't..

    9 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Great Book!

    If you are interesting in taking your knowledge of biblical scripture this is the book to help you get started.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book isn¿t what I would call exciting reading, but if you¿r

    This book isn’t what I would call exciting reading, but if you’re interested in the early religious writings it is informative. There is short introduction about each of these “lost books” and then the actual translation. Of course, these books weren’t actually “lost” because we have copies of them today, but they were “missing” for centuries until they were discovered in modern times. They are early gospels, acts, epistles, and apocalypses that seemed to disappear for a time. Some are complete translations, some are just fragments, and some are what we have learned from quotes in other writings. Some actually seem like they could have been included in the Bible. They go from interesting and informative to boring and absurd or ridiculous. In one there’s a talking dog. Of course, wasn’t there a talking donkey in the Bible? We also have a smoked tuna that was resurrected and that Mary was checked to make sure she was really a virgin. I wonder who did that? For me, the interesting ones were the Gospel of Mary, the Acts of John and Thecla (Paul’s companion), The Shepherd of Hermas, The Infancy Gospel of Thomas , which I believe are the only writings of Jesus’ early life, and The Coptic Gospel of Thomas, which reveals 114 secret teachings of Jesus. Many say that these writings of Thomas may be closer to what Jesus actually taught than what we find in the New Testament. Of course, I'm also sure that many would adamantly disagree with this statement.

    Several of these writings were quite controversial. In a few Jesus has a twin brother, Didymus Judas Thomas. One of the most interesting is the fragmentary Gospel of Mary. There are several references to the intimate relationship she had with Jesus. In one, it states, “there were three Marys who walked with the Lord: A Mary is his sister and his mother and his lover.” In another it references Mary as the “consort of Christ is Mary Magdalene.” In this gospel, she is also given a high status among the apostles, “Jesus loved her more than us.”

    I never really knew what it took for an early writing to be accepted as canonical. This book tells me: they had to be ancient (near the time of Jesus), apostolic, catholic, and orthodox. Yet what is considered heresy would definitely depend on your point of view. Most of these early writings were rejected by the church because they preached a Gnostic point of view, leaned toward a too ascetic lifestyle, or were, at the time, thought to be falsely written in the name of an apostle. Yet some modern Bible scholars believe that some of the apostolic writings included in the New Testament were not actually written by who they claim.

    I believe this book is actually written as a resource for one of Ehrman’s other books, Lost Christianities. As I mentioned earlier, some of the “lost books” were interesting and some weren’t, and I found myself scanning and skipping through some of them. This book probably would been better if I had read Lost Christianities first. If you’re looking for shocking revelations, this isn’t the book for you. Read this book if you are able to have an open mind about the New Testament and have an interest in early religious writings.
    It gives insight into these early times, the thoughts of these early writers, and the culture of this time period. Know beforehand that some of these early writings are not that interesting, but it makes for a good reference book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    gotta wonder why the vatican hates these scriptures...maybe its

    gotta wonder why the vatican hates these scriptures...maybe its because they give the believer more power than the church

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    How this person dares to say 'I am fascinated that so many christians are so quick to turn to the bible to reinforce and confirm their views on homosexuality being a sin. These so called people believe that every word in the bible was inspired by the heavenly Creator Himself. I on the other hand do not, I think that those people who clain that everyword is an order, law or layout for how we are to live our lives, ought to take a closer look at the bible' You MUST take a closer look at the bible yourself...because rigth now you sound very ignorent!!! Take a look Lv 18: 1-30 and you will have your answer. Good luck!

    1 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1