Customer Reviews for

Lost Souls (New Orleans Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

good but not her best.

For me, this wasn't her best work. I liked part of it, but other parts seem to really drag or seemed repetitive. There were points where the suspense could have led to more to progress the story line, but fell short. I won't give examples, for fear of spoiling the book ...
For me, this wasn't her best work. I liked part of it, but other parts seem to really drag or seemed repetitive. There were points where the suspense could have led to more to progress the story line, but fell short. I won't give examples, for fear of spoiling the book for others. The focus of this book is on vampires, or I should say the culture of those interested in vampires. It is all based in reality, the evil in this book is man made. I enjoyed the book, I just think that it doesn't measure up to some of Jackson's previous work.

posted by Maria_of_amor on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story...

I liked Lost Souls by Lisa Jackson. I usually don't like anything "vampire" themed, but this one was a little different. It's characters were likeable (except the bad guys), and the story was entertaining. I have read many of Lisa Jackson's books and like them.

posted by Lucidreader on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good but not her best.

    For me, this wasn't her best work. I liked part of it, but other parts seem to really drag or seemed repetitive. There were points where the suspense could have led to more to progress the story line, but fell short. I won't give examples, for fear of spoiling the book for others. The focus of this book is on vampires, or I should say the culture of those interested in vampires. It is all based in reality, the evil in this book is man made. I enjoyed the book, I just think that it doesn't measure up to some of Jackson's previous work.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    chilling thriller

    Kristi Bentz returns to All Saints College in Baton Rouge, Louisiana to major in English. Her goal is to write true crime books having been a victim twice with one incident leaving her in a coma. After she awakened and recovered physically, Kristi had visions in which she saw people like her father turn from color to black and white, which she interprets as meaning that person will soon die. --- At the school Kristi learns that four female students have disappeared in the past two years. The police believe they are runaways, but Kristi thinks they are dead. Her former roommate mentions a vampire cult whose members wear a small vial of blood around their necks. The four who vanished were in the same classes in the English Department and also had in common parents who disowned them. Kristi, being a chip off the old block, investigates with the help of her professor and ex-lover Kay McKnight not realizing that a clever killer has marked her for death. --- Lisa Jackson writes another chilling thriller filled with action and fully developed characters, but refreshed by going to the next generation, the daughter of New Orleans Detective Rick Bentz (partner of Detective Reuben Montoya). A romantic subplot between Kristi and Jay grows slowly and more significantly does not intrude on their investigation making it feel real. Whereas the police with one exception assume the coeds are runaways, ironically readers know otherwise. With twists including who had an inkling of what was going on and spins, fans will appreciate LOST SOULS. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!!!

    This book dragged a bit, but was nonetheless a great book! It had a wonderful storyline, and kept me in suspense the entire duration. I would definitely recommend and I will be reading more of her books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspense-Filled Novel

    Lisa Jackson is one of my favorite suspence novelists. Although this is only my second novel by this author, I have to say she is in my top 5 best authors. Lost Souls is a great book, just a bit long. The premise of a "vampire cult" pulls you into the suspence and grips you tightly. You find yourself constantly wondering what is going to happen to Kristi, as well as guessing who the killer is. However, you know none of this imformation until the end.
    So, this book has great characters that you'll instantly love, and the plot is not only unique, but creepy as well.
    Two Thumbs up- another hit!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    EDGE OF YOUR SEAT SUSPENSE

    If you like suspense thrillers and love Lisa Jackson, you won't be able to put this one down. I couldn't wait to finish so I could get the next book in the NEW ORLEANS SERIES; Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Angel

    *giggleing*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting story...

    I liked Lost Souls by Lisa Jackson. I usually don't like anything "vampire" themed, but this one was a little different. It's characters were likeable (except the bad guys), and the story was entertaining. I have read many of Lisa Jackson's books and like them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Great Mystery/Thriller read

    First of all Lisa Jackson is just a wonderful writer. Lost Souls kept me engaged from start to finish. I highly recommend Lost Souls if you enjoy suspens and mystery. Love her books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Jackson delivers again┬┐

    Lost Souls by Lisa Jackson opens with gripping details of a ritual sacrifice. You can almost smell the fear of Rylee as she lies paralyzed but able to see, hear, and feel her terrifying ordeal. Four girls were missing from All Saints College, Baton Rouge, LA. The four girls had several things in common, including their emotional neediness and signing up for the same English class--The Influence of Vampyrism in Modern Culture and Literature. There is a strong cult influence at the campus. The allure of Vampirism was addictive to more and more students. Kristie Bentz returns to college, majoring in English. Her goal is to write true crime novels. She was almost obsessed with crime. Twice she had almost died at the hands of a serial killer. Her father Rick Bentz, a New Orleans Detective, begged her not to leave home. He knew about the missing girls and feared for her life. She and former boyfriend-turned-professor became embroiled in the investigation. What they discovered put their lives in danger. Lisa Jackson is well known for her psychopath killers. Lost Souls will not disappoint fans and will bring in new readers. This book is set in post-Katrina Louisiana Jackson captures the essence of the wounded area. The plot is forceful and includes unexpected twists and turns. Jackson captures the reader¿s attention from the first chapter and does not let go until the end of the book. I have to admit that I do not normally read or like vampire books. Fortunately, Jackson uses a very human protagonist and stays away from the supernatural. The ¿lost souls¿ draws the reader¿s sympathy. The lead characters are well-developed and have distinct voices. The protagonist is pure evil,making him perfect for this genre of book. Fans of Lisa Jackson will enjoy her latest once again, she delivers chills and thrills.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Coulnt put it down

    This book was the best in the series so far. As book #5 in a series of 7 it was about blood..evil and vampires! Definitely a page Turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Myntpaw

    No you dont she said angrily. I have to deal with everything that my siblings do wrong. Nothing is ever personal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    A Real Page Turner

    Wow awesome i think Lisa Jackson out did herself with this one.
    This is #5 in this sears and it just keeps getting better and better each book tops the last one.
    One Awesome Book.
    One Awesome Sears.

    Tip ( if you plan to read this i would start with tje first book.in this srsrs each book kinda starts from the last and if you pick this one up.you will want to go back 4 books so read them in order you won't be dispointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Maka

    "that doesn't mean I wrote it."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    E

    Erica shakily holds her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    I did not like it.All her other books were great.

    I did not like it.All her other books were great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Warriors den

    Much like the med cats and deputies except smaller.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Warrior and apprentice den

    Lostclan property

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Excellent Read!

    If u are looking for entertainment this is definently the book for u :) Im not done with it, only a little more to go but it has me at attention!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Very Good

    Enjoyed this book a lot. Very surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Courtnry

    Kk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11