Customer Reviews for

The Lost Symbol

Average Rating 4
( 6736 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2590)

4 Star

(1839)

3 Star

(1333)

2 Star

(578)

1 Star

(396)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Not a fair rating

Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous wor...
Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous works. I'm interested in the current selection I am buying now. If I want a history, I will look at previous works myself. Be fair to your readers and please consider this review process. There was one book I looked at awhile back that had 2,000 ratings by the authors fans before the book came. And the book did not measure up.

posted by 592326 on July 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

No One Has Read This Book Yet

My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no spec...
My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no specific plot points about the book, and his review simply appears to be a critique of Dan Brown's previous four novels and his expectations of this one. Additionally, there have been no galleys or advanced reader's copies issued from Knopf yet, nor are there likely to be any in the foreseeable future. I would suggest that everyone read jeremy0u812's review as such, and save final judgment for this specific book until it's available.

posted by BookMarkML on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 6780 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 339
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm Confused

    So has anyone read this book? Last I saw it doesn't come out until 9/15. How can you rate it it one way or the other? I guess this is just a form for personal opinion based on previous work and no fact. I love how the little minds work. Please by all means flame away.

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    Good Show Mr. Brown!!!

    I am a voracious reader averaging two books a week; and not small, sleek volumes, mind you! My tastes run in the genre of non-fiction mostly, though I have read a few of the classic novelists; Dickens, Hardy etc. And, I must say there was a time when I was quite smitten with the Rowling woman and her bewitching characters. However, as I stated, I am more interested in history and social sciences and therefore, non-fiction.

    However, I must tip my hat to Mr. Brown, which, by the way, I have not read at all, for his ability to drive the adult reading public to such frenzy as to require a 5 million copy printing of his third novel. Any author that can generate that much interest in a generally lethargic reading public certainly has much to be proud of and is certainly someone to whom I might soon shift my gaze for escapist literature. Good show, chap!

    6 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    At Last...

    My introduction to Dan Brown was The Da Vinci Code, afterwhich I backtracked to read his previous novels. Deception Point, Digital Fortress and Angels and Demons. All superb reads. Unlike the book, the film version of The Da Vinci Code was a let down. I hope they do a better job withn Angels and Demons. Because of Mr. Brown's imaginative writing, I'm sure The Lost Symbol will live up to all our expectations...

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst Dan Brown Yet

    I have always enjoyed a good Dan Brown book when I need light reading. I was pretty excited for this one. I read it in a couple days and was seriously disappointed. The first three fourths of the book is really fun... basically the same as every other Dan Brown, but that can be fun. The last fourth was horrible. The ending is bad and the 'secret' is sooo lame. It wrecked almost the whole novel for me. Hopefully next time he will do better.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it! Dan Brown Does it again!

    Great book! hooks ya! has some great twists that I was not expecting. its a real page turner... I love Dan Brown's writing style and the trill of his books. If you liked Da Vinci code and Angels and Demons you will like this one too.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The wait is over

    After months and months of surmise on what will our Robert Langdon will decode this time, we are finally here. So for the people who weigh that it will be about the Solomon Temple, or something about a religious sect, wrong again. This time Brown decided - Freemasons. I've watched too many Discovery and History channel for this one yet reading about them and the "supposedly" initiation and practices did not surprise me but reading it on Dan brown's novel is diverse.

    The usual tenor are still there. Langdon gets summoned to go somewhere that, well hello - mystery since he is professor or symbology and all that, The profligate is someone who have grotesque looks. This time his name is Mal'akh, dude was covered in tattoos from acientt symbols/signs, pillars to a double headed phoenix on his chest, etc. Historical fact and fiction were amalgamated, and of course something that people can look up at the world wide web. I for one is a victim of this, took me awhile to finish the book because I have to find out what and where is 1733 16th St. NW and 4210 Silver Hill Rd. Grinning like an idiot,. I found out that the 1st one is The Scottish Masons - Supreme Council 33 degree and the 2nd one is the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural history. I also admit to calling the phone number 202-329-5746 out of curiosity. Brown must have put for some reason right? and I interpret it as "you must find out what this is". You may also find yourself researching about Noetic Science, OS, the Invisible College, SMSC and more.

    I admit, I got lost on some parts, so I have to pause and digest what I just read. The theme / plot ruminate around this Ancient Mysteries and Katherine's research and goal in life - the use of advance science to rediscover what the lost knowledge the ancient world had unveiled about our universe. I wouldn't even bash about the flaws, I'd let the professional book critic do that. As a fan of Brown's - I'd say this book is brilliant, suspenseful, informative, highly intriguing, it kind of gave me a new perspective on the eventful prediction that is supposed to happen on 2012 and it made me want to go back to D.C and examine the capitol a little to closely. In short it an enjoyable diversion from the real world. Highly recommended.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm not sure Dan Brown can write another book, that will affect me as deeply.

    It took me entirely too long to read this book. 500 pages was tough, I lost my patience half way through. But the last 200 pages, were SO worth it. The book intimidated me, as it supposedly had a large effect on my marriage. However, the theories it presents, the science it discusses only reinforces Christianity, supports the truth within the Bible, and so much more. There is no way I can pay enough credit to the passages I have underlined in the book. But I'm super excited to discuss with the book club!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Lost Symbol - lost ending

    Pretty much the same plot as his other books set in Europe. Some interesting facts about WA DC and the Masonic Order, but terribly preachy and hughly repititious at the end.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Lost Symbol Isn't a Complete Loss

    The last thing I read before I put the book down was the critic blurbs on the back cover. After reading all of them, including this one from the Library Journal "This masterpiece should be mandatory reading. Brown solidifies his reputation as one of the most skilled thriller writers on the planet.", I was left with one rather large question. Did they just read the same book?


    Now I'm not saying I didn't like the book, because I did. I found it to be a fast paced, heart pounding romp through our nations' capitol. It's a fun, entertaining read that I'm sure millions are devouring within one or two sittings like I did. That's it though, the book isn't life changing or so brilliantly written that everyone should be required to read it in school rooms.


    What I like the most about the book is Robert Langdon, who since The Da Vinci Code, reminds me of a sexless Indiana Jones. A middle aged action hero for the masses, one that appeals to both men and women. He is a fantastic character and I applaud Dan Brown for dreaming him up. he is a welcome addition to the action/thriller genre and I'm glad I've been able to get to know him over three books.


    I do have one slight problem with the book and one problem that was a little more serious for me. The first was how much googling I had to do to understand every little fact and nuance in the book. I'm used to that with Dan Brown books, I had to do the same thing with The Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons. Between searches for all the symbols, buildings, and religious references along with all the reading I did on Noetic Science I spent almost as much time online as I did reading the book. I shouldn't blame Dan Brown for this though, I'm like this anytime I read a book that mentions something I'm not already familiar with.


    The larger issue for me was how easy and predictable the identity of the villain is. The dust jacket makes Mal'akh sound like the most dangerous foe ever encountered in a thriller, I found him to be a tedious and egotistical brat who's motives really aren't ever explained. Figuring out who he really is, wasn't that hard to do. Figuring out why he takes the horrific actions he does is a little bit harder to pinpoint. The explanations in the book just don't make sense to me. A lot of us have had serious issues with our parents, but I don't know any that go to this length for a sense of revenge that really doesn't make sense. If there is a flaw in the book, it is here.


    The other normal issues exist as well; a plot that depends on a lot of coincidences and conjecture, a cast of characters that could be put into any other thriller and feel right at home, and the occasional dialogue that sounds like it's coming out of a encyclopedia or dictionary.


    With all that being said, I would still recommend this to anyone who wants a thrilling romp full of action and intrigue.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SAME OLD , SAME OLD, A BIT HO HUM

    This one took a bit of work to get through.
    It just does not seem that he spent as much time putting this one together. Many of the plot lines seem to copy the earlier books with not as much punch.
    Brown also wonders off track by breaking the flow of critical parts in the story by going back in time at inopportune moments.
    Did not hold my attention the way the first two books did. The end of the book(not the story) very hard to get through. Should have ended it long before he did.
    Also very predictable no shock ending in this one.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    Badly written

    The plot is infantile and one has the feeling that the author does not respect the intelligence of his readers.
    One example - Sato, the director of a very powerful department in CIA wanders for a few hours at the site of a crime trying to avert a national security crisis ALONE so that an elderly man can top her and help Langdon escape. In the midst of an emergency (a kidnapping, a national security crisis, a severed hand left in the middle of the Capitol) Langdon gives in-depth lectures about Masons, symbols etc. The author has Langdon worried about his friend Peter and at the same time worried about Peter's privacy to an almost comical extend. In the subbasement of the Capitol, where Peter has a Masonic meditation chamber, Langdon spends a lot of time trying to hinder Sato's investigation and at the same time wondering when he will be allowed to leave so that he can help his friend. Langdon seems witless when, after he stalled Sato's investigation, is joining with the Architect, just because he wears a Masonic ring. The Architect attacks people in Langton presence and then tells Langton to run with him and, the great thinker, no question asked, starts following. This happens after the "bad guy" already has fooled Langdon into coming to Washington D.C. Meanwhile, the sister of the friend who is from a great, rich and benevolent family proves to be easily duped as well. People whit a lot of money, running secret research are not able to protect themselves. All the guards are watching football games and they are not doing their jobs so the "bad guy" can easily implement his evil schemes. We are only through the first third of the book. The rest of the writing is as bad and predictably slow - the book must have been contracted by weight and not by substance.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Lost Symbol Have Something To Do With The Secret And Exclusive Society Of Cincinnati?

    I read Devil's Verse last month which links the Society of Cincinnati to the overthrow of the Vatican in 1798, the XYZ affair, and the setting up of a New World Government. The Society's first president was George Washington. Everyone is speculating that Lost Symbol has to due with Secret American Societies. Maybe it's the Society Of Cincinnati!

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Another response to "Nothing but the same..."

    So you think Dan Brown's writing is totally predictable? Simple answer - stop reading his books! I hope you don't think you're doing the reading public a huge favor.

    Personally, I very much enjoy his books. They are very entertaining - which is one of the reasons I read, for entertainment.

    4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So Excited

    Dan Brown was the first author that I actually chose to buy a book from and read, meaning, that my first purchase of Dan Brown was completely not necessary for school or anything. That first book was his classic "Angels and Demons" and it also became the first book that got me into reading in general. Since then Ive read the infamous Da Vinci Code, Deception Point, and Digital Fortress. All were similar but all very interesting/ entertaining. With the success of his movie at the box office and book sales I was starting to fear that he wasnt gonna write another novel. Suffice to say Im super excited to hear he has another book penned and awaiting my library. The best part? It follows his character Robert Langdon who is basically the Indiana Jones of literature. Im sure this book will be amazing and I can't wait.

    4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I am proud to say that I have read all of Dan Brown's books. He is an amazing author and I can't wait to read The Lost Symbol.

    4 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Say What?

    What happened to THE SOLOMON KEY that was supposed to be the next Dan Brown bestseller? Has is been abandoned?

    4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Much ado about nothing.

    Same story, different characters. Half way through the book you'll pretty much have guessed the ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a disappointment!

    I understand that a Dan Brown book requires you to "suspend your disbelief" but this book was just ridiculous. Has Mr. Brown become a member of the Freemasons? This book seemed more like propaganda than a novel. And has he also forgotten how to write? What happened to pacing? And storytelling? Though the story takes place in 12 hours, the constant repetition, long winded flashbacks, and incredibly slow pace makes this the longest, dullest 12 hours in the life of any character that I have ever encountered. Even the chase scenes were drawn out and boring. And worse, once the story ends, THE BOOK CONTINUES for three more chapters. Why? Why not just put us all out of our misery, Dan? I only finished it because I had already invested so much time already. I hoped against hope that it would pick up and get better. It didn't. If anything, it just got worse the more I read.

    I have read everything by Dan Brown and I must say that "Angels and Demons" was his best book. This book was just a waste, especially considering the amount of time it took him to complete it and the amount of time it took to read it. Just a HUGE disappointment. Note to Dan Brown: writing a book is about more than taking a bunch of esoteric historical facts and wild rumors and mix them with a (this time) governmental cover-up and just throwing everything against the wall to see what sticks. Next time, try something a little newer. (Case in point: why is Kryptos popping up again?) Try a new spin, Dan. Everyone else, skip this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    A dissapointment...

    Contrived. Predictable at times. An utter dissapointment.
    Nowhere near to his previous works such as Angels and Demons, Digital Fortress or his claim to fame The DaVinci Code. Excellent beginning but falls apart midway. Is not a seamless narrative(like his previous books)and at times you can sense Mr. Brown's struggle to tie up all lose ends. He stutters along the way with some of the clues and the predictable outcome. The conclusion of the book seemed like an afterthought, unplanned, produced almost to justify the book's existence and seems forced and out of touch with reality.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    Not a sequel, just a mistake.

    It is unfair and unreasonable to expect Dan Brown, or any author to write two masterpieces in a row. That being said, it probably is reasonable to expect something more an author with a proven track record than what Dan Brown delivers here. Simply said, this novel is a mess. The characters are not even two dimensional. The "plot" is more aptly described as a string of ever more implausible events, 'decryptions', and interpretations. While the first third of the book moves along briskly, by the time I got to the last 100 pages I couldn't wait to be done. After the DaVinci Code an entire cottage industry arose of book based on secret codes, societies, and cabals. This book ranks near the bottom of this group. Reread any of his other books, maybe even hug a Freemason, but don't bother with this mistake

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 6780 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 339