Customer Reviews for

The Lost Symbol

Average Rating 4
( 6768 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2607)

4 Star

(1847)

3 Star

(1333)

2 Star

(582)

1 Star

(399)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Not a fair rating

Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous wor...
Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous works. I'm interested in the current selection I am buying now. If I want a history, I will look at previous works myself. Be fair to your readers and please consider this review process. There was one book I looked at awhile back that had 2,000 ratings by the authors fans before the book came. And the book did not measure up.

posted by 592326 on July 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

No One Has Read This Book Yet

My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no spec...
My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no specific plot points about the book, and his review simply appears to be a critique of Dan Brown's previous four novels and his expectations of this one. Additionally, there have been no galleys or advanced reader's copies issued from Knopf yet, nor are there likely to be any in the foreseeable future. I would suggest that everyone read jeremy0u812's review as such, and save final judgment for this specific book until it's available.

posted by BookMarkML on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing but the same from Dan Brown

    This sums up every Dan Brown novel written. The main character is always taken unexpectedly and thrust in a fast paced scenario, where the fate of so many, rest on him or her solving a series of riddles and mysteries. While the antagonist, who in the end turns out to be a good guy, is always close, and the good guy, in the end, always is the bad guy; the very person you think the bad guy is. Not to mention these events always take place within less than a 24 hour time period. Dan Brown has lost all sense of originality. He used, or overused, the exact same formula for all 4 previous novels. Now it appears Mr.Brown tends to rip himself off one more time. Do not waist your money on yet another Dan Brown novel. You've all read this novel before, only it was call Digital Fortress, Deception Point, DaVinci Code or Angels & Demons.
    Let me add onto this as a few of you avid Dan Brown fans have taken issue with my review, as one of you nitpicks over a misspelled word(I am such a horrible speller though) and another called me an idiot(That may be so). Every writer has a pattern to their writing, but when it becomes so obvious you can predict the outcome within a chapter or two, then it's a waist of time. Let me give you a analogy, take a picture out of a coloring book, copy it 4 times and color it all different colors. Also, the DaVinci Code is a rip-off everything in the, Holy Blood Holy Grail. The authors even sued Mr.Brown. All the info in the, Holy Blood Holy Grail is speculative and conspiracy theory but Dan Brown boldly pronounces such info as fact. Watch the History channel. Facts as stated by Danny, who is no historian, are not facts and are debated by historians. Don't get me wrong, I am not bound by religious bias so the subject matter does not bother me. In fact I absolutely loved the DaVinci Code; being the first Dan Brown novel I read. My respect for him as an author faltered as I read more of his works to the point I could not finish Digital Fortress. I can pretty much guess the main characters boss is the bad guy. Maybe I'm wrong, but after his other novels that's pretty much the direction I saw that going. After reading his next novel takes place within a time period of 14 hours I thought,"Great, more of the same." So, ther we are, more of the same in my opinion. Feel free, In your anger to nitpick and name call. You'll all be feeling the same when you predict the outcome halfway through this book. Happy reading. I'll be reading as well, hoping I am wrong and that I don't predict the ending before it comes.

    16 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Yay! Another overblown Scooby Doo mystery!

    Seriously...these Dan Brown books...they bring nothing new to the table. They're the same damn thing, using the same cliche deus ex machina over and over and over again. It's revolting to think that these books, these tripe, brainless, overblown pieces of garbage are actually some of the highest selling books of a generation. I frankly don't care about overused religious aspects or the debate as to whether or not there is validity to the whole thing. Ultimately, it's a work of fiction, and a derivative, poorly written one at that. And don't get me started on the movies. Stories like this, and the National Treasure turds, are precisely why great american novels/films are dying off. Utter dirt.

    16 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    Lost Symbol

    Not the worst book I have ever read. Perhaps the worst book I have ever finished. Dan took too much time off, he forgot what made him sucessful. But I guess with all the money he has made, it is of no concern to him. Much like James Patterson and Johnaton Kellermen, he has sold his soul. This is a very bad book from start to finish, I won't be waiting for your next.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wait for the Movie

    I think Mr. Brown was paid by the word for this one. The story rambles all over the place like a hyper housefly on amphetamines. He continually jumps back and forth in time and between different points of view while the main character stands around with a puzzled expression on his face. The secondary characters are bizarre and completely unbelievable. The plot moves at a snail's pace. It is very repetitive and boring. I liked The DaVinci Code and Angels & Demons much better and would highly recommend those. For this one, just skip the pain of wading through it and wait for someone to pluck out the better parts and make a movie of it.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    Badly written

    The plot is infantile and one has the feeling that the author does not respect the intelligence of his readers.
    One example - Sato, the director of a very powerful department in CIA wanders for a few hours at the site of a crime trying to avert a national security crisis ALONE so that an elderly man can top her and help Langdon escape. In the midst of an emergency (a kidnapping, a national security crisis, a severed hand left in the middle of the Capitol) Langdon gives in-depth lectures about Masons, symbols etc. The author has Langdon worried about his friend Peter and at the same time worried about Peter's privacy to an almost comical extend. In the subbasement of the Capitol, where Peter has a Masonic meditation chamber, Langdon spends a lot of time trying to hinder Sato's investigation and at the same time wondering when he will be allowed to leave so that he can help his friend. Langdon seems witless when, after he stalled Sato's investigation, is joining with the Architect, just because he wears a Masonic ring. The Architect attacks people in Langton presence and then tells Langton to run with him and, the great thinker, no question asked, starts following. This happens after the "bad guy" already has fooled Langdon into coming to Washington D.C. Meanwhile, the sister of the friend who is from a great, rich and benevolent family proves to be easily duped as well. People whit a lot of money, running secret research are not able to protect themselves. All the guards are watching football games and they are not doing their jobs so the "bad guy" can easily implement his evil schemes. We are only through the first third of the book. The rest of the writing is as bad and predictably slow - the book must have been contracted by weight and not by substance.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Say What?

    What happened to THE SOLOMON KEY that was supposed to be the next Dan Brown bestseller? Has is been abandoned?

    4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a disappointment!

    I understand that a Dan Brown book requires you to "suspend your disbelief" but this book was just ridiculous. Has Mr. Brown become a member of the Freemasons? This book seemed more like propaganda than a novel. And has he also forgotten how to write? What happened to pacing? And storytelling? Though the story takes place in 12 hours, the constant repetition, long winded flashbacks, and incredibly slow pace makes this the longest, dullest 12 hours in the life of any character that I have ever encountered. Even the chase scenes were drawn out and boring. And worse, once the story ends, THE BOOK CONTINUES for three more chapters. Why? Why not just put us all out of our misery, Dan? I only finished it because I had already invested so much time already. I hoped against hope that it would pick up and get better. It didn't. If anything, it just got worse the more I read.

    I have read everything by Dan Brown and I must say that "Angels and Demons" was his best book. This book was just a waste, especially considering the amount of time it took him to complete it and the amount of time it took to read it. Just a HUGE disappointment. Note to Dan Brown: writing a book is about more than taking a bunch of esoteric historical facts and wild rumors and mix them with a (this time) governmental cover-up and just throwing everything against the wall to see what sticks. Next time, try something a little newer. (Case in point: why is Kryptos popping up again?) Try a new spin, Dan. Everyone else, skip this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    Not a sequel, just a mistake.

    It is unfair and unreasonable to expect Dan Brown, or any author to write two masterpieces in a row. That being said, it probably is reasonable to expect something more an author with a proven track record than what Dan Brown delivers here. Simply said, this novel is a mess. The characters are not even two dimensional. The "plot" is more aptly described as a string of ever more implausible events, 'decryptions', and interpretations. While the first third of the book moves along briskly, by the time I got to the last 100 pages I couldn't wait to be done. After the DaVinci Code an entire cottage industry arose of book based on secret codes, societies, and cabals. This book ranks near the bottom of this group. Reread any of his other books, maybe even hug a Freemason, but don't bother with this mistake

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lost On Me

    Read the first couple chapters. Yawned. He's missing a character we care about.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait to read it!

    I'll give a full review after I have read it!
    For those of you who have not read "Deception Point", you are missing a great adventure. I could not put this book down and it was passed around the office for everyone to read. It is his best so far.

    3 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    It just isn't good!

    I was so disappointed in this book. I bought the hardback copy. I won't again. I loved Brown's others.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    must have had a deadline

    Very poorly written. Lead character Langdon goes through the story as lost and confused, deer in the headlights, knows nothing. All the promises of mankind changing secrets are never fulfilled. Never delivered. Brown must have had a contract to fulfill. The blatant religious-appeasing dogma must be penance for previous books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    terrible - I want my money back

    I would not recommend this book to anyone. I cannot believe the characters and the way they acted. I am so disappointed. I read all of the time and this is the 1st time in my life I've ever been tempted to take a book back for a refund.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    Dan Brown: The Lost Symbol

    what a dissapointment-don't waste your time unless you like being preached to. Where was the story? The Lost Symbol read like a badly written text book on Free Masons

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    The Lost Symbol/lost interest

    This is the worst disappointment I've experienced in years. For months I thought the Lost Symbol was a sequel to the DaVinci Code. If that's what you're expecting then you're in for a big let-down. Not only is it NOT a sequel but it is probably the most boring, inane material you'll have the displeasure of reading in a decade. I think Brown wants to dazzle readers with his knowledge of symbols and mythology, and I for one find it quite annoying. Putting hot coals in my eyes would have been more fun than reading this book. I forced myself to read on, hoping it would get better, but at fourteen chapters I just had to accept that it's a lemon. What a disappointment.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Why no trailer?

    Why don't they include a trailer to give us a lead in to the new book? I find this very frustrating since I decide my interest level by the jacket narrative.

    2 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    A book tha i know nothig aou

    This book sucks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    I have not read a more violent, sick book ever!  There were nume

    I have not read a more violent, sick book ever!  There were numerous areas where the plot does not hang together.  Who would believe that someone who has had their hand cut off would go site seeing rather than to the hospital?  Dan Brown has a lot of information and just seems to need to put it all in rather than include only the important details for the plot.  If I was grading this book in my classroom I would give a low mark. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Iloved the other Langdon qbooks butthis one was a huge disappoin

    Iloved the other Langdon qbooks butthis one was a huge disappointment. Itreally was like he was phoning it in. Bythe way  what is the dealwith these pages upon pages of teenage or tweenage gibberish. This is NOT a chat room. Notice the first4or5 pages of 5 sstar reviews are all nonesense. That must help with giving this a higher rating thanit deserves.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Horrid. GOD IS FAKE

    I PRAY TO ALLAH AAAYAYYAYAYAYYAAAA FAWK AMERICA FAWK OBAMA JESUS FAKE!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20