Customer Reviews for

The Lost Symbol

Average Rating 4
( 6742 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2592)

4 Star

(1840)

3 Star

(1333)

2 Star

(581)

1 Star

(396)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Not a fair rating

Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous wor...
Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous works. I'm interested in the current selection I am buying now. If I want a history, I will look at previous works myself. Be fair to your readers and please consider this review process. There was one book I looked at awhile back that had 2,000 ratings by the authors fans before the book came. And the book did not measure up.

posted by 592326 on July 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

No One Has Read This Book Yet

My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no spec...
My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no specific plot points about the book, and his review simply appears to be a critique of Dan Brown's previous four novels and his expectations of this one. Additionally, there have been no galleys or advanced reader's copies issued from Knopf yet, nor are there likely to be any in the foreseeable future. I would suggest that everyone read jeremy0u812's review as such, and save final judgment for this specific book until it's available.

posted by BookMarkML on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 581 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I was waiting for

    I loved Angels and Demons and greatly enjoyed the DaVinci Code. This is more on the level of Deception Point (another book which demonstrated a total ignorance of the real world and how Washington works). The book starts with an improbable beginning, throws in a stereotypical security officer, mixes in some nebulous pseudo-science and then goes masonic on us. I found the locations interesting, but the characters are cardboard. The fatal flaw of The Lost Symbol is that it's as light on thrills as it is on substance. I suppose this is the fall of non-fiction, as the best book I've read so far is Emotional Intelligence 2.0

    33 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    A Langdon Letdown

    Having read all of Dan Brown's book, I was extremely excited about Langdon's latest adventure. But shortly after starting, I found the book to have many more drawn out portions than normal in Brown's books. Langdon's previous adventures constantly keep me turning pages, but this time around some parts were drawn out and literally bored me. The writing style is the same as before, which is starting to become extremely predictable. Having taken place in the nations capital, I was hoping for more settings. Felt that after 6 years of research we would have more about the capital incorporated in the book. This book just didn't click like Angels and Demons and Da Vinci Code. Of Browns 5 books, this is the worst.

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to tell... unless you read an advance copy...

    This book is very predictable & obvious...

    It will be read and enjoyed by most...

    My highest recommendations are listed below...

    15 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    Disappointed

    Maybe it was the high level of expectation after reading the first two books, but this one was disappointing.
    This book became a lesson in history and mysticism without a good story line to tie it together and keep it interesting. MANY times I thought-"Ok, ok, these Masons are mystical and understand something my puny mind cannot grasp-but get on with it already!" Honestly, if I was stuck in a room with men who were so quick to pontificate I would find SOME way to leave. However, I spent $17 for this story so I trudged through hoping Dan Brown would find "THE WORD" that would turn this book into a captivating read. Sadly, that word remains buried somewhere so I can not recommed this book to others.

    13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst Book

    I really enjoyed The Davinci Code and found Angels & Demons even more enjoyable, but I have to say that this book was very disappointing. Just about everything was wrong. The writing was as gripping as ever, I will give him that. Every chapter ended in a cliffhanger, just like every other Dan Brown book. But the plot was predictable and honestly I found this 'secret' that they are hiding through the whole story to be not nearly as important as they made it out to be. Definitely not worth killing for.

    I won't discredit Brown's research or his ability to write entertaining books, but this just wasn't his best. I was let down.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst Dan Brown Yet

    I have always enjoyed a good Dan Brown book when I need light reading. I was pretty excited for this one. I read it in a couple days and was seriously disappointed. The first three fourths of the book is really fun... basically the same as every other Dan Brown, but that can be fun. The last fourth was horrible. The ending is bad and the 'secret' is sooo lame. It wrecked almost the whole novel for me. Hopefully next time he will do better.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Lost Symbol - lost ending

    Pretty much the same plot as his other books set in Europe. Some interesting facts about WA DC and the Masonic Order, but terribly preachy and hughly repititious at the end.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    A dissapointment...

    Contrived. Predictable at times. An utter dissapointment.
    Nowhere near to his previous works such as Angels and Demons, Digital Fortress or his claim to fame The DaVinci Code. Excellent beginning but falls apart midway. Is not a seamless narrative(like his previous books)and at times you can sense Mr. Brown's struggle to tie up all lose ends. He stutters along the way with some of the clues and the predictable outcome. The conclusion of the book seemed like an afterthought, unplanned, produced almost to justify the book's existence and seems forced and out of touch with reality.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    The Lost Symbol

    I was very disappointed in Dan Brown's newest book. I was hoping for so much more from this author. Having enjoyed his previous books, I was anticipating another thriller. This was not what I got. There was a very similar plot line and an abundant amount of busy and unnecessary plot lines. I am sorry to say that I felt a real let down and was very anxious to finish the story and move on. I can only hope that his next effort will bring us back to the writing that we have enjoyed in the past

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boring, is the best word to describe it as a whole

    Personally I found the entire premise just plain underwhelming. The Noetics storyline did absolutely NOTHING for me. It was absolutely useless for me in terms of making the book even remotely interesting. Whether that is a failure on Mr. Brown's part in making it interesting to me as a reader or just the nature of the subject itself I do not know. But, by choosing to make it integral to his plot he crippled the story and pacing.

    The other main storyline was just too mediocre and the ending was disastrous and a complete and utter letdown. Mr. Brown could have left off everything after the villain reveal cause the rest of that was just a complete waste and colossally boring. When langdon fell asleep for a nap at the end in the Capital building I giggled because I felt even he was getting bored at the story.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    What a waste!!

    A whole lot of buildup for a whole lot of nothing! I eagerly bought this book as I was looking to be amazed once again with his writing. I agree with one of the other reviews when they wrote that it was one of the stupidest endings that I could NOT have imagined. I won't spoil the stupidity for anyone, but it is NOT necessary to beg/borrow or steal to get this book!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    The Lost Symbol: A loser

    Even good writers write bad books. Dan Brown's latest hyped novel, The Lost Symbol, is one. The story begins interestingly enough but as it slogs on it is soon secondary to a mish mash of esoteric stuff.
    Brown's character, Robert Langdon, Harvard symbologist is called to give a lecture at the U. S. Capitol Building. His caller is (allegedly) an old friend and mentor who he hasn't had contact with in 10 years. When Langdon arrives at the venue, no one is there and no one knows about such a scheduled lecture.
    At the same time a diminutive CIA operative pops on the scene. And yes there is an object with unknown symbols.
    All this starts Langdon on a search for his friend, the meaning of the object and its symbols; all having to do with the Masons.
    Okay so far.
    But then it goes to pot in a short time.
    Author Brown has done well with giving the reader a touch of the mystical and spooky symbolism in The Da Vinci Code, and he carries it into The Lost Symbol. Unfortunately he bogs down in all this to the point that you want to say, "Who cares?"
    In this novel, Brown is like the guy who when asked the time tells you how to build a watch.
    Meanwhile the story gets side tracked while we are pummeled with Masonic legend, lore, mysticism, truth, fiction ad nauseam. Add to this morass of information that isn't all that important to the story a tattooed murderous lunatic and you begin to wonder just what the story is about.
    By mid book, you're completely lost as to what the story is because Brown drifts away from the original story line to impress us with his deep knowledge of Masonic history and symbolic meanings. It's as if he's writing a dissertation for his doctorate.
    This reviewer also got lost in the erratic flashbacks and disjointed flow (if there was one) of the story.
    Having been a Dan Brown fan from the beginning, The Lost Symbol accomplished one thing: It totally lost me in the quagmire of symbolism and boring information that had little if any relation to the story.
    All the hype, mystery and entertainment style promotion can't redeem the novel. Perhaps it was necessary to make up for its lack of quality.
    I wouldn't recommend spending money for this book. Wait for it to come out on Cliffs Notes.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Who Cares

    Unlike "The DaVinci Code" or even more so, "Angels and Demons" the plot of this thing just doesn't move at all. With the other two books I begrudged any time driving, at work, or anywhere else that kept me from them. With "The Lost Symbol" I put the book down for days at a time, because it simply was not at all compelling.
    Besides Langdon there are a couple of mildly interesting characters--the villain, and the CIA chief--but they are not nearly enough to pique my curiosity as to what is on the next page. And the conclusion is one big "SO WHAT?!"
    Don't bother buying the book, unless you will then donate it to your local library. Or use it to level a table.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Not a good read.

    Boring and very slow reading. Not Brown's best work.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    A Lengthy Disappointment

    Somewhere inside these 509 pages there is probably a pretty good 300 page book. Unfortunately, if you sell as many copies as Brown did with The DaVinci Code you are apparently exempt from being edited. Too bad. Perhaps the most annoying aspect of this book is the way the action keeps stopping for the author to share with us his undergraduate lecture notes on all manner of things, which makes this book easy to put down and hard to come back to.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Needs help

    I have been a big fan of Dan Brown and I have enjoyed all of his work up until this one. I pre-ordered the book and was looking forward to reading it when it finally was released. I started it, and it moved rather quickly, but then started trailing off. I kept coming back thinking it has got to pick up. It finally did get going but it got so out there at the end that I was just hoping it would end with a bang. As you can tell from the other readers... it did not. I hope his next work is better, as I enjoyed Angels and Demons (his best work), and The Davinci Code so much more. By the way... The guy end the end with no hand.... Toughest Guy I have ever known... I think he is still out there taking a stroll!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hated It!!!

    I couldn't wait for this book to come out! After The DaVinci Code and Angels & Demons......how could he go wrong? Well, he did. Boring Plot....(half way through I was saying.....who cares?????) and a contrived ending. SKIP IT!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    How many years for this?

    Let me start off by saying that I'm a huge Dan Brown fan. Obviously, Da Vinci Code is the best of the best, but Angels and Demons, Deception Point and even Digital Fortress were great reads. In Brown's defense, it was going to be very difficult to duplicate the success of the Da Vinci code. It was almost set up to fail. But the book itself was just a difficult read. It took almost 150 pages to even get me interested. After that, there was a portion of the book that took on a minor semblance to a page turner. I don't even know what the ending was all about and have no idea what the Lost Symbol is. Stay away from this one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    "Lost Symbol" should be "Lost Interest"

    Dan Brown's latest book doesn't rise to the standards of his previous three books. In terms of quality it is closer to Digital Fortress, I wish it was closer to DiVinci Code or Angels and Demons. It starts out with an interesting deception, but slowly drags on with repeated references to Masonic texts with a hint of something major to follow. The major events are very anti-climatic, and the villain's true identity was very predictable. The last 50-60 pages were a dud. I lost interest about 3/4ths the way through the book, but continued reading anyway. I should have stopped then, but I expected something far better than what the ending provided. I hope that his next book is closer to being as interesting and unpredictable as his previous three.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I waited that long for this????

    This book was not good. It was a typical conspiracy thriller with no real juice. At times, I wished that it would just get on with the story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 581 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30