Customer Reviews for

The Lost Symbol

Average Rating 4
( 6761 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2602)

4 Star

(1844)

3 Star

(1335)

2 Star

(581)

1 Star

(399)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Not a fair rating

Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous wor...
Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous works. I'm interested in the current selection I am buying now. If I want a history, I will look at previous works myself. Be fair to your readers and please consider this review process. There was one book I looked at awhile back that had 2,000 ratings by the authors fans before the book came. And the book did not measure up.

posted by 592326 on July 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

No One Has Read This Book Yet

My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no spec...
My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no specific plot points about the book, and his review simply appears to be a critique of Dan Brown's previous four novels and his expectations of this one. Additionally, there have been no galleys or advanced reader's copies issued from Knopf yet, nor are there likely to be any in the foreseeable future. I would suggest that everyone read jeremy0u812's review as such, and save final judgment for this specific book until it's available.

posted by BookMarkML on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1844 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 93
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Altohugh a lot of people seem to thing this book was a diassapointment, I loved it!!! Admittedly, I was able to guess a lot of the twists and decipher some codes myself, but that didn't bother me. The storyline was very intersting, wiht a lot of history and symbolism involved. I enjoyed the scientific aspect as well. Maybe not as original as his other Robert Langton books, becasue he referred to his other books quite a bit. ( Like the repitition of Issac Newton). All, in all, it was a good read and really made me appreciate American History. Just read his other books, too!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Solid Read by Brown

    Dan Brown has obviously found a story structure he likes: University professor finds himself in the middle of a life and death struggle where he and an intelligent, beautiful woman must unravel a series of codes that have been protected through the ages by a secret society in order to save the world. Usually I would find this kind of repitition trite; however, I obviously don't mind with Brown because I keep coming back for more and find myself enjoying his tales. I think it works for Brown because he is so good at connecting the dots

    In his latest work, Brown takes us through Washington DC deciphering codes that will lead to a secret protected by the Masons in order to save long time father figure Peter Solomon. The history of the Mason, various ancient religious/philosophical histories, etymology, and Neotic Science are fascinating. Brown has created a delicious vilian in this latest work whose true identity keeps you guessing for most of the book. Thankfully Brown did not follow popular paths in painting the Masons or the CIA as the "bad guys", which was refreshing.

    Cons to the book: Brown's not the greatest writer in the world (how many times do you have to say "the answer was right in front of our face the whole time") and the character development was not that great. It is almost as if he expects that everyone has read the other two "Robert Langdon" books. All in all it was a page turner and a good read.

    It is not my favorite Brown book. I would definity recommend reading DaVinci Code or Angels and Demons first so the reader can get to know Langdon before reading The Lost Symbol.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Dan Brown

    For me, I am a real Dan Brown fan. He did not disappoint in this one.
    The book kept me on my toes thinking, thinking, and thinking.
    Similar writing from the Da Vinci Code. In fact, many many items are close to the same, i.e. villain, description, plot, girl, on and on.. This was really interesting with the reference about Masonic symbols, American history etc.

    Definitely would recommend.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    After reading the book take a second look at the jacket.

    I enjoyed reading The Lost Symbol the story follows the same story line as the other Dan Brown novels featuring Robert Langdon, the subject of the story may change but the story line is very familiar. Langdon receives an urgent call at a late time of night or early morning and is thrust into a fast paced matter of life and death. In his quest he has to solve clues that lead him from location to location and he has to face his deepest fears stemming from a childhood incident. The characters are well developed and each has his own story line that comes to play at some point or another. The characters that Langdon starts off running from are usually the ones looking for the same answers he is, but their owndifferent motives, and even the villain has his own unexpected twist. The last few chapters seemed more like filler than part of the story, but the book is still worth reading. Dan Brown's blending of actual locations, historical facts and fiction make for some interesting reading. And when you are done reading the book take a look at the jacket there are at least three coded messages on the jacket.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Follow-Up: Yet Both Unpredictable & Predictable

    The Lost Symbol is a wonderful continuation of the Robert Langdon series. The book is continuously giving action, information, and drama. However, the ending location is easily figured out - but the circumstances are not.
    The constant twists and surprises keep the reader captivated to constantly rethink their notions about the conclusion.

    Ultimately, this was another masterpiece by Dan Brown that is impossible to put down until the very end!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was okay

    I always like Dan Brown books - they all are well written and fun... I think it is hard to even touch Da Vinci Code - that books was just so much and thrilling that anything as a follow-up would be somewhat disappointing... However, it was still a good read and fun like all his other work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I felt like I read it before

    Although the book was a thrilling read, I constantly felt during a good portion of the book, "have I read this before"? There were many scenes, props, descriptions and thearies, that I felt were very familiar. I think the author reads the same books I do and incorporated too much from other books for my taste.
    But over all it was exciting and enjoyable.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner from Dan Brown . . .

    Dan Brown is a magnificient novelist! It is clear that he deeply researches his subjects and is then able to provide a tightly interwoven plot that grabs the reader from page 1 to books end. I know I didn't get much sleep as long as this book was waiting to be read. That being said, I thought that the books ending was too wordy . . . a bit preachy. Even though I am a believer, I felt like someone else's doctrine was being shoved down my throat, and I was starting to choke. I wondered if the author was trying to get some redemption from the religious zealots and other hangers-on that widely criticized his last book. You always know you will be entertained when you pick up a Dan Brown book and I am anxious for his next offering.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Arthurian legend

    There are no magical castrati in medieval arthian texts.
    Otherwise, a compelling adventure narrative

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    ࡟ ࡟ ࡟

    &#2435 &#2435 &#2435

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Lucy

    &# Xi - &Xi <br>
    & xi - &xi <br>
    & tau - &tau <br>
    & sigma - &sigma <br>
    & mu - &mu <br>
    & alpha - &alpha < br>
    & chi - &chi <br>
    & iota - &iota <br>
    & omicron - &omicron <br>
    & gamma - &gamma <br>
    & pi - &pi <br>
    & Pi - &Pi <br>
    & zeta - &zeta <br>
    & beta - &beta <br>
    & theta - &theta <br>
    & nvorni - &nvorni <br>
    & lambda - &lambda <br>
    & epsilon - &epsilon <br>
    & upsilon - &upsilon <br>
    & nu - &nu <br>
    & Nu - &Nu <br>
    & omega - &omega <br>
    & Omega - &Omega

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Entertaining

    A fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    great read

    i am enjoying this book. I do believe the true is stretched in regards to the referrences to the Masonic Family (Mason) I am a Mason as are several others of my family (two are 32 degree and one 33 degree Mason's). We do not have a secret agenda we just have one --To take good men and make them better!
    Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Great read

    Loved this book. Dan Brown has yet to.disappoint me.in any way. Great pace and some of the nastiest villians you would ever want to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    The Lost Symbol follows the same blue print as the other Robert

    The Lost Symbol follows the same blue print as the other Robert Langdon novels. Modern mysticism + urban legend + enough plot twists and turns to make a mountain road jealous. Although I was able to figure some out and was wrong on a couple of guesses the main twist at the end I never saw coming. If you like’s Angels and Demons and the Davinci Code you’ll like this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    &Omega

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    O.o

    &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    To Logan

    &#9822 ... &# 9822 theres a bunch of them at king of symbols

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1844 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 93