Customer Reviews for

The Lost Symbol

Average Rating 4
( 6734 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2589)

4 Star

(1838)

3 Star

(1333)

2 Star

(578)

1 Star

(396)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Not a fair rating

Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous wor...
Why does B&N allow reviews before a book is published. I have a tendancy to look at reviews before i purchase a book. Random reviews before a book comes out skews the rating and is very annoying. I really don't care what readers thought about an author's previous works. I'm interested in the current selection I am buying now. If I want a history, I will look at previous works myself. Be fair to your readers and please consider this review process. There was one book I looked at awhile back that had 2,000 ratings by the authors fans before the book came. And the book did not measure up.

posted by 592326 on July 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

No One Has Read This Book Yet

My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no spec...
My Two Cents: I've noticed that some visitors are wondering how jeremy0u812 could have reviewed a book that isn't scheduled for strict-on-sale release until September 15. Well, it's fairly obvious to me that he has not actually read "The Lost Symbol." He reveals no specific plot points about the book, and his review simply appears to be a critique of Dan Brown's previous four novels and his expectations of this one. Additionally, there have been no galleys or advanced reader's copies issued from Knopf yet, nor are there likely to be any in the foreseeable future. I would suggest that everyone read jeremy0u812's review as such, and save final judgment for this specific book until it's available.

posted by BookMarkML on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2589 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 130
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Must Say, I Disagree with Alfeetoe.

    "Seriously...these Dan Brown books...they bring nothing new to the table. They're the same damn thing, using the same cliche deus ex machina over and over and over again. It's revolting to think that these books, these tripe, brainless, overblown pieces of garbage are actually some of the highest selling books of a generation. I frankly don't care about overused religious aspects or the debate as to whether or not there is validity to the whole thing. Ultimately, it's a work of fiction, and a derivative, poorly written one at that. And don't get me started on the movies. Stories like this, and the National Treasure turds, are precisely why great american novels/films are dying off. Utter dirt."

    Well, I notice you don't notice that, in the front of each book, there is a note from Dan Brown saying something along the lines of "all scientific and religious information used in the forthcoming novel is factual, and the theories discussed have been actually debated". This shows that these books are, in fact, not "utter dirt", and are informational as well as enjoyable. The movie The DaVinci Code, though, has no impact on the quality of the book. You should discuss the movie on the FYE website, not the Barnes and Noble site. These "tripe, brainless, overblown pieces of garbage" are actually intelligent, compelling books that have a great deal of interest and cause you to think a different way than you usually have thought. Obviously, you were not mature or intelligent enough to grasp or enjoy the challenge of the complex ideas presented. I expect The Lost Symbol to be an excellent, fascinating read.

    46 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Reading now at the airport and (so far) easily meeting expectations...

    As soon as you start reading this book it hardly seems possible that it has been 6 years since The Da Vinci Code... So far it has been truly impossible to stop reading. To use a well worn cliché - a real (electronic) page turner! Downloaded it to my Blackberry and started reading it immediately in the departure lounge. Two people asked what I'm reading and are feverishly trying to get their copy downloaded before we take off. Then we'll have 8hrs and 20 minutes of (hopefully) uninterrupted time enjoy it.
    I hope we don't have to wait another 6 years for the next one.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great escape!

    I chose this book to read on vacation, beginning with an 11 hour flight schedule. It was engaging, fun, and not only kept my interest, it kept me awake! It also offered me incentive to get right back to reading whenever an opportunity presented itself. Some of the historical sections regarding Freemasonry were a bit tedious but far from being boring, and, in fact, prompted me to find out as much as possible about that organization to determine the accuracy and validity of Brown's narration.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Conflicts

    Angels and Demons was about the war between science and religion. The Da Vinci Code was about Christianity versus the feminine. Those were amazing topics to discuss, and based on his other two books, Deception Point and Digital Fortress, I am 100% positive that this book will encourage people to not believe everything that they're told and to seek out the truth for themselves, which seems to be the most general theme in all of his books, while teaching historic lessons or portraying certain aspects of the American government. I can't wait to see what epic historical conflicts Dan Brown is going to show us in his new book, and all the things I will learn and be able to talk about with my friends and family. My only disappointment is that I have to wait until September to enjoy another piece of his literature.

    12 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    Good Show Mr. Brown!!!

    I am a voracious reader averaging two books a week; and not small, sleek volumes, mind you! My tastes run in the genre of non-fiction mostly, though I have read a few of the classic novelists; Dickens, Hardy etc. And, I must say there was a time when I was quite smitten with the Rowling woman and her bewitching characters. However, as I stated, I am more interested in history and social sciences and therefore, non-fiction.

    However, I must tip my hat to Mr. Brown, which, by the way, I have not read at all, for his ability to drive the adult reading public to such frenzy as to require a 5 million copy printing of his third novel. Any author that can generate that much interest in a generally lethargic reading public certainly has much to be proud of and is certainly someone to whom I might soon shift my gaze for escapist literature. Good show, chap!

    6 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    At Last...

    My introduction to Dan Brown was The Da Vinci Code, afterwhich I backtracked to read his previous novels. Deception Point, Digital Fortress and Angels and Demons. All superb reads. Unlike the book, the film version of The Da Vinci Code was a let down. I hope they do a better job withn Angels and Demons. Because of Mr. Brown's imaginative writing, I'm sure The Lost Symbol will live up to all our expectations...

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm not sure Dan Brown can write another book, that will affect me as deeply.

    It took me entirely too long to read this book. 500 pages was tough, I lost my patience half way through. But the last 200 pages, were SO worth it. The book intimidated me, as it supposedly had a large effect on my marriage. However, the theories it presents, the science it discusses only reinforces Christianity, supports the truth within the Bible, and so much more. There is no way I can pay enough credit to the passages I have underlined in the book. But I'm super excited to discuss with the book club!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Lost Symbol Have Something To Do With The Secret And Exclusive Society Of Cincinnati?

    I read Devil's Verse last month which links the Society of Cincinnati to the overthrow of the Vatican in 1798, the XYZ affair, and the setting up of a New World Government. The Society's first president was George Washington. Everyone is speculating that Lost Symbol has to due with Secret American Societies. Maybe it's the Society Of Cincinnati!

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So Excited

    Dan Brown was the first author that I actually chose to buy a book from and read, meaning, that my first purchase of Dan Brown was completely not necessary for school or anything. That first book was his classic "Angels and Demons" and it also became the first book that got me into reading in general. Since then Ive read the infamous Da Vinci Code, Deception Point, and Digital Fortress. All were similar but all very interesting/ entertaining. With the success of his movie at the box office and book sales I was starting to fear that he wasnt gonna write another novel. Suffice to say Im super excited to hear he has another book penned and awaiting my library. The best part? It follows his character Robert Langdon who is basically the Indiana Jones of literature. Im sure this book will be amazing and I can't wait.

    4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    U GOTTA GET IT I KNOW THAT I DID

    WARNING: 1CE U START U CANT STOP!!!!

    I found it impossible 2 to put down but hey thats my opinion.
    Langdon really knows his stuff & gets his job done

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great book written by a man.

    Dan Brown is an amazing person. I know he wasn't the original person to think of the Da Vinci conspiracy, but he made knowledge of it fun to read. I LOVE his books.

    I gave this a "1 star" for gift-giving, because everyone should already have a copy. If you don't then you don't deserve to read it. I don't even know why I'm writing this review. Everyone should have already read it.

    I gave it "4 stars" for the cover, because that probably could have been better. Like, if they showed the pyramid from the $1 bill rampaging through the streets of DC and eating people and blasting them with its eye like a lazer beam. I could do it. It's an interpretation of how government conspiracies have torn this nation apart.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I must disagree...

    I have read a few negative reviews and the book has yet to hit the shelves!!! If this were the latest Harry Potter book I'm sure the negative reviewers would be cast to Hades (not by myself though). I must disagree with the complaints towards B&N. People are excited for this book and they have every right/reason to be. It has been far too long since readers have been able to indulge in the writings of Dan Brown. I for one am one of the MANY who look forward to it. So ease up and save the negativity until you pick the thing up and read it. Until then, enjoy being excited for a book almost six years in the making!!!

    3 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    The best yet from Dan Brown

    In my opinion this was better than the DiVinci Code. More of a cliff hanger and harder to figure out what was going to happen next.
    GREAT

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Lost Symbol

    The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown is wonderful, for some reason, I didn't read the Da Vinci Code yet, so I'll catch up to that, but this book is awesome. It's adventurous, my favorite subject!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    People, it's FICTION! Just enjoy it!

    Harry Potter is criticized for promoting witchcraft, Twilight is criticized for glorifying vampires, Dan Brown for taking real world icons/art/symbols and forming a conspiracy thriller. These are works of FICTION, meant to be an escape for enjoyment and giving us opportunity to think out of the box. I often wonder if the literature classes we have in HS and College are doing us a little bit of disservice by teaching us to analyze and take apart literary works to find the inner meanings and symbolisms to the extent that we can no longer just pick up a book and read it for the enjoyment of the story. Don't get me wrong, I loved all my lit classes and getting into the depths of a story, but not every story is meant to be read deeply, some are just a nice escape. Read it, enjoy it for the make believe story it is...and then think about the possibility of a secret society or vampires in our midst, or a parallel world of witches and wizards, just because we are grown ups, doesn't mean we can't dream

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    Excellent Read!

    It took me 2 1/2 days to read it as I read every word written. No skimming for me! Some readers have found parts of the book to be more of a lecture. I found those lectures gave me more insight and provoked a lot more thinking on symbolism and ancient rituals. Things that are written in this book are possible... more likely probable! Absolutely fascinating with several shocking twists! Am planning a trip to DC in the near future and will be viewing tourist spots with a little more knowledge... and awe!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    I was hooked and I couldn't put it down.

    I got this book the day it came out and finished it the same day. I thought the story was really good, though there are a few similarities with some of his other works like the villians history, but that is for everyone else to find out. All in all, I was hooked, and loved it, and just lent it to my friend who had turned me into a Dan Brown fan.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    So far so good...

    As of 21:41 CST, I'm finishing chapter 17 (of 133 plus epilogue), for reasons unbeknownst, I was able to buy one in my home city in Mexico (cash register ticket marks 18;17), Why? I'm clueless.
    Full Dan Brown, to the brim... Beyond gripping, I can anticipate reading late tonight; into the wee hours of tomorrow...

    Tomorrow I shall have a whole viewof the book, will try to come back with more...

    Beloved Brethren,', Thou shallt fear nothing...

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Imagination

    One of the best things about reading is being able to use your imagination as you read the story, picturing the characters, the scenes and what's happening. Fiction, and Dan Brown's books are fiction, have great stories, plots, characters. I've read all the books, seen both the DaVinci Code and Angels and Demons, and loved all of them. Is it real? Is it true? Does it matter. Everyone has their own opinions and perspectives - which is what makes it even better. I can't wait to read this one, and any others that follow.

    2 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    It is about time!!!!!!!!!!

    I really don't care all that much about early reviews. To be completely honest, the marketers have to say that it is not as good because Da Vinci Code cast such a tantamount shadow on all literary fiction in the last decade or so that do say anything else could potentially leave some readers "lost in the sauce" and build expectations only to let some down later!

    I am happy that we will finally have another book from Dan Brown.

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2589 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 130