Customer Reviews for

The Lost Symbol: Special Illustrated Edition

Average Rating 4
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(233)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good book!

A great Dan Brown book that has you twisting and turning as they have to figure the puzzle out!

I will admit, at one point, I thought I was going to scream - I just couldn't believe what I was reading, and I was ready to pick up the phone, call Dan Brown and ask him...
A great Dan Brown book that has you twisting and turning as they have to figure the puzzle out!

I will admit, at one point, I thought I was going to scream - I just couldn't believe what I was reading, and I was ready to pick up the phone, call Dan Brown and ask him what in the world was he thinking when he put that into the book (and no, I won't tell you what it was in case you haven't yet read it and would like to!)

It was at that point, I could not put the book down and I HAD to finish to see where it was all heading because my head was spinning.

Anyway, another great book by Brown .. if you liked the others, you'll like this one for sure!

posted by Brandie185 on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Lost Symbol - Illustrated Edition for Nook Color

For the most part, a pretty solid page turner about a wild Sunday evening in Washington, D.C. involving kidnappings, murders, and a hunt for, quite literally, buried treasure that will grant its discoverer great and transcendent power. Along the way, there is a lot of t...
For the most part, a pretty solid page turner about a wild Sunday evening in Washington, D.C. involving kidnappings, murders, and a hunt for, quite literally, buried treasure that will grant its discoverer great and transcendent power. Along the way, there is a lot of trivia about Washington art and architecture as well as a healthy (and very selective) dose of Masonic history. Unfortunately, it all falters badly in the final 75 pages or so, which turn an old fashioned cliffhanger style thriller into a big drag with little pay off. Should you be new to this book and you have a Nook Color, the illustrations go quite a ways in enhancing the enjoyment of the book. The illustrations are, for the most part, well chosen and non-intrusive with regards to the text. (The formatting for the Nook for PC version is something of a disaster, however.) If you find you just must read this book, this is the edition to read, and the current price, $3.99, is certainly right.

posted by 4537680 on December 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    The Lost Symbol - Illustrated Edition for Nook Color

    For the most part, a pretty solid page turner about a wild Sunday evening in Washington, D.C. involving kidnappings, murders, and a hunt for, quite literally, buried treasure that will grant its discoverer great and transcendent power. Along the way, there is a lot of trivia about Washington art and architecture as well as a healthy (and very selective) dose of Masonic history. Unfortunately, it all falters badly in the final 75 pages or so, which turn an old fashioned cliffhanger style thriller into a big drag with little pay off. Should you be new to this book and you have a Nook Color, the illustrations go quite a ways in enhancing the enjoyment of the book. The illustrations are, for the most part, well chosen and non-intrusive with regards to the text. (The formatting for the Nook for PC version is something of a disaster, however.) If you find you just must read this book, this is the edition to read, and the current price, $3.99, is certainly right.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Fine, but not DaVinci

    Robert Langdon, of the Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons fame, is back in The Lost Symbol.
    While THe Lost Symbol is fine and enjoyable, it simply doesn't reach up to the bar set by the previous 2 books in the series. The puzzles reach a little farther, the twists and turns are less surprising and more deja-vu.

    That said, it's still a good book... but f you've read the first 2 Robert Langdon books, don't expect the level of intrigue and awesomeness we've become used to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Recommend

    The photos incorporated within the text was great, definitely added to the storyline. However I felt the story bogged down just a little at the end, that is why I only gave it 3 ***

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    recommended.

    really exciting. a little complicated but really good reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Good, but not great

    This is another Dan Brown Thriller, but it is too much of a knock off of his earlier works. It is interesting and enlightening to read about all the symbology in Washington DC. It follows the formula that made Angels & Demons and the Divinci Code successful - in fact it follws the formula so closely that it reads like a cheap knockoff. In other words, it feels forced, like a desperate attempt at another #1 best seller. The story is not BAD, but it isn't great like his previous books.

    Would I recommend it to a friend? Yes, with a caveat to set their expectatins low so they are not disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Why does this ebook keeping going up???

    I downloaded the sample and this book was $5.99...a few days later it was $7.99....when I went to buy today $9.99. Why such an increase in a week? Decided not to purchase even though I really enjoyed the sample.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Moo

    &infinity &infinite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Greek letters

    &Alpha&alpha&Beta&beta&Gamma&gamma&Delta&delta&Epsilon&epsilon&Zeta&zeta&Eta&eta&Theta&theta&Iota&iota&Kappa&kappa&Lambda&lambda&Mu&mu&Nu&nu&Xi&xi&Omicron&omicron&Pi&pi&Rho&rho&Sigma&sigma&Upsilon&upsilon&Phi&phi&Chi&chi&Psi&psi&Omega&omega These are all of the Greek letters. No more. No less. Ask for me, Tianna, at 'symbols' res 3 if you want to learn any of these symbols or some others (not all, I know some, not all, and know of no frowny face yet)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Symbols

    &#1051 &#1052

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Not as good as MR. Brown's other books.

    Not as good as MR. Brown's other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Good story line but too much "filler".

    I liked the story but after repeating the same description or theory for the third or fourth time it gets a little boring. I found myself skimming quite a bit in the last third of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This books was ok but not good...

    I liked the book overall because it was mostly entertaining. What I did not like was that there was a ton of repetitive chapters that were really not needed. The chapters where Malakh was concerned, were very repetitve and I had a hard time believing that the characters would really do what they wound up doing. (I don't want to give anything away.) Although the book was thoroughly wound with history and art and full of illustrations (I loved this part of the book), the plot needed more work. It seemed like the author wasn't sure he was convinced that his own characters should wind up the way they did. It was as if he did not have faith in them. Not every story should have a happy ending and this was one where it would be better if it had ended with grim circumstances. It was not nearly as fast paced and spellbinding as "The Da Vinci Code" but good enough to sell to the masses.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4