Customer Reviews for

The Lost Wife

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This is a great historical thriller that focuses on the long term cost of WWII on the innocent

In 1934 in Prague Lenka Maizel and medical student Josef Kohn fall in love. They marry as the German troops enter Prague. He pleads with her to leave the country but she refuses as she needs to be with her family. Josef manages to get to New York while his wife and i...
In 1934 in Prague Lenka Maizel and medical student Josef Kohn fall in love. They marry as the German troops enter Prague. He pleads with her to leave the country but she refuses as she needs to be with her family. Josef manages to get to New York while his wife and in-laws are sent to the Terezin concentration camp.

In 1947 Josef the obstetrician meets Amalia from Vienna at the public library. Like him she is a war refugee who lost her family to the Nazis. Believing he is a widow they marry. However, Lenka survived the Nazis by thinking of her Josef waiting for her every day. After being freed by the allies, Lenka married twice and had one child. Thirty eight years of marriage ends for Josef when Amalia died but he knows his love lives for a ghost who died decades earlier. Several years later, Josef's grandson is marrying another war refugee Lanie's granddaughter.

This is a great historical thriller that focuses on the long term cost of WWII on the innocent. The story line rotates perspective over six decades between Lenka and Josef. The changes of life brought on by Nazis is harrowing as Jews lived in a wonderful Prague Spring only to either escape to America or sent to the camps. Alyson Richman makes a strong case that even Hitler cannot kill true love.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Lost Wife is the fourth novel by American author, Alyson Ric

The Lost Wife is the fourth novel by American author, Alyson Richman. In the year 2000 in New York City, Josef Kohn and Lanie Gottlieb meet: they are attending the rehearsal of the wedding of their grandson and granddaughter. The old man feels the woman looks familiar, ...
The Lost Wife is the fourth novel by American author, Alyson Richman. In the year 2000 in New York City, Josef Kohn and Lanie Gottlieb meet: they are attending the rehearsal of the wedding of their grandson and granddaughter. The old man feels the woman looks familiar, and soon discovers why. He realises she is Lenka Maizel, the woman he married in Prague, more than sixty years earlier. Richman tantalises the reader with the meeting of a long lost couple, then fills her novel with the story of their separate lives. The account of how Josef and Lenka meet is pure romance. What happens after they are separated becomes a Holocaust story. The scant two-page epilogue might be a disappointment to readers who want more of the present-day interaction between the main characters. Richman explores love, family loyalty, the choices we make in life, loss, grief, heartbreak, resilience under duress, hope and despair. She gives the reader some wonderfully evocative prose: “He took the record from its sheath and placed the needle down. And the room filled with a rain of notes” and “He played more beautifully than I had ever heard him play. The music resonating like a heart torn wide open, each note released onto golden wings” are just two examples. Richman’s extensive research into the Holocaust aspect and Terezin (and of this there is quite a lot in the novel) is apparent. A thought-provoking and moving read. 

posted by cloggiedownunder on April 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Worthwhile read

    About first love and enduring memory in the face of unimaginable circumstances. Deeply felt, beautifully written,this talented author is one to watch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK! I could not put this book down, held my intere

    LOVED THIS BOOK!
    I could not put this book down, held my interest all the way to the end. This has got to be one of the best love stories I've read in a long time. I will read this authors other books ASAP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is a beautiful love story that began in pre-World War II Europe. It is a very compelling book. Great book club selection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    worth to read

    Very interesting and catching story. Good writing style.
    I hardly could put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Astralgod

    I guess your mommy doesn't love me anymore.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Great book!

    As a granddaughter of holocaust survivors I believe that as a novel is great to read and the author tries to recreate the holocaust experience, although there is a lot more details to dig inn to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    A Definite Read

    An absolutely beautifully writtern love story that captured the feelings of young people in love - with each other and also their family - and their separation due to the war. The author captured each of the characters lives during this hard time and what each had to endure, whether it be surviving the concentration camps, or surviving in America. The Lost Wife was superbly written, and brought actual people to life in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Great Book

    Good story, great writing style. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    I loved this book! It was a heart wrenching story. A true testa

    I loved this book! It was a heart wrenching story. A true testament to true love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    Emotional book!

    I was drawn into this novel from the beginning ... A love story and marriage interrupted by the dark days of the Holocaust. The book goes into vivid accounts of Jewish families placed in Terezin where the living conditions are unbearable. It only gets worse when families are moved to Auschwitz, where the gas chambers and crematoriums burned seven days a week. This book is heart-wrenching, but a book everyone should read to understand the tragic events that occurred during this very bleak time in history. It's not a book you'll soon forget. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    The Lost Wife

    I haven't given 5 stars for a very long time, and i'm an avid reader of many genres. I couldn't put this down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Couldnt stop thinking about these characters!

    I loved this book so much that I set my alarm so I could read it in the morning after staying up late reading it at night.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Incredible

    This was an incredible book! Defintely a tear jerker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Simply Wonderful

    Profound

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Excellent!

    This was a beautifully written book and I enjoyed it from the beginning until the end! I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Good story

    Enjoyable love story entwined with the horror of the concentration camps of WW II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    I really enjoyed the love story in this book. But I found that t

    I really enjoyed the love story in this book. But I found that the story just got more and more depressing as it went on. It just is really disturbing what happened in those camps. I almost did not finish reading it. I was hoping the end would be happier but it just wasnt. I was depressed for like 3 days after I read this book. Don't get me wrong, the book was extremely well written because it definitely stirred up my emotions. It's just that I dont enjoy feeling sad like that throughout the entire book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    lost wife

    A beautiful story. One of hope love and survival. Great read wish longer. I didnt want story to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    I loved this book!

    I was so sad when it ended, I wanted more, more! Yet I understood why the writer ended it where she did, still I re-read it immeadiately to see if there was anything I had missed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Beautiful love story. I was so caught up in this story about tw

    Beautiful love story. I was so caught up in this story about two young lovers who because they are Jewish are separated during World War II. The husband goes to America and the wife stays with her family who ends up in a concentration camp. They both think that neither one has survived the war. Your heart breaks for both of them and their lost love. The story begins with an interesting twist and ends making you think that despite the evil that is in the world there can still be happiness. The historical parts of the concentration camp and the evilness of nazism are eye opening. We must never forget the evil of Hitler and the prejudice that happened during that time period. Wonderful story and well written. An excellent book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7