Customer Reviews for

The Lost World

Average Rating 4.5
( 336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A thrilling adventure

Ever hear that annoying phrase "the book is way better than the movie"? Prepare yourself because that is exactly what I'm going to say here. The book is absolutely amazing. Events unfold that weren't featured in the film and the story is alternate from what was in the f...
Ever hear that annoying phrase "the book is way better than the movie"? Prepare yourself because that is exactly what I'm going to say here. The book is absolutely amazing. Events unfold that weren't featured in the film and the story is alternate from what was in the film. I eagerly wait for Jurassic Park (the first novel) to release on the Nookbook list. Oh and "the book is way better than the movie". ;)

posted by Crimson_Sparrow on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Lost World good for an interesting read bad if your looking for the movie.

I thought that this wasn't to bad a book, however, I didn't find it as good as Jurassic Park. Though as usual I enjoyed M.C.'S imagination and how he brings it to life but I felt that the overall story and how it plays out was a little slow and not very entertaining. Th...
I thought that this wasn't to bad a book, however, I didn't find it as good as Jurassic Park. Though as usual I enjoyed M.C.'S imagination and how he brings it to life but I felt that the overall story and how it plays out was a little slow and not very entertaining. The movie had a lot more suspense and kept you going. This book was not suspenseful, and in the bits that it was it wasn't for very long. Jurassic Park I thought was really good but if you are expecting a follow up of that book then you don't want to start this book till you get that out of your mind.

posted by RaManni3 on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    A thrilling adventure

    Ever hear that annoying phrase "the book is way better than the movie"? Prepare yourself because that is exactly what I'm going to say here. The book is absolutely amazing. Events unfold that weren't featured in the film and the story is alternate from what was in the film. I eagerly wait for Jurassic Park (the first novel) to release on the Nookbook list. Oh and "the book is way better than the movie". ;)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Thisbook is amazing! And im only on page 84!

    This book has more good things than bad about it. It is a lot like the first in meny ways the bad things about this book is that it has a lot of inipropreat laguage in it and takes a long time to pick up. The pros about this book are that there are new and old carictars in this one and it looks like they are more redy than they will ever be to go to the island. I highly recomend this book to readers that like sify thrillerdrillers.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved it!!!!!!!!!

    i read the book before i got my nook and it was a library book now i reallllyy want to buy it and re read it i really liked the book and how it showed the t-rexes as good parents and that really touched me

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Lost World good for an interesting read bad if your looking for the movie.

    I thought that this wasn't to bad a book, however, I didn't find it as good as Jurassic Park. Though as usual I enjoyed M.C.'S imagination and how he brings it to life but I felt that the overall story and how it plays out was a little slow and not very entertaining. The movie had a lot more suspense and kept you going. This book was not suspenseful, and in the bits that it was it wasn't for very long. Jurassic Park I thought was really good but if you are expecting a follow up of that book then you don't want to start this book till you get that out of your mind.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    Not Worth The Money!

    What a disappointing read! This book is nothing like Jurassic Park. For instance, the main characters from the previous book such as Dr. Grant, Ellie Sattler, and the two children are not present in this novel. They are only briefly mentioned. Ian Malcolm who died in the ending of Jurassic Park was apparently raised from the dead because he was the main character of this novel. His character, however, has been changed to a bitter old man who gives meaningless diatribes on evolution instead of allowing us to see the dinosaurs and the park. Ninety percent of the book was dedicated to his ranting while the rest of the book occasionally allowed you to see a dinosaur, if you were lucky. The new characters that were presented in this book were unlikable and boring. I couldn¿t have cared less if they had all been eaten by dinosaurs. The intriguing and fast paced danger that characterized the first book was absent during this read. Only occasionally did a terrifying scene arise and even when it did I disliked the characters so much that I could hardly care what happened to them. The ending was meaningless and dull, like the rest of the book. I had to force myself to finish. It was more effective than a sleeping pill. If you enjoyed Jurassic Park, don¿t read this book!

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2000

    Movie Script

    Extremely disappointing. Obviously written to be a follow-up movie to Jurassic Park. Spends forever describing action scenes - just imagine how boring a script of an action movie with shallow storyline would be to read and you'll understand what this book is about.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Amazing

    Michael Chricghton's only sequal. I bet it is amazing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Second book?

    Can someone please tell me if this ia the second book that comes after Jurassic Park.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Great!

    This book was a great quick read but was able to explain things thoroughly. The Lost World movie totally raped the book though so if you are a big fan of the second movie, you may not like this book. Its so sad that hollywood took a great book and changed it so that barely anything resembled the book except for an island overrun by dinos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Dull and repetitive

    No depth of characters, dull kid characters, too many silly trex and raptor scenes, lame villain, poor dialogue, obviously crichton was just out for a payday

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Loved it

    I think almost better than Jurassic Park!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Best book

    Best book i ever read : )

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Bet Best book ever

    This book is filled with action adventure and mystories

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Ok

    More of the same kind of slow in some parts not one of his better works first one still numberone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Soooooooooo amazing

    This is seriously one of my favorite books! I actually read this last summer. I read the first one back in 2007 and thought it was absolutely amazing and I did not want to finish The Lost World, but after reading it, I like it better than Jurassic Park!!! It is soooooooo good. Seriously.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    AMAZING GREAT SEQUAL

    I saw the movie first and fell in love with the idea of dinosaurs walking again. I finally learned there was a book first and bought them both. I would highly recommend reading the books first if you haven't seen the movie. The first movie followed the book pretty good because Michael Crichton did the screenplay. The second movie however, seems like a totally different thing from the book. The book is much better and compelling. When the T-rex escaped through San Diego, that was interesting, but added drama for the movie. It never happened in the book. It is compelling and you will not want to put it down.


    I recommend any other Michael Crichton novels, movies, or television shows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I had to read Jurassic Park for an assignment in my Biology class. I really didn't enjoy, but I wanted to know what happened in the sequel. I read the sequel and I was very satisfied. It is thrilling, gruesome at points, suspenseful, and at several points humorous. Great Read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    Jurrasic Park Continued

    This novel is the sequel to the best selling novel 'Jurrasic Park'. Michael Crichton has made a living writing these suspensful and exciting novels that talk about science and the dangers involved with it. The novel started off slow but it was well worth it because of the suspense. The novel is just as good and just fast as the first but its on a whole new island. The novel is a fast raed and it is really interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    It is SO worth the money!

    I was just looking over the reviews and saw one entitled 'Not Worth The Money!' I'd like to point out that this is untrue. The Lost World is an excellent sequel to Jurassic Park, especially because the two kids in it play a VERY important role(must...not...give...spoilers...). Arby really should have been in the movie, some of his scenes were awesome(*coughcagescenehack*) and would've really made the second movie exciting, not that it wasn't already. They also should have added the real bad guys(Dodgson and lackeys) along with Dr. Levine and Dr. Thorne. In the book, Sarah Harding is way more hardcore than in the movie. This is a GREAT read. If you're not sure about it, check it out of a library first to read, like I did. Well, I hope you enjoy TLW as much as I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    ,

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17