BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lost World

Average Rating 4.5
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A thrilling adventure

Ever hear that annoying phrase "the book is way better than the movie"? Prepare yourself because that is exactly what I'm going to say here. The book is absolutely amazing. Events unfold that weren't featured in the film and the story is alternate from what was in the f...
Ever hear that annoying phrase "the book is way better than the movie"? Prepare yourself because that is exactly what I'm going to say here. The book is absolutely amazing. Events unfold that weren't featured in the film and the story is alternate from what was in the film. I eagerly wait for Jurassic Park (the first novel) to release on the Nookbook list. Oh and "the book is way better than the movie". ;)

posted by Crimson_Sparrow on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Lost World good for an interesting read bad if your looking for the movie.

I thought that this wasn't to bad a book, however, I didn't find it as good as Jurassic Park. Though as usual I enjoyed M.C.'S imagination and how he brings it to life but I felt that the overall story and how it plays out was a little slow and not very entertaining. Th...
I thought that this wasn't to bad a book, however, I didn't find it as good as Jurassic Park. Though as usual I enjoyed M.C.'S imagination and how he brings it to life but I felt that the overall story and how it plays out was a little slow and not very entertaining. The movie had a lot more suspense and kept you going. This book was not suspenseful, and in the bits that it was it wasn't for very long. Jurassic Park I thought was really good but if you are expecting a follow up of that book then you don't want to start this book till you get that out of your mind.

posted by RaManni3 on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Wait

    This is not the lost world book i read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    I saw a question on carnataurs

    I have not yet read the book but I know that carnataurs were smaller than allosaurs. Here are the sizes: allosaurus 40-45 feet long and carnataurus 30-35 feet long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    highly recommended

    This is great story. It not like the movie, but there are some parts that where used in the movie. This is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    4 stars

    4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    ,

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    One of my favorites!

    One of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Almost as good as the first one

    Almost. I just didnt like how the carnosaurs were so small cause in real life carnotorausus are much bigger about allosaurus size and scince when do carnosaurs have chameleon powers?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Holy cow! Best two books EVER!

    Carnosaur scene is amazingly awesomely epic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    better than the film

    What a great story with awesome characters. Go dr. Malcom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    BOOOOOOOOOOBOOOOOBOOOOO

    My brotheris going crazy about jurassic park because we are going to uneversal in may:0!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Help

    How many pages is it?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Fact :)

    I would say to readit because it is just as suspensful as the othe book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    What hellllppp

    I have been reading the reviews abd have seen good reviews and bad reviews who should i listen to good or bad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Dont mess with a trex

    In the book Dodgson really shouldn't have tried to take the mother and father's eggs i thougt it was the worest idea ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Hope (prolouge)

    It was the middle of the night and Silentwind is lost. He looks to the sky, sioently asking Starclan for help. He wasn't called Silent for nothing. The Dark Forest was taking away his purity. He inhaled the dark scent of evil and edged his way towards towards the exit when two cats jumped on him. Without second thought, Silentwind pushed the cats off his back and ran. 'Stupid patrols,' he thought as the attackers gave chase. He ran, dodging trees and jumping over logs, his prusuers gaining quickly. "Heat, block the intruder from the front!" one of the cats yowled. Gulping Silentwind ducked into a bush only to climb out of it. The one addressed as Heat tured sharply to the lft and charged at Silentwind. He ran faster but it was worthless. Heat turned Silentwind over and pinned him to the ground. "Fang, what do you want me to do with this /intuder?/" Fang walked slowly to Silentwind. "Our number are few. He could join." Heat pressed Silentwind closer to the ground. "Ya hear that?" Heat demanded, "We'll spare you. One-time offer." "I would rather die than become scum like you!" Silentwind spat. He pushed Hea off of him dashed to a bush. He then pulled a posienberry from it and ate it. "An unlikly hero will become legend and destroy the dark!" Silentwind cried out. Then he collasped. Heat and Fang left him there. And so, the story of hope begins.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Better than JP

    Crichton digs deep in his only sequel. The storytelling and themes here are much more developed than in the original. He even delves into the epistemological wth questions aout the limits of the scientific method and what can be known. My personal favorite of his novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    question

    Are there any of the same people from the first one, or is it completly a differant storry line?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Not as high stakes...

    The Lost World is slightly more predictable, but just as funas Jurassic Park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Rawr

    Best book ever just like the first one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Great

    This is a fantastic read, i love all of Michael Crichtons book but this one especially is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18