BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lost in Shangri-La: A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II

Average Rating 4
( 405 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic and Fascinating Read!

I received an ARC of this book and thought that the summary sounded intriguing. A group of soldiers and WAC's take a scenic plane tour of New Guinea's Hidden Valley, but the plane crashes leaving 3 survivors. They then realize they are not alone in the valley when they ...
I received an ARC of this book and thought that the summary sounded intriguing. A group of soldiers and WAC's take a scenic plane tour of New Guinea's Hidden Valley, but the plane crashes leaving 3 survivors. They then realize they are not alone in the valley when they meet Stone Age tribesmen who have never before seen white people. The story is crafted from journal entries, photographs, and interviews with the author as we follow the heroic rescue of the survivors and the harrowing details of their survival in a new world. I thought the book was fantastic and very interesting. To think all of this really happened and I'd never heard of the story before, it's one of those secret treasures you never know existed. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good non-fiction read.

posted by AKinderman on April 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I expected more of an exiting tale of headhunters and drama, but instead this read more like a documentary about life on an island during WWII. Although historically interesting, it really didn't have the drama I was expecting with friendly natives, not savage headhunt...
I expected more of an exiting tale of headhunters and drama, but instead this read more like a documentary about life on an island during WWII. Although historically interesting, it really didn't have the drama I was expecting with friendly natives, not savage headhunters as anticipated for this area. I should have passed on this one, not a cliff hanger by any stretch.

posted by EHSFLY on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 406 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Masterfully Told

    An excellent book recounting the rescue of American servicemen and women in a secluded New Guinea valley towards the end of the Second World War. Contact with stone age tribesmen only adds to this amazing true story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Mixed feelings on this

    From the description when I ordered it, I was looking for it to be very exciting and heart-wrenching. I'm not one for reading non-fiction books. This one grabbed my interest from the beginning until I'd reached the point of no return. I had to see it through to the conclusion, but the excitement was lacking. One thing I really enjoyed was seeing the photos of actual people from the story; that's probably how I got through the entire book. Did it make me want to find other non-fiction books in regard to the same era? No.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    The details of the events, and the people involved bring this no

    The details of the events, and the people involved bring this non-fiction story to life.  Well written, with insight into the people who were involved in the horrible plane crash in a remote part of the world over sixty years ago, and those who took part in the rescue attempts.  A true story of tragedy, heroism, survival, and triumph against tremendous odds.  Mr. Zuckoff brings it back to life, and you find new friends in those he writes about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    N

    Too many plot spoilers ruins the book. Get rid of plot spoilers.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    I so wanted to like this book but it was a huge let-down for me.

    I so wanted to like this book but it was a huge let-down for me. I was expecting a thrilling survivors-against-the-natives tale. And it wasn't. There were no life or death struggles; the natives were more intrigued by the Americans than hostile toward them; the survivors were located fairly quickly and had regular drops of food and supplies. The most complicated obstacle was figuring out how to get them out of the valley.
    Maybe it's because I had just read "Unbroken" and it set the bar too high for this book. They are no where in the same league. I would describe "Lost in Shangri-La" as 'war story lite". VERY lite.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Excellant read!

    Almost reads as "non-fiction". An excellent written story of survival during WWII.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Recommend reading.

    A good read. Interesting facts about WWII.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    very good but a bit slow

    I love reading about true events, that is what attracted me to this book. It seems a bit slow but a good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Interesting survival story and rescue, definitely worth reading.

    Don't know that I would claim it is the most incredible rescue story of World War II, I think Ghost Soldiers by Hampton Sides takes that honor. Nevertheless, an interesting and untold tale of WWII survivors of a plane crash involving very real people who we get to know through this well researched book. A historical page turner and how many times do you find that. Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Entertaining

    Maybe a wee bit slow at times but still a very interesting story and was well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    REALLY!!!!

    This book sucks!!!!!!!

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    interesting history

    A little slow, but interesting historical story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Great Story

    Well researched, well written. Wonderful story of heroism, courage and the American Spirit!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Just OK

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    There has been so much written about the plot in this book that

    There has been so much written about the plot in this book that I won't write anything more about it.

    t is a fun, true, feel good book.   It reads like an action novel but the events in the book are true.

    However, the people whom I found the most interesting were the people of New Guinea  and I would have to learned more
     how they saw the events and how it affected them afterwards.  These are people who have lived in a prehistoric world before 1945.

      I would have also liked to learn more about the Filipino-American battalion and what became of them.

    I suspect the survivors of the crash were more traumatized by the events they they would like to admit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Martina walks in

    Hey alex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Alex

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Excellent

    This book is a very well written historical narrative. I read it in two days; I just could not put it down. The wonderful photographs added to the story-telling.
    Other reviews complained about the lack of action on some parts of the book, maybe they have yet to understand that war, like much of real life is punctuated with times of hurry up and wait.
    A superb read; I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall it was a pretty good book. It was very informative, but

    Overall it was a pretty good book. It was very informative, but pacing seemed a little off. Maybe it was just the fact that the author wanted to cover all those present on the plane. Maybe it was the fact that I started this in the middle of another book (when I accidentally left that at home), then put this aside until I finished the first. I also thought it didn't depict survivor Margaret Hastings in a very good light vis-a-vis her attempted amorous relationships with the paratroopers and her feelings about her missed date with Wally. It was nice hearing about the native perspective, and I wish there had been more of that. I feel somewhat sad over their culture being so changed by the invading Dutch and then Indonesians. It's too bad the Filipino paratroopers never got to give their views on the operation. I was expecting more, but it was still a good story. There are lots of photos and a few maps which make it much easier to visualize the people and the scenes. The 11 minute movie made by Alexander Cann can be seen online under the title 'Rescue in Shangri La'.

    The eBook was formatted well with no noticeable spelling/grammar mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Great book

    Great book of survival and the will to nevergive up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 406 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21