BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lost in the Forest

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Willowbreeze

    Slept in her den.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Long build up

    Seems like it took forever to get to the climax of the story. It was okay,not one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No consequences for the pedophile

    I am deeply disappointed that the 50 + year-old man (friend of the family-very typical) gets away with seducing a teenage girl who is very "lost" at this point in her life. The author's style of writing is easy to follow and does make the reader contemplate some life issues and some American cultural issues. I have read other books by this writer and I do think she is very good at describing contemporary society, but I also like accountability. This story left me with a bad/sad feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    This book is dark and depressing

    The book was easy to read, although the author's writing style was sometimes difficult to follow. There were a lot of broken sentences. The characters were developed well, but no one was ever happy. The characters experienced: tragic death, divorce, child abuse, complete sadness and therapy sessions. It was not a book to make you feel good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    Me and Daisy

    Daisy and I are complete opposites. Complete opposite lives, complete opposite personalities. I'm not extremely quiet, withdrawn; I have never cut piano lessons much less taken them; I never lied to my mother or went on a sexual journey with a man three times my age. Why, then, do I feel this vibe of similarity? It's the absent father. But, having an absent father has never fazed me like it did Daisy. It did more than faze her, actually. However, as I conclude, I daresay that I envy Daisy; I envy Daisy's father for my father; I envy that in the end, she got to know him, and he got to know her. Mark realized that Daisy needed him and he needed her. (Something my father failed to recognize). They both were wounded in some deep way, and they needed one another in order to heal. Even if there was still a scar left behind.

    Sue Miller's Lost in the Forest shows the importance of BOTH parents in the lives of their children. And, though this was not my type of book, I still give her props for it; it was well written and realistic. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    a career gal in correction's

    Iwas very disappointed in the book. A Middle aged man having an affair w// a minor. He should have been sentenced to prison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Disappointing

    I read Sue Miller years ago (While I Was Gone and The Good Mother). I must have liked her style to read multiple books, but after reading this one, I doubt I will read others. Other reviewers have gone into plot details. (I'll just note that the character who was seduced was 15, not 14, as if that makes a difference.) I thought that Miller's descriptions were 'gratuitous' if you will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    Am Adult Version of Little Red Riding Hood?

    If you have read some of Sue Miller's earlier works, such as the Good Mother and While I Was Gone, you may find this book a disappointment. If you are a fan of Sue Miller, you will probably want to read it anyway. It is an easy read, and Sue Miller mesmerizes with her reflective, dreamy writing style. The plot sets in motion, after the main character's second husband is killed by a car. Most of story is the build up for what is about to happen to Daisy, the main characters 14 year old daughter. Grieving for her stepfather, she gets sucked into a sexual affair with a 50 some year old man. This is the climax of the story, and everything quickly winds down after a few titillating pages of her sexual coming of age. I was halfway through the book, lost in Sue Miller's dreamy writing style, before I realized, there would be no closure about what happened to the stepfather who was killed? We don't know, if he was killed by a hit and run driver? There is no discussion of a court case, regarding who might have hit him, and there is no mention of any police involvement. All this is glossed over. I felt that overall the story was rather weak and predictable. Eva the main character witnessed the violent death of her husband as did their three year old son. There is very little reference to the trauma that someone would experience as a result of witnessing such a terrible death of a loved one. I was also disappointed that there weren't any vibriant discriptions of the Northern California area, where the book is to take place. She writes a lot about it raining a lot there, which doesn't sound right. While she manages to wrap everything up at the end, the last chapter is very far removed from the story. You meet the characters many years later, and it is hard to related to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    SO SO

    I felt the book was an easy read, as others have said, but I was disappointed by many things one of which is where is the anger when it's found out that the 14 year old is having an affair with her mother's friend who is 50 -- anyway, not easy for me to recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    Scenes from real life

    This mesh of characters and various lifestyles is interesting and well done. Each point of view is a bit limited, but you can taste of feelings of each person involved, not too much just the right amount of exposure to experiences all of us have had and have viewed in others. Excellent read for someone wanting to be taken away from their life and surroundings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1