Customer Reviews for

Lost in the River of Grass

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Read this book

    I think this book was very well writen. I liked it very much. I hope you enjoy this book as much as me:)

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Really good book, its a must-read!!!

    This book was amazing! Through out the whole book, I ciuld picture everything that happened. It has everything that anyone would want in a story; action, romance, suspense, comedy, and more! The author did a great job in writing this, I would love to see a sequel to this, where Sarah and Andy meet again. The begining of the story kind of dragged, and it was boring, that was aboutthe first 40 pages or so. But the rest of the book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time XD I would definitly reccomend this to a friend and or family member. If you are reading this, get this book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Grw E Great read!

    Very enlightening with regard to the Everglades and nature's creatures while being an exciting and heart pumping adventure.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Great book

    This book is full of adventure it is a good book for 5th grade and every one else

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Lost in the river of grass

    This book is really good!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Brilliant!

    This book truly surprised me. I honestly thought I'd be up late at night jumping whenever I heard a strange sound while reading. (It's all Ginny's fault for saying "I hope you like snakes" before I read it . . .) Luckily enough for my heart (and nerves) this wasn't the case. Ginny Rorby must have magic fingertips that float across her keyboard for her to show us such a beautiful, stunning, and intriguing story. Really, there is no other explanation. Want proof? Read Lost in the River Grass. This is a story of survival after the two main characters, Sarah and Andy, are left stranded in the middle of the Everglades with ten miles separating them from civilization. This may not seem like a lot, but when all you see is marshes, alligators, snakes, and muddy water, you might reconsider.

    One of my favorite things about this novel was the way Ginny focused less on the useless details and more on the important (and interesting) parts. You see, Sarah is an outsider at her school where her mother works in the cafeteria. She's stranded on a field trip with a bunch of girls that loathe her just because she isn't rich, and the only thing she's able to look forward to is an airboat ride that Andy offers her. When the airboat sinks due to Andy's mistake of forgetting to put the plug in, everything in Sarah's life-school, the mean girls there, the fact that she's black with a southerner whose father sports the confederate flag-disappears to be replaced with the primal instinct to survive. What would one do to save their life? In this situation, you'd either rise to the occasion or sink below waters to be swallowed whole by a 'gator hole. (Or by a 'gator . . . or snake . . . ekkkk!)

    This is a powerful story that shows a young girl rising above it all, with no knowledge of how to live in the Everglades, and stepping out alive. Though Andy shows little to no fear and helps guide Sarah, it's Sarah that actually becomes the brave one, facing truly magnificent-and deadly-scenarios in nature. At first with spine-chilling fear, and later with awe and amazement. When all the odds are against her, Sarah pushes through her uncomfortable boundaries to be the victor. I truly applaud Ginny for providing us with this brilliant novel. (Queue the clapping!)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Kitkat101

    Me and my sis read this it was so good i loved it!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Boook

    I read it to its a must read i read it in one day i couldnt put it down!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Wobbie

    I loved it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Omg

    Best book i have ever read in my life i am really freaked out know and bit sad when sarah hit and killed the ... by accident ( dont wanna be a spoiler) :^) totally reccomend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Adventure

    Publisher: Carolrhoda Books
    Pages: 255
    Source: Received a review copy from NetGalley
    Genre: YA, Realistic Fiction, Adventure

    From Amazon:
    I don't realize I'm crying until he glances at me. For a moment, I see the look of anguish in his eyes, and then he blinks it away and slips off into the water. I immediately think of the gator. It's still down there somewhere. . . ."
    A science-class field trip to the Everglades is supposed to be fun, but Sarah's new at Glades Academy, and her fellow freshmen aren't exactly making her feel welcome. When an opportunity for an unauthorized side trip on an airboat presents itself, it seems like a perfect escape--an afternoon without feeling like a sore thumb. But one simple oversight turns a joyride into a race for survival across the river of grass. Sarah will have to count on her instincts--and a guy she barely knows--if they have any hope of making it back alive.

    My Review:
    Ginny Rorby has crafted a story that will catch the attention of the most reluctant reader and hold them until the end. When a student feels out of place by her classmates while on a field trip, she makes a decision that could have devastating consequences. Upon entering the Everglades with her class, her immediate thoughts are how desolate and ugly it is. Her science teacher's hope is that his students will come to love the Everglades as much as he does. As Sarah and her new friend Andy do their best to survive and walk out of the Everglades Sarah discovers a beauty that she had not seen before.

    This story resonated with me so much. Since I live about two and a half hours north of the Everglades I have had the opportunity to visit many times. My first trip through, I was terrifying. I thought only of the alligators that filled the canals on each side of the highway. I wanted only to take an airboat ride because it looked like fun. I actually took two rides on that trip. The first was a fast paced jaunt through the saw grass. We went so fast I couldn't focus on anything. My next ride was with a group who really cared about teaching people about the Everglades. We would go a few feet and he would point out birds and flowers. I saw such a raw beauty. I've walked through some of the swamp. Now before you think I have totally lost it let me say that I am not sure I would survive on my own if lost in the Everglades. There are so many dangers. This book was spot on when it came to pointing out the various dangers. The research was very accurate when it came to survival tips as well. This is one book I think every school in Florida should have on their shelves. My reasons go beyond the lessons to be learned about the Everglades. The story has an underlying theme about fitting in and being different. I think it is something every child could identify with. I will proudly promote this to my students this next year.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly fantastic!

    This can't really happen, this can't really happen, there's no way! This can't.... This is what I found myself muttering over and over in my mind, as I read Lost in the River of Grass. It seemed impossible, what these characters went through. I was even compiling a list at the back of my mind of things I would Google to verify if they were possible. I mean, things like what I read in this book can't possibly happen! As it turns out, though, they can; and it didn't take Google to convince me of that.

    In the book, the reader is taken along as Sarah and Andy work together to survive the Everglades...and believe me: this is about survival! We get to be there as they encounter gators, snakes, wild boars, and are put in many dangerous circumstances. We get to watch as they help each other grow and adapt; an element of the story I think Rorby did remarkably well. I even enjoyed Andy's character, though I initially saw him as a bit of a jerk. In the end I was grateful for that, because he acted like a normal 15-year-old boy. I praise Rorby for not writing a character who was 15, going on 25 (thank you!).

    I don't remember the point where I stopped caring if a survival tactic was viable or not, or whether an animal would really react the way the author portrays. I lost all sense of disbelief in this crash-course to the everglades, somewhere between swimming the gator holes and seeing the wild boars. Rorby's writing has an element of truth to it that made everything in this book seem personal, somehow. Reading it was like sitting at grandma's knee, listening to her tell a true story from her past...only this one involves saw grass and swamp trekking. Rorby definitely showed her survival know-how, and earned trust in my eyes. And the fact that reading about it all brought out every phobic tendency I've ever had, made no difference. I was enthralled.

    Admittedly, I almost didn't give this book a second chance after putting it down after the first few chapters. It began a little choppy, and I wasn't very attached to the characters. But when I did pick it up again, I was pleasantly surprised by what I found, and ended up finishing it in one sitting. I think I found it hard to read in the beginning because Lost in the River of Grass isn't filled with long, flowing prose. Neither does it use huge words, or attempt to captivate with an out-of-this-world love story. Truth-be-told, it doesn't flaunt many things besides the character's reactions to the dangerous environment around them. But it's that very environment, and their reactions to it, that will suck you in, glue your hand to this book, and make you simultaneously cringe, while speeding up your reading to discover what is next.

    I highly suggest Lost in the River of Grass!

    Disclaimer: I was provided with a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Awesome

    It was a cool book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Ok, so this book was given to me by a school teacher as a requir

    Ok, so this book was given to me by a school teacher as a requirement to read for a grade. And i admit i HATE reading, but after i read this book i actually LOVED IT
    !!!!!!!!!!! I even told my grandmother to read it and she said it must be a good book because i couldn't tare  myself from it!! Thanks for such an amazing book!!!!!!!!!11

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

    This one of the most single books that i have read in less than a day and remembre every page of it!(and i'm a super slow reader). Get this book dont even think about it get it! I love it for the fact that the charaters are around my age. But that is not the only reson its a to epic to be aswome kinda book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Great Book

    This is a very great read couldnt put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Really good

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Couldnt get any better!(:

    This book is great. Its like ba?an. Its a hero! - j.f

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Great book

    I'm 11 and i read it so fast I could not put it down its thriller 10 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I think it is funny and sad at the same time but my favorate charictor is teapot beacuase he is just soooo cute!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2