Customer Reviews for

Lost on a Mountain in Maine

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    Adventure

    I liked this book because I have always been fascinated how people can live off the land and stay alive. I have always wanted to do that some day. A boy named Donn gets lost when he splits from his group going down the mountain. He only drinks some water from a stream and eats some berries for nine days. I think someone who likes adventure books would like this book because Donn gets lost and finds his way out .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    A Kits Tale?

    Are you posting another chapter?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    The Lost on a Mountain in Maine by Donn Fendler, is a fascinatin

    The Lost on a Mountain in Maine by Donn Fendler, is a fascinating story.  The way the author describes the adventure Donn has been through is interesting.  Another thing I liked was the pictures that shows the aftermath of being alone in the woods for almost two weeks.  One dislike I had about the story was it was not long enough to really get into the book.  I would encourage readers who like adventure and exciting books.  Although, the book does have spots where it gets wordy and becomes boring for the reader, overall it’s a good book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    exciting true story

    In this true story, Donn Fendler is a twelve-year-old boy in 1939. He is on an expedition to climb Mt. Katahdin, at 5268 feet the highest peak in the state of Maine, with his father, brothers Tom and Ryan, and guide Henry Condon. Henry and Donn run ahead and meet another climber, Charles Austin, minister with the Church of All Nations in New York City, NY. Donn gets cold and decides to find his own way back to camp rather than wait for the rest. Henry cautions him against doing so and remains with Mr. Austin, but Donn leaves anyway. Unfortunately, a thick, fast-moving fog obscures the path. Donn falls down an embankment that hides him from sight. Then he takes a wrong turn that leaves him alone to wander aimlessly for nine days in the empty mountain wilderness. Will he make it to his camp or be found by the others?
    This book is Donn's own description of his struggles to survive after being separated from his companions, as told to Joseph B. Egan. For years I saw it advertised in the Christian Book Distributors catalogue and finally decided to purchase it to read as a family read aloud. With no food and no shelter, Donn survives by remembering his Boy Scout skills and by drawing on his faith in himself, his family, and God. His shoes and then his feet were cut to shreds on the rough stone outcroppings. He was tormented by insects, encountered a bear, and tumbled in an icy river. His "dungarees" were impossible to walk in, once wet, and he lost them. He suffered from cold, hunger, loneliness, and hallucinations. Toward the end of his ordeal Donn followed telephone wires and a stream, hoping that both would eventually lead him to what civilization there was in the great woods of Maine.
    Donn's harrowing story, as told to Joseph Burke Egan, who was an author and I think a journalist, apparently was first published later in 1939 and has been a beloved family and school classic in Maine since that time. Through the years, Fendler himself visited schools and libraries to share his experiences, and generations of Maine children have learned lessons about courage, faith, and will from Lost on a Mountain in Maine. I especially like the way in which Donn emphasizes the fact that he put his trust in God and said his prayers daily for God's protection and deliverance. In 2008, Donn's story wes retold with illustrations by Ben Bishop for a graphic novel entitled Lost Trail: Nine Days Alone in the Wilderness, published by Down East Books. I guess that this all right for a generation that doesn't want to read words, except for a few in a cartoon bubble every now and then, bur prefers just to look at pictures. However, we really enjoyed the original and thought it quite exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    lost in the mountain in maine and it was a good story.

    donn fendler got tired of waiting for his father and brother so he decided to find his own way back to camp. He gets lost in the mountain for two weeks with no food and water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    good book

    Donn and his camp group is camping in the woods. They follow the Hunt Trail, but Donn got lost. Now he is lost in the woods with no food or water He makes me feel bad because he has no food or water and has live on his own really. I like the part when he found the blanket in a cabin. I was confused with how he was able to survive for the first day and why he did eat the trout. Yes this book makes you want to read more and find out what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    really net

    i absoultie loved your book it just touched my heart and soul

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1