BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lottery

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Just as Perry could not add enough zeros on a line, I cannot add enough stars for this book! I loved it from the start and still can't stop thinking about it. I read it quickly also, and couldn't wait to get to the end. Yet, I wish it would've continued, so I could keep on reading about Perry and his (mis)adventures in winning the lottery. It is a great story and so true-to-life. As I wrote the author (and it is something I have only done once before), I told her how Perry reminded me of a family friend. The story could be about him and that's why I felt it was so real. I loved the definitions and how Perry described his world. I loved how he was devoted to Gram, to his job, to Keith and Gary and then to Cherry. Perry was a winner, with or without his lottery winnings. I laughed, cried, and read it out loud to my family at parts that I just could not keep to myself. I now passed it on to my mom and dad. Thanks, Patricia, for a wonderful book. Can't wait for your next one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Makes you think.

    Well written. As you go through life, you can well imagine what others may be facing and how they might handle a situation differently.

    Definitely shows a another side of life. Makes a person far more kind and considerate.

    Loved this book and highly recommend to friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Lottery

    This book is so special so heart warming it is the story of a young man who is slow in his thinking, with so much honesty and love in his heart. His whole family is so full of greed and not honest at all and cruel. His grandmother raised him and gave him many wonderful gifts to how life really is and how people can not be trusted. He wins the lottery and you can read how everyone wants his money and how everyone looks at him differently, just because of his winnings, but he teaches them all a lesson.His honesty and naive ways win over everything it is a wonderful book of life, I hope Patricia Wood writes another book soon I really enjoyed this book so very much I had such a good feeling when I finished reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Great Read!

    Wonderful insightful treatment of people who have many challenges. Uplifting treatment of lots of difficult topics. Recommend this especially for teachers and others who deal with people who are so-called "mentally challenged or developmentally delayed". Author has great insights and the plot was well constructed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    A sensitive story of friendship and steadfastness

    The author's training and vocation certainly shows in her character portrayals. It's obvious she knows from where she speaks.
    Perry, the protagonist is a wonderful character, and it was interesting to me to see how his mind worked - his reasoning.
    This is a good-hearted book, though that doesn't mean there aren't some "villains."
    I enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Anon.

    A great escape in to the lives of people worth knowing. Well worth the time. It's a rollercoaster of emotional peaks and valleys with a smooth end. I'm greedy now. I want more. Same characters and all. Please??!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    A story that stays in your heart

    Only three books have made me cry, this is one of them. Patricia Wood's an amazing writer, I look forward to her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What a likable and unforgetable character!

    Lottery is about Perry L. Crandall, a thirty-two year old with an IQ of 76. His feisty but wise grandmother, better known as Gram, always told him that the 'L' in his name stood for Lucky. Gram taught Perry important life-lessons about whom he could trust and those he shouldn't and couldn't trust, and those he should listen to and those he shouldn't. She also taught him the importance of learning words and their meanings and to write everything down because writing helped him to remember.

    At the unexpected passing of Gram, his 'long-absent' mother, brothers and their wives, took advantage of Perry's naiveté and IQ and cheated him out of his rightful inheritance of everything Gram had owned. While they took everything of value, Perry only received five hundred dollars from the sale of Gram's house. He heard Gram's cautious voice in his head, "Be careful, Perry." His best friend, Keith, found him an apartment to rent above Holstead's Marine Supply where he and Keith both worked.

    Perry, found out that what his Gram has told him was true, the 'L' did stand for lucky--he won the Washington State Lottery of twelve million dollars. His relatives did about everything they could to trick and weasel Perry out of his lottery winnings. Just about anyone who heard about Perry winning the lottery, from near or far, had their sob story and hand out. Does Perry lose his millions to his relatives? What does he do with his money? You'll have to read it to find out!

    I was taken with Perry's wisdom, compassion, and loyalty. Lottery is full of charm and humor. It is a love story; it is uplifting and endearing. It is a must read!

    Patricia Wood, I'm waiting for your next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    A great story

    This book had surprisingly well defined characters as seen through the eyes of the main character, Perry. It was easy to care about Perry, his buddy Keith and his grandmother as well as dislike his cousin-brothers and mother. The story of a "slow" person winning the lottery and how he was treated before and after he won, was original and stayed with you long after reading the book. This was a very enjoyable story and a great book to pass along to a friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    READ THIS BOOK!!!

    a letter to the author - best book I've read in a long time. Can't miss this one! Hi Patricia, Please add me to your email list, and please accept a huge thank you from me for your book! I just finished Lottery last night 'read it all in one sitting ¿ couldn¿t put it down!' and was so amazed at how you created the characters so vividly that they just seemed like they could walk off the page. Please, please, please keep writing ¿ I can¿t WAIT for your next book. Thank you for your amazing talent ¿ I love that there are people out there like you sharing your words with the world. I¿d actually love to see a sequel so we can find out more about Perry and Cherry ¿ what a truly heart-lifting and heart-breaking story you wove. Even though it¿s fiction, it gives me hope for this crazy mixed up world we live in. You broke it down to the simplest message of all: if we can stay connected with our family and friends we can make it through anything. And we can make ¿family¿ out of anyone 'something I keep very close to my heart and my life'. Thanks again, from a fan for life who is looking forward to many more books from you ¿ and know that I¿ll be telling all of my friends about your book 'we are a tight-knit group of voracious readers who love to find new and talented authors like you'. All the best, and thank you again - what a lucky find for me!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2007

    Heartwarming, thought-provoking, hilarious

    An absolute gem. The characters jump off the page and the story rivets from Perry's humble beginning to his surprising and triumphant end. This one is all-quality--Tuesdays with Morrie by way of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime. Deserves to be a huge bestseller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    This book is a must read, charactors are fun and believable, you'll laugh love and cry then love again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Absolutely wonderful!!!

    I loved this book! It's one of the best I've ever read. Patricia Woods is an excellent writer and on my list of favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    yxwc,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book

    Quick read with a great story line and lovable characters. You will run through every emotion and walk away feeling good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book

    For any readers out there whose lives are touched by special needs people, and who are tired of all of the pity that is bestowed by the general public upon anyone with unique circumstances to deal with in life, this is a truly marvelous book. The main charecter describes himself as 'slow', and the grandmother who raises him does an incredible job teaching him to NEVER feel sorry for himself, and never feel bad about not being as 'fast' as other people. The author also did a great job in depicting all of the ways that people in general treat you differently if they think of you as 'retarded'. I LOVE this book. It's about a bright man who is very lucky and knows it-what a refreshing change from the standard literary viewpoint of "poor so and so's mentally challenged, isn't that SAD ?" Nope, not at all, and this author really gets that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MOVIE MATERIAL ! ! !

    WHAT A WONDERFUL BOOK, filled with colorful characters and unusual situations, all set in place by an innocent individual who against all odds is motivated by simple love, respect, and a unique understanding of what truly matters in life. The story is filled with lessons to ponder long after the book is completed. It is both educational and an eye-opener to a world most of us do not understand, nor appreciate. All the time I enjoyed reading this story, I kept visualizing it as a fantastic, family-friendly and educational movie with lessons from which we could all benefit. It reminded me so much of "The Rainman" and the recently released "Blindside." I hope someone out there is searching for winning movie material. HERE IT IS!! Excellent job, Patricia Wood!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    I finished reading Lottery 2 months ago. I keep the book on my nightstand so I can be reminded of the warm, cozy feeling while reading it. The characters were so well developed, I felt I was part of their family. Many dysfunctional characters made the book quite funny at times and then very sad on some points.
    Definitely enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Did not want it to end

    Heartwarming story with well developed characters. Can't wait to read her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Loved it!

    I loved this book so much I recommended it for our book group. Truly, everyone should read how this wise man felt about everyday life. He is truly remarkable and really makes you think about "not sweating the small stuff". Would like to buy this book for everyone who has ever wanted to simplify their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4