Customer Reviews for

The Lottery: And Other Stories

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Lottery-perhaps the best short story ever written

I've read the Lottery many times, a few dozen at least. I enjoy it each and every time and if you haven't read Shirley Jackson, you haven't read horror.

posted by RexTheTex on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Read it in school

It is not as scary as you may excpect.

posted by 6654086 on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    The Lottery-perhaps the best short story ever written

    I've read the Lottery many times, a few dozen at least. I enjoy it each and every time and if you haven't read Shirley Jackson, you haven't read horror.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    College Student

    I am 38 and I do remember this novel from college and the impact was so great that my son who is in high school has read and written a school paper on this. This novel opens your mind to the unthinkable and unimagianable. Brillant.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Macabre

    The Lottery is a disturbing but very gripping short story. I recommend everyone read this at least once.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Best anthology of short stories ever!

    The lottery is a masterpiece. Best short story I have ever read! Jackson has an amazing use of symbolism, and her stories are full of suspense. You will not want to put this book down. After reading the Lottery, you may begin to question some of the traditions in your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2000

    Excellent

    I absolutely loved this book. The stories here are about things that occur in our everyday lives with a twist of eerieness added to them. Like being trapped in the Twilight Zone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Great book

    I read the lottery in class and had to write an essay on it. While this story is twisted and demented I really loved it. Though i feel quite bad for the not so lucky winner Tesse Hutchison... Poor girl :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Grace

    I think this was a good book i like how they add the twist
    The part i like waswhen she gotstond to death

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Email me @ desioodesioo1@gmail.com

    I love this book cuz im in 7th grade and this is wat we r learning about and iwasnt there to read it now i go on my nook and guess wat .... i found it!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding book.

    Outstanding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Awesome

    'The Lottery' is obviously the standout story in this collection, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't read the whole book. It is wonderful. Shirley Jackson is a brilliant writer, taking us into the minds of characters in seemingly normal situations. I have never read a more compelling collection of short stories by a single author. My favorite stories, besides 'The Lottery,' are: 'The Tooth', 'The Renegade', 'Of Course', and 'Charles.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    Shirley at her best!

    I've only read the Lottery and I must say that the twist in the end is fantastic. What you think is a nice, town oriented lottery with money and prizes takes a turn in the end and everything turns twisted and almost terrifying to endure. This is Shirley Jackson at her best. This macabre tale of a surburban town and their annual lottery is sure to chill you to the bone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1