Customer Reviews for

Lottery Rose

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Tears that can't be wiped away.

    Words are hard to describe how this book touched my life. It only gets better when it is reread.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Have tissues handy!

    A real tear jerker that pulls on your heart strings. Perfect for a rainy day. I had doubts, but now I love the book. Georgie will capture your heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Good for reading aloud to children

    My class read this together and we loved it. My friend stole the book from my teacher she loved it so much. I would highly go read it. I want to read it again. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    Very Affecting Story

    I love this book~ It teaches you about life and how not all people have it as good as others. I was so happy once Georgie was moved I was glued to the story. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    The Lottery Rose...

    The lottery rose is a book about an abused boy named Georgie and he is basically trying to find happiness and love, something he hasn't been getting since his mom has an abusive boyfriend that turned their family upside down. Georgie really loves flowers. There is this one day that Georgie goes to the store and he wins this rosebush.Georgie goes home that day and he doesn't really like. Georgie gets placed in a foster care home and he spots a garden he would love to plant his rosebush but he can't. Now Georgie is demanding to plant his rosebush in the garden he spotted and he is learning to make friends and how to forgive and open his heart so that people can love him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    The Lottery Rose

    The Lottery Rose is a fun heartfelt book that you won't want to put down. It will teach you how many things are take for granite. It also shows you how something simple can change a person's life forever .

    The story takes place in Tampa Florida, where seven year old Georgie Burgess is beaten starved by his mother and he mean boyfriend Steve. After winning a small rose bush from a grocery store lottery Georgie gives it all the love and attention he has never had. After going to court Georgie is taken away from his mother and sent to a home just for boys. While there Georgie makes two friends, Timothy and Robin. The three friends played together all the time until one day something tragic happened.

    This book is well written and easy to follow. It's a great book for all children twelve and older. Trust me I know if I liked it you will.

    I am very glad to have read this book. It is the best book that I have ever read.

    I really enjoyed this book. It kept me wanting to read more. Irene Hunt is a very good author. I know that I will read this again. I feel that just about anyone who reads The Lottery Rose will read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    A Heart-Warming Book

    The book The Lottery Rose, by Irene Hunt is a must-read for every single middle school student. The Lottery Rose is vividly described in exquisite detail, demonstrating the everyday hardships of an abused little boy. This deeply moving book will make you count your blessings and appreciate all that your parents do for you. Irene Hunt does a fantastic job proving a point that some kid somewhere has it worse that you. The Lottery Rose itself has just the right amount of suspense and heart-warming scenes. This detailed plot at times will make you never want to put this book down. The main character in this novel is Georgie Burgess. He lives with his mom in Tampa, Florida in an old apartment. He is a bit of a delinquent and he does poorly in school. He believes his teacher, Miss Cressman, hates him because no one at home has taught him how to read. Georgie is actually highly intelligent and full of potential but he just hasn't had the resources to realize it yet. Georgie is abused and constantly neglected by his mother. Steve, his mother's boyfriend does most of the brutal beating, while his mother, on the other hand usually just neglects him. Georgie only has one thing that he really and truly cares about: flowers, especially roses. He loves to flip through picture books filled with colorful paintings of gardens and flowers. He is given a lottery ticket one day while at the grocery store and he wins. The prize is a rosebush and Georgia is thrilled! When he gets home, however he is viciously beaten up by Steve and loses consciousness. The police come and he is eventually sent to a home for boy, run by several Catholic nuns. There, he begins to find love and support and the perfect home for his rosebush. This book was clearly well written and paints a clear picture of how Georgie sees the world. I felt, personally, that the book maybe had a little too many details at times, which occasionally got boring. I also felt very drawn to this novel because I enjoy reading about stuff that actually happens in the real world. The plot was full of vivid details but about every other chapter, however, was actually exciting. The Lottery Rose ends with some major surprises. I felt like the last couple chapters had the most drama and heart-to-heart action. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who likes books that make you tear up at times. About every other chapter made me want to keep reading and there were some suspenseful moments. I overall was very satisfied with the book all together. My overall review on this book is pretty much positive. I give The Lottery Rose four out of five stars. If you are looking for a great book filled with love and lots of emotions than this is the perfect book for you. This novel at times, you will not be able to put down and you will want to finish the whole book in one night. Irene Hunt, left me overall satisfied with the book, but also left me hanging with the surprise ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    A Review for You

    The lottery rose is a book about a seven year old boy that is abused by his mother and her boyfriend. Trough all his trial he has to learn to hide and handle his hurt. In the beginning Georgie is constantly getting in trouble. He is in second grade for the second time and has the same teacher. All the teachers hate Georgie except for the librarian. She teaches him how to love by showing him flowers. After a hard beating Georgie almost dies and the police then move him to a nun school and he has to hide his beating s and life s history. From then on it is a twisted journey through this young child's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    Wow, this book is really cool!!

    "The Lottery Rose"

    If you're looking for a book filled with adventure, life lessons, amazing characters with extraordinary personalities, and a touching sob story, then the amazing realistic fiction story, I have the perfect book for you. It's called "The Lottery Rose", written by Irene Hunt.
    The Lottery Rose is about a boy named Georgie, the main character, who is abused by his mother and her boyfriend. Because of his parent's extreme behavior, Georgie's life at school is affected as well. He is mean and he has no friends. The teachers don't like Georgie, especially because he can't read. Although the teachers hate him, the librarian is fond of Georgie. She always lends him a book about flowers. Since he can't read, the book had to be a picture book. Georgie loves flowers because they bring him a sense of peace in his miserable life. His whole life changes when one day, he wins a rose bush in the local grocery store's lottery.
    One day Georgie is taken away, and he meets Mrs. Harper. He first notices her because of her colorful garden across the street. One night he decided to plant his rose bush their, but Mrs. Harper yelled and threatened to burn it. She doesn't want people to be in her garden because she used to share it with her husband, who died in a car accident a few years ago along with her son Paul.
    Georgie also meets Mrs. Harper's living son, Robin. Robin is mentally retarded and can't read, speak, or walk very well, even though he is old enough to. Georgie befriends Robin because he understands him. Georgie also reminded Robin of his dead brother Paul. Because of this, Robin enjoys spending time with Georgie. His favorite thing to do is feed the ducks by the lake, and he loves it when Georgie takes him.
    The story first starts out in Tampa, Florida, a state for fun in the sun. That wasn't the case for Georgie, he hated it there. He wasn't comfortable at his small apartment or at his school. Once they taken him away though, he finds safety and comfort. He's taken to a school, owned and ran by nuns. The building was run down, but he liked it there. He spent a lot of his time visiting his rose bush across the street in Mrs. Harper's bright garden.
    Irene hunt explains in this touching story, that everyone deserves to be loved. It shows you that some people may have lives worse than you can imagine and that it's important to be kind towards everyone, no matter how they react. The Lottery Rose is about being strong and standing through pain. It's about learning to receive love, and give it. Through so much sadness, it's always important to keep people close. It showed me that some of those mean and rude people out there are just like that because there might be nobody to love them. I learned that everyone deserves to be treated with kindness.
    The first good thing that happens to Georgie in the story is that he participates in the local grocery store lottery and wins a rose bush. He then spends all day running around the city trying to find the perfect place to plant his prize. When it begins to get dark outside and a storm comes in, Georgie returns home. That was the night his mother and step dad were caught abusing him. At first, he stayed with the neighbors for a few weeks. Although they liked him, they didn't have the money to take care of him.
    They held a court case and sent him off to the nun's school where he learned what it meant to be loved and have friends.
    I think this is an excellent book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    The Lottery Rose

    My favorite chapter in the book is chapter nine. I liked chapter nine, because Georgie Burgess is trying to help Robin talk, because Robin can not, and everyone thinks he will never be able to talk. Georgie does not want to give up, because people said Georgie would never be able to read, but Georgie learned to read, and he is really good at it.

    One thing the author did throught the book that I really liked, was to let you know why Georgie was feeling and acting the way he was.

    The only thing I did not like about how the author told the story, is sometimes he used sayings or words that we really don't use today.

    Overall I really liked the book, because it was a story about a boy and his friends.

    I think this book is good for the age group of fourteen through sixteen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    LOVE this book!!

    I've read this book so many times I've lost count, but every time I read it, I discover something I hadn't noticed before. I would highly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    I swear I almost cried!

    I've read the Lottery Rose for the library progam at my school. I'm now in the middle of reading it for the second time. In the middle, there wasn't a whole lot of exciting action, but still, I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Lottery Rose

    i thought that the lottery rose was a great book. it was riviting with a lot of feeling in it, it made me cry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    okay, but not the best

    the book started good but got slow by the middle, truthfully i didnt really like it! i thought there was no point but to tell a pointless story about a boy and how sad his life was. and the only reason i read it was because i had to, for school. And to tell the truth i wouldnt recomend it! thats all.. just tell my opinion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    IT WAS PRETTY GOOD

    THIS BOOK WOULD BE PERFECT IF ONLY THEY TOLD WHAT HAPPENED IN THE END. THIS IS LIKE WATCHING A MOOVIE AND NEVER SEEING THE ENDING. I HAVE A HYPOTHESIS OF WHAT MAY HAPPEN IN THE END BUT I WANTED TO BE ASSURED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    The Lottery Rose is a story to remember

    The Lottery Rose was an excellent book. This book was so great because the author did a really good job on the characters and having them well-rounded. The best part in this book has to be when Georgie wins a rose bush at the lottery. However this book has few parts that were hard to get through because they are very sad. Like when Georgie gets beaten up by his mother's boyfriend. I recomend this book to those who are in for a good cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    This book was quite ok.

    This book was a little on the slow side. It did not have that much going on. It was more about showing the psycology side of things,then the actual physical, and in your face action. It showed the mental decay that takes place when someone is mistreated their entire life. Lots of disturbing and maddening things happen in the cours of this book. The author showed the beaten-down's point of view really well. I liked hearing Georgie's thoughts about things, and his warped sense of attachment. However, The Lottery Rose felt like it was building up to a climax that unfortunately, I do not feel that it met. If you enjoy books about mental thoughts more than books about actual happenings, I would recommend this to you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Sad, but good.

    This book was pretty good, not the best I've read, but good. There were some heartbreaking parts in it. The thing I didn't like about the book was that I guessed the ending, so it was predictable. The part I thought was the best was when Georgie won the contest, and the part I thought was the worst was when Georgie was scared of Steve. I would recommend this book because it shows you what some other people in the world go threw and what they feel like. Over all, it was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    This is an okay book, if you like tear-jerkers then you will enjoy this book.

    I thought this book was okay, it wasnt my favorite book. The beggining of the book was good but the middle, I thought dragged on. The end was also pretty good. The best part of the book was when Georgie ends up going to this school and he gets help for what has happened to him. The worst/saddest part of the book was the end. I would only recommend this book to those who like stories where someone is being abused and then gets help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    This is a sad book.

    I liked this book because it was very realistic and sad. The best parts of the book was the beginning and the end because it shows how sad his life is and how you want to just be there to help him. The book got a little slow in the middle and sort of dragged on and it also seemed like the book didn't really have a reason but besides that it was good. I would recomend that you read this book if you like sad stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4