Customer Reviews for

The Lottery Rose

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Good for reading aloud to children

    My class read this together and we loved it. My friend stole the book from my teacher she loved it so much. I would highly go read it. I want to read it again. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    Very Affecting Story

    I love this book~ It teaches you about life and how not all people have it as good as others. I was so happy once Georgie was moved I was glued to the story. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    A Heart-Warming Book

    The book The Lottery Rose, by Irene Hunt is a must-read for every single middle school student. The Lottery Rose is vividly described in exquisite detail, demonstrating the everyday hardships of an abused little boy. This deeply moving book will make you count your blessings and appreciate all that your parents do for you. Irene Hunt does a fantastic job proving a point that some kid somewhere has it worse that you. The Lottery Rose itself has just the right amount of suspense and heart-warming scenes. This detailed plot at times will make you never want to put this book down. The main character in this novel is Georgie Burgess. He lives with his mom in Tampa, Florida in an old apartment. He is a bit of a delinquent and he does poorly in school. He believes his teacher, Miss Cressman, hates him because no one at home has taught him how to read. Georgie is actually highly intelligent and full of potential but he just hasn't had the resources to realize it yet. Georgie is abused and constantly neglected by his mother. Steve, his mother's boyfriend does most of the brutal beating, while his mother, on the other hand usually just neglects him. Georgie only has one thing that he really and truly cares about: flowers, especially roses. He loves to flip through picture books filled with colorful paintings of gardens and flowers. He is given a lottery ticket one day while at the grocery store and he wins. The prize is a rosebush and Georgia is thrilled! When he gets home, however he is viciously beaten up by Steve and loses consciousness. The police come and he is eventually sent to a home for boy, run by several Catholic nuns. There, he begins to find love and support and the perfect home for his rosebush. This book was clearly well written and paints a clear picture of how Georgie sees the world. I felt, personally, that the book maybe had a little too many details at times, which occasionally got boring. I also felt very drawn to this novel because I enjoy reading about stuff that actually happens in the real world. The plot was full of vivid details but about every other chapter, however, was actually exciting. The Lottery Rose ends with some major surprises. I felt like the last couple chapters had the most drama and heart-to-heart action. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who likes books that make you tear up at times. About every other chapter made me want to keep reading and there were some suspenseful moments. I overall was very satisfied with the book all together. My overall review on this book is pretty much positive. I give The Lottery Rose four out of five stars. If you are looking for a great book filled with love and lots of emotions than this is the perfect book for you. This novel at times, you will not be able to put down and you will want to finish the whole book in one night. Irene Hunt, left me overall satisfied with the book, but also left me hanging with the surprise ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    The Lottery Rose

    My favorite chapter in the book is chapter nine. I liked chapter nine, because Georgie Burgess is trying to help Robin talk, because Robin can not, and everyone thinks he will never be able to talk. Georgie does not want to give up, because people said Georgie would never be able to read, but Georgie learned to read, and he is really good at it.

    One thing the author did throught the book that I really liked, was to let you know why Georgie was feeling and acting the way he was.

    The only thing I did not like about how the author told the story, is sometimes he used sayings or words that we really don't use today.

    Overall I really liked the book, because it was a story about a boy and his friends.

    I think this book is good for the age group of fourteen through sixteen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    I swear I almost cried!

    I've read the Lottery Rose for the library progam at my school. I'm now in the middle of reading it for the second time. In the middle, there wasn't a whole lot of exciting action, but still, I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Lottery Rose

    i thought that the lottery rose was a great book. it was riviting with a lot of feeling in it, it made me cry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    IT WAS PRETTY GOOD

    THIS BOOK WOULD BE PERFECT IF ONLY THEY TOLD WHAT HAPPENED IN THE END. THIS IS LIKE WATCHING A MOOVIE AND NEVER SEEING THE ENDING. I HAVE A HYPOTHESIS OF WHAT MAY HAPPEN IN THE END BUT I WANTED TO BE ASSURED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    The Lottery Rose is a story to remember

    The Lottery Rose was an excellent book. This book was so great because the author did a really good job on the characters and having them well-rounded. The best part in this book has to be when Georgie wins a rose bush at the lottery. However this book has few parts that were hard to get through because they are very sad. Like when Georgie gets beaten up by his mother's boyfriend. I recomend this book to those who are in for a good cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Sad, but good.

    This book was pretty good, not the best I've read, but good. There were some heartbreaking parts in it. The thing I didn't like about the book was that I guessed the ending, so it was predictable. The part I thought was the best was when Georgie won the contest, and the part I thought was the worst was when Georgie was scared of Steve. I would recommend this book because it shows you what some other people in the world go threw and what they feel like. Over all, it was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    READ THIS BOOK!

    I loved Lottery Rose. This book is very inspirational. Also it is very true, the things that happen to Georgie in this book, happens to a lot of children and people. My favorite part in this book is when Mrs. Harper put on the Mad Hatter Tea Party play. You will be shocked at the end of the book. Read this book, it is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    This is a great book!

    I loved the book the 'Lottery Rose'. It had a really good story line and a great moral. I liked it mostly because it talked about little Georgie's life and all of the struggles that he went through. It is like some of the struggles that people go through today so there is some sort of connection there. I think that the thing I hated most about this book was having to know all of the pain and agony that this little innocent child had to go through. But then it teaches us what some people do to their children. The best part was when he got sent out to a foster home. They were so nice to him and gave him a much better life than he would have had at home. I would recommend this book to you if you really like touching stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Touching

    This novel was one that pulled on my heart strings. I had to read it as a school progect and I usually don't get into that kind of book. However, after I started reading this one I couldn't put it down. It is a fairly quick read but totally worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    My Opinion

    It was really touching and very descriptive. I could never put the book down. It's a book that even today someone can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    AWESOME!

    This book is one you really need to read. It has so many twists and turns that it keeps you reading and the pages turning. Your probably wondering why I gave it a 4. Well... It was good but not great. There were some parts that weren't as interesting as others. Some people might not feel the same way but that is just my oppinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    Read this book 16 years ago!!

    My 6th grade teacher read this book to us (this was 16 years ago). I never remembered the title of this book, but have been searching for it for the past 16 years. I was with my husband, who is a teacher, and he was looking for a book for his 7th grade students, lo and behold this book is right in front of me. I knew that it was the book that I'd been looking for this entire time and I was so happy. That's how powerful this book is!!! It's been in my head for the past 16 years. It's sad, but a must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2001

    An Understanding Story

    I enjoyed the book 'The Lottery Rose' because it was an understanding story of a boy who wanted to follow his goal in planting and taking care of his rose. Everybody needs to go for their goals and needs to try as hard as they can to achieve them in every possible way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    this is a..

    The lottery Rose is a wonderful book, yes it has abuse in it but that is some of what makes it interesting because the triumphs through that horrifying environment to some place a little bit better where he is safe. His rose is is his own thing and he takes pride in it and it helps get his cinfidence back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2001

    A perfect picture of Paradise

    When I first read this book I was cought up in it. I couldn't put it down and was physically forced to a couple of times. I find this book extreamly sad, happy and true. I love how Irene Hunt tells the tale of this child and how the book ends. A must read for anyone who would want to truly understand the meaning of how one little thing could bring happiness into someone's life so easialy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    very good book

    i think this book was great because it is about trobels that a little boy gose thruogh and how he puts all the bad things that have happend to him behinde him. This is a very good book from keith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    Wonderful reading if you can get past the abuse

    I had to read this book to review it for our fourth and fifth grades. We were concerned because the book jacket stated about the abuse and we wanted to make sure of its appropriateness for the age of child that would be reading it. I have no idea why the author chose to put three cuss words in there as well as being descriptive of how he felt when he was really mad at someone, but the ending of this book was truly captivating, showing how a person can change if they allow their heart to. After marking through various parts, we are allowing our 4/5 graders to read it but feel it is truly a book for a little bit older age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2