BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lotus Eaters

Average Rating 4
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    I really enjoyed this read.  The description of Vietnam and Saig

    I really enjoyed this read.  The description of Vietnam and Saigon made me feel like I was actually there -- the heat, the jungle...all of it.  I enjoyed the story right up until the end.  The end felt rushed, and left too many questions unanswered.  What exactly happened? It was just too tidy of an ending for such an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Thrilling

    Loved the book from beginning to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Definitley not a page turner. The part about the impending hurr

    Definitley not a page turner. The part about the impending hurricane was exciting but most of the book was boring; I found grammatical and spelling errors that shocked me.
    It was interesting to have American Muslims as the protagonists amd gave me some insight about a group with whom I've had some, but limited experience with.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Outstanding

    I enjoyed this book its different and one of those where you cant turn the page fast enough half the time to see what happens next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    great vietnam fiction

    Vietnam is vividly painted through words in this story of a female photo journalist. This follows well if you've enjoyed reading Tim O'Brien.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    mbduke

    Awesome book! Best book I've read in a long time. The characters are complex and story moves fast. Even though it takes place in a war zone, the descriptions of the war are not graffic. She focuses on the human interactions between the main characters. I can't wait to read her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2012

    Highly recommend

    A very moving story on a difficult period in time. I was spellbound by the storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Gj

    Gjgj

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Outstanding book. Maybe one of the best books on Viet Nam I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Beautifully written, felt like I was there!

    I'm not finished this book yet, but felt compelled to write this review. I lived through the Viet Nam era, granted as a child and adolescent snuggly protected in my Canadian cocoon. This book is raw and educated me about the pain and loss of the time. I recommend it highly to anyone who wants to better understand the cost of this war in terms of human suffering and discovery of the resilience of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Great story

    Great book. First time reading this author and found the book to be very interesting and great to get another perspective into the Vietnam War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Finding Home

    In 1963 a young lady from California drops out of college, packs her bags, flies to Viet Nam and starts a career as a photojournalist. In her mind Viet Nam in the 60’s is the center of everything important in the world. She experiences life totally anew and completely challenging. Helen Adams becomes not only a competent photographer, but a superb photojournalist with multiple covers on Life and Time magazine to her credit. Ultimately Helen stays in Viet Nam until the very end in 1975, and then some. She experiences love, war and suffering and finally a sense of home. Great read that I would recommend to many people, but if you liked Kite Runner I believe you would love this also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    LOVE this book....from the first page..don't want to put it down.

    i think the reader gets a realistic view of the war years in viet nam despite the fact that the book is fiction. it feels so real...and could be. i'm only 1/3 of the way into it, but i recommend it highly. it's very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Well written

    I enjoyed reading this book, and i thought the dialogue and scenic descriptions were especially good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    If you're interested in Vietnam...

    ...you should check out this novel. Really good combination between a love story and delving into the gritty truth of Vietnam War combat. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Very very amazing

    This is one of the best books I've read this year. It wasn't a quick read for me, I had to sometimes put it down and think about what I had read. Beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Beautifully written

    Stands head and shoulders above the crowd. A really special book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I was hooked from page one. Wonderful debut novel!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Breathtaking

    This novel truly is an amazing read. You delve into a world of both war and beauty in its pages. A quick read and quite the page turner, I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    quick read!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7