Customer Reviews for

Louder Than Words: A Mother's Journey in Healing Autism

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For parents of Austic Children you must read this

I first read this book while serving in Iraq on my third tour. I have an Autistic son who is 7 years old. Even being in that enviroment, reading this book was the hardest thing i have ever done. I relived every up down and pain and smile I have experianced with my son. ...
I first read this book while serving in Iraq on my third tour. I have an Autistic son who is 7 years old. Even being in that enviroment, reading this book was the hardest thing i have ever done. I relived every up down and pain and smile I have experianced with my son. I literally had tears in my eyes on every page. I am on the other end of the spectrum situation as my ex-wife left. I have never been touched in the heart by a book like I was with this one.

posted by RangerChris on October 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

As a divorced father of a son with Aspergers and his primary care giver, I was troubled by a number of aspects of Ms. McCarthy's book.

While Ms. McCarthy universally condemns husbands for being absent, I know I am mot the only ex-husband who is the primary care giver. I would not say that her unusual lifestyle may have casued her son's problems. She does seem to believe she can make all sorts of gene...
While Ms. McCarthy universally condemns husbands for being absent, I know I am mot the only ex-husband who is the primary care giver. I would not say that her unusual lifestyle may have casued her son's problems. She does seem to believe she can make all sorts of generalizations and is always correct.
Anecdotal evidence of unusual cures abound for every medical problem, but most parents cannot afford to hire privates planes or fly all over the country for the "best" this or that. Moreover, there are proven cases of deaths caused by chelation, exotic treatmens and special diets.
I am older than Ms. McCarthy an did not have the advantage of the internet when my son was very young. I did encounter many doctors, government and private agencies, and schools that were not well informed, considerate, or willing to listen or explain. I did not throw temper tantrums or curse them. You keep searching and you can find, locally, those who can and will help. I don't live in LA or NYC , but with calm persistence my son has become a productive member of society. He has not done anything great - except being a loving son. If Ms. McCarthy used the foul language quoted in the book, I am not surprised people wouldn't listen to her.
Ms. McCarthy does not mention the stress created with non-Asperger children (because she only had one child) who resent the time and attention parents must spend with the "special needs" child. That is a secondary, but very real problem.
People with Aspergers are like every other "class". Some achieve greatness, like Temple Grandin, most functon reasonably well, and some have major problems.
Finally, I contracted polio as a very young child. My Mother encountered many of the same difficulties with the "experts" as I did 30 years later. My mother was told that I had to have a procedure she found abhorrent. Thankfully, she refused. It took a while, but the medical experts later decried that procedure as barbaric. Life isn't fair. You can't rely solely on experts. Self reliance and common sense are the keys to success in everything. The answer is not found by blaming everyone who disagrees with you.

posted by 3303928 on April 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    Don't waste your money with this drama queen!!!

    There are tons of better books to read and learn about autism than this book. This lady is an egocentric drama queen who makes a guinea pig of her child and takes advantage of everybody who she comes in contact with. Don¿t waste your money!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    Jenny needs new vocabulary. I was discusted with the language in this book. I continually shook my head as I continued reading this trashy, shallow attempt at a Mother's Journey in Healing Autism! As a father of an autistic son I would definitely discourage ANYONE from reading this book. It is of no value what-so-ever!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Providing public misinformation.

    The author tries to demonstrate how behaving wildly or using vulgar language will somehow get you the help or the answers you seek. Being a parent of child with autism is very hard, I know this first hand. Please don't misinform the public that it is so easy to 'heal autism' by changing their diet and wham bam it's all better. These children require constant ever changing therapy. This book would have held more credibilty by focusing only on her feelings. Jenny McCarthy is no medical professional, and the public is taking her opinion and experience as pure truth. Don't waste your money buying this book, instead donate your $23.95 to an organization helping children with autism.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    My brother is autistic...

    My brother is a 40+ year old autistic man. Every imaginable remedy scientifically tested and not has been tried by my family at any given point in his life to break down that autistic wall. The only thing that has helped him to become semi-self efficient and able to work outside the home is minutes/hours/days/weeks/years/decades of continual therapy and my mother's incredible ability to never get frustrated with him, his doctor's, or letting autism get the best of her. If changing the diet helped autism, there would never have been a need even for this book. I agree with the review below. I was so anxious to read this book and ended up more heart-broken and disappointed that it's nothing more than snake oil in words.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Not a good book

    Vaccines do not cause autism spectrum disorders. Chelation diets are unhealthy and dangerous. Some of the treatments that the author endorses in this book are barbaric, cruel, and disproven. Autism Spesks-- the organization-- does not speak for any of us. Who are we? We are autistic spectrum disordered adults.

    Every child with autism who grows up becomes an adult with autism. Every child with Asperger's who survives long enough becomes an adult with Asperger's. Autism SQUEAKS ignores us adults because we are no longer cute. That may be just as well.

    There is no cure for us. We all have different ways of being. All of us deserve respect for who we are. Even those that the author refers to as "low functioning".

    Better books are out there. Read Temple Grandin or Tony Attwood or John Elder Robinson or pretty near anyone else instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    BULL-CRAP

    I have autism and jenny knows NOTHING about it. Her poor son is not autistic, He was misdiognosed. All this former beauty queen wants us the popularity. Anyone can see that. She couldnt cure a cold if she tried, let alone autism. She has somehow twisted the minds of hundreds, leaving them beleiving her so called cures actually work; and her shoveling in the money. DONT WASTE A CENT ON THIS GARBAGE!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    I keep wondering

    What will that kid be like when he reaches adolescence? And reality sinks in...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    This book is full of lies and crap on "causes" of Auti

    This book is full of lies and crap on "causes" of Autism. This woman, a washed up former Play Boy Bunny, is dumber than a bag of bricks and has NO CREDIBILITY behind her "theories" of Autism. This book is insulting and vulgar that is "supported" by false evidence. Do NOT waste your time, people!! ~SpEd Grad student.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Hate the book

    My child has autism and this book was a wast of my time. There nothing in this book that will help you. DON'T GET THE BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    not-so-subtle anti-vaccination propaganda

    This book is disturbing in that it is in effect an endorsement of the anti-vaccination lobby. While on the one hand telling us that she is not against vaccination, Ms. McCarthy makes it clear in her book and numerous public appearances that it was vaccination that caused her son's autism. This is a direct quote from Ms. McCarthy on the Oprah Show and can be viewed on Oprah's web site. 'What number will it take for people just to start listening to what the mothers of children who have autism have been saying for years, which is, 'We vaccinated our baby and something happened. Right before his MMR shot, I said to the doctor, 'I have a very bad feeling about this shot. This is the autism shot, isn't it?' And he said, 'No, that is ridiculous. It is a mother's desperate attempt to blame something,' and he swore at me, and then the nurse gave [Evan] the shot. And I remember going, 'Oh, God, I hope he's right.' And soon thereafter-boom-the soul's gone from his eyes.' This type of statement, when repeated over and over has the effect of discouraging people from vaccinating their children, or from obtaining vaccinations themselves. This hardly shows the neutral viewpoint that Ms. McCarthy claims to have. There is no evidence that vaccinations cause autism. On the other hand, there is voluminous evidence against this idea. Communicating this anecdotal 'evidence' to you in her engaging way, results in rejection of the most effective public health measures in human history.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1