Customer Reviews for

Louder Than Words: A Mother's Journey in Healing Autism

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For parents of Austic Children you must read this

I first read this book while serving in Iraq on my third tour. I have an Autistic son who is 7 years old. Even being in that enviroment, reading this book was the hardest thing i have ever done. I relived every up down and pain and smile I have experianced with my son. ...
I first read this book while serving in Iraq on my third tour. I have an Autistic son who is 7 years old. Even being in that enviroment, reading this book was the hardest thing i have ever done. I relived every up down and pain and smile I have experianced with my son. I literally had tears in my eyes on every page. I am on the other end of the spectrum situation as my ex-wife left. I have never been touched in the heart by a book like I was with this one.

posted by RangerChris on October 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

As a divorced father of a son with Aspergers and his primary care giver, I was troubled by a number of aspects of Ms. McCarthy's book.

While Ms. McCarthy universally condemns husbands for being absent, I know I am mot the only ex-husband who is the primary care giver. I would not say that her unusual lifestyle may have casued her son's problems. She does seem to believe she can make all sorts of gene...
While Ms. McCarthy universally condemns husbands for being absent, I know I am mot the only ex-husband who is the primary care giver. I would not say that her unusual lifestyle may have casued her son's problems. She does seem to believe she can make all sorts of generalizations and is always correct.
Anecdotal evidence of unusual cures abound for every medical problem, but most parents cannot afford to hire privates planes or fly all over the country for the "best" this or that. Moreover, there are proven cases of deaths caused by chelation, exotic treatmens and special diets.
I am older than Ms. McCarthy an did not have the advantage of the internet when my son was very young. I did encounter many doctors, government and private agencies, and schools that were not well informed, considerate, or willing to listen or explain. I did not throw temper tantrums or curse them. You keep searching and you can find, locally, those who can and will help. I don't live in LA or NYC , but with calm persistence my son has become a productive member of society. He has not done anything great - except being a loving son. If Ms. McCarthy used the foul language quoted in the book, I am not surprised people wouldn't listen to her.
Ms. McCarthy does not mention the stress created with non-Asperger children (because she only had one child) who resent the time and attention parents must spend with the "special needs" child. That is a secondary, but very real problem.
People with Aspergers are like every other "class". Some achieve greatness, like Temple Grandin, most functon reasonably well, and some have major problems.
Finally, I contracted polio as a very young child. My Mother encountered many of the same difficulties with the "experts" as I did 30 years later. My mother was told that I had to have a procedure she found abhorrent. Thankfully, she refused. It took a while, but the medical experts later decried that procedure as barbaric. Life isn't fair. You can't rely solely on experts. Self reliance and common sense are the keys to success in everything. The answer is not found by blaming everyone who disagrees with you.

posted by 3303928 on April 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    For parents of Austic Children you must read this

    I first read this book while serving in Iraq on my third tour. I have an Autistic son who is 7 years old. Even being in that enviroment, reading this book was the hardest thing i have ever done. I relived every up down and pain and smile I have experianced with my son. I literally had tears in my eyes on every page. I am on the other end of the spectrum situation as my ex-wife left. I have never been touched in the heart by a book like I was with this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Jenny McCarthy is an excellent writter, her book Louder than words is
    and excellent book and very informative.
    Anyone that has doubts should read this excellent book, it is helpfull
    and gives you alot of tips to check for in your child.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I first read this book shortly after realizing my son had language delays at age 3. He has since been diagnosed with Autisum. Much like Jenny explains in her book. Finding answers and resources was quite a challenge. I actually had to resign from my position at work and took on this challenge full time. i found much comfort and knowledge in her perpective and intellect on the subject of autism from a parents view. It was easy to read and digest the info..instead of the other cold analytical material I have read. I would highly recommend reading this book if autisum has affected someone you love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's all about attitude

    The "autistic" baby and "schizophrenic" baby may have common traits (pale, gentle, detached, undemanding) Autism presents itself early (toddler years) and schizophrenia generally presents between the ages of 15 and 25 for men and 25 to 35 for women. I believe that these two conditions are related although they present in different ways. Schizophrenia touches more people's lives than autism because it is much more prevalent in the population (typically 1% of the adult population versus less than 1%).

    Jenny McCarthy reaches the conclusion that doctors are relatively clueless in the basic understanding of the problem and that is why we (the collective mother) have to do our own research. I couldn't agree more. We learn to trust our instincts and always look for cause, something doctors do not do when they hand out autism and schizophrenia diagnoses. We are told that "nobody knows what causes this" but are told we have to accept something for which no medical test has been invented. We observe that attitude makes a huge difference and that some mothers are willing to go the extra, unpopular mile to find a solution for their child and others are not.

    Diet and supplements are a the main focus of the author's research (emphasis on yeast build-up and candida produced by a weakened immune system). Because her son recovered at the level of vitamin support and medications, Ms McCarthy does not explore, because she might not be aware of, or not subscribe to, the concept of higher levels of healing (psychic, spiritual, energetic). Some people (both autistic and schizophrenic) will be greatly improved or even cured through the diet and supplement approach, but many will not be. This seemingly chronic group continues to baffle medical science. There is often a lot more to the picture.

    Louder Than Words does not look at what I call the "dark side of the soul", to confront aspects of ourselves/our environment/our inheritance that may have contributed to the child's condition. In her book, Jenny McCarthy takes a poll of the mothers in her son's autism program. They are all unhappy in their marriages. She asks them who would divorce their husband if they could. Every hand in the room shot up. An understandable but superficial way of explaining this is that the child's illness is putting a strain on the parent's relationship. Energy medicine and other viewpoints would say that the child's illness is in essence holding a mirror up to a problem in the family energy field. It does not cause the problem, it reflects the problem.

    Jenny McCarthy believes that her son was born with a weakened immune system, but she stops asking why at this stage. From my own research I realized that my son was born with symptoms that may have predisposed him to schizophrenia and I asked "why"? This led me to a whole new area of very intriguing research. I developed my own belief that the root of the problem in my son's case lay in a trauma to the energy field. A misaligned energy field can be corrected in many different ways.

    I recommend this book because it demonstrates the attitude that is necessary to develop. Whether you are a fan of Jenny McCarthy or not, her attitude is what got her the kind of results that often elude other people. She recognizes that she could wait around forever for help that conventional medicine was failing to deliver. When it comes to your own child, why the wait?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Any parent can relate to this book

    This book was very easy to read. You do not have to have a child with Autism to truly enjoy and appriciate this book. It was like sitting and listening to your best friend tell you a story, hard to say good bye and hard to put down. My heart ached along with hers and jumped for joy when a breakthrough was made. I do not know anyone close that has an autistic child but I have friends of friends.
    This book is a touching, funny, and smart. It made me want to research why Autism is such an epidemic and how fragile the human body really can be. Any parent can relate to this book and that unconditional love you feel for your child.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    A Must Read

    Jenny McCarthy's Louder than Words is a must read for everyone, even if you do not have a child with autism.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I also have a autisic son, who is 8yrs.old.

    "Louder Than Words", was the most awesome book I have ever picked up; and I actually read the entire book. I would read this book again. I also am a parent of a autisic son, now 8 yrs, named Weston. This book has made a huge impact on my life. Thank you Jenny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Great Book

    My son was just diagonised with Autism and this was a great read. I could relate to some and others just informed me of the different kinds of autism. I enjoyed reading Jenny's story and I would recommend it to everyone who is dealing with Autism or just wants to hear a compelling story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Very touching

    Easy to read; very informative; thought provoking; even funny at times. But really makes you appreciate the life of a mother of a child with Autism.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!!!

    I was told that my first born child was autistic. I was in denial for so long until I read this book. It is very comforting to know that there is hope and that you do not have to go through this alone. Everyone who has an autistic child and thinks that hope is lost should read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down!!

    Jenny is a Hero for all Parents and families of Autistic Children. She gives hope and encouragment that we can all make a difference!
    Thank you Jenny!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    A gripping story about a determined mother who profoundly helped to heal her son's autism

    A page-turner, this book tells an absorbing, well-written story of a passionate and determined mother whose no-holds-barred quest for answers unearthed solutions to healing her son's autism. Any parent of a child with a developmental disability will benefit from this mother's example. She was tenacious in her search for why her son had health problems and what to do to heal them. This book points the way for other parents in healing their children.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Louder Than Words

    This is such a great book!! I would recommended to every parent to read. Jenny has given me the faith that I had once lost. She gives great resources to help find that window we all need to help our child. <BR/><BR/>Thanks JENNY.... :O)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Honest and Inspiring

    While a difficult topic, the author uses great humor and honesty to make it an easy read. This and the follow up book, "Mother Warriors", are a must read for any parent who suspects their child has developmental delays of any kind, or who hears from their pediatrician "there's nothing wrong" when you know something is amiss, or "there's nothing you can do" when you know there must be something. Because while the book is about autism, the story relates to many other situations. And these books show the triumph of following your gut, and contain a bounty of resources to use when you're getting nowhere with a doctor still stuck in the 18th century.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Great book

    This book was great I could not but it down. I understand where she is coming from in alot of the book Can't wait to read more books with Jenny Mccarthy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Look Beyond Her Language to What She's Saying Here--It's Important!

    There is no roadmap available to even the most intelligent or devoted parents when they learn that their child has autism. Our family, as well as our supportive friends who have now read Louder Than Words applaud Jenny McCarthy not only for daring to take the road less traveled in searching for more effective ways of helping her own child, but for having the passion, honesty and humanitarian spirit to share this story of her journey with her son. The frustration she expresses in no uncertain terms with the medical profession is something that cannot be understood unless you, too, have walked the walk. Much to her credit and as the result of sheer determination, Ms. McCarthy found the methods out there that work, but she had to find them on her own. Few doctors or alleged 'professionals' out there will either share knowledge of these methods or admit to parents how well so many of these methods work.The non-traditional methods, which include sound, nutritionally-based protocols and home-based teaching methods continue to provide avenues that parents only learn about as the result of their own initiative, nightly combing the internet, finding those who work with these protocols and then--bottom line-- being willing to take educated risks to try methods which are conventionally ignored, discounted or disrespectfully labeled as 'fringe approaches'. May God bless Jenny McCarthy for having the bravery, the heart and the dedication to share the details of her highly challenging journey and hard-won triumphs with her child, with the public at large (which still painfully needs both education and sensitivity training) and for giving hope and support to parents (particularly mothers) of children diagnosed with autism. However Jenny McCarthy expresses herself, she is articulate, obviously bright, beautiful both inside and out, an outstanding insightful writer and one extraordinarily dedicated mother.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    A real page turner

    This is a book you can't put down. The story is so gripping, and is told in a very direct, from-the-heart style by a model mother who is loving, devoted, courageous and truly effective at helping her son.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    A Must Read

    I read this book prior to my son's diagnosis of PDD-NOS and could not set it down! We already knew that our son was on the autism spectrum based on a number of things and because of this, we started our research early which included reading her book. For families with or without an autistic child, this book not only opens your eyes to the treatments, help and resources we have, but shows how adamant, supportive and strong Jenny McCarthy is as an advocate for autistic children! I had the chance to meet Jenny today at an autism convention and let me tell you - she is an awesome individual who is fighting for our children! Her speech was positive, full of information, invigorating, and has given me the push once again to continue fighting for my son to get the treatments and help he needs to recover from autism like her son Evan. This book is fantastic and I absolutely look forward to future books Jenny will be writing!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is my first read from jenny mccarthy and loved her brutal honesty. What caring mother wouldn't act and do the exact same for her child. I felt the book was informative, funny and heartfelt. I would absolutely recommend this book to a friend or family member.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Written at your level

    This book is not just about Autism. This is a jump start for everyone who wants to lead a healthy life. Follow in her footsteps and speak out against the 'norm'. Just because it has always been, doesn't mean it should stay that way!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4