BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Louisiana Longshot

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

There are very few authors who can make me laugh out loud, but J

There are very few authors who can make me laugh out loud, but Jana DeLeon is one of them. In Louisiana Longshot, she hits just the right combination of twisted mystery and hilarious characters. Fortune Redding, the CIA agent who is hiding out in tiny Sinful, Louisiana,...
There are very few authors who can make me laugh out loud, but Jana DeLeon is one of them. In Louisiana Longshot, she hits just the right combination of twisted mystery and hilarious characters. Fortune Redding, the CIA agent who is hiding out in tiny Sinful, Louisiana, is a great combination of uptight overachiever and zany eccentric, while her sidekicks, the senior citizen posse made up of Ida Belle and Gertie, are just ridiculously funny. I found myself snorting and laughing out loud many times throughout the whole book.

Like with many of DeLeon's books, I found this one to be too short. Not because the story needed more to be told, but just because I wanted to spend more time with the characters. It's a fun read that's hard to put down, and I'm looking forward to the next situation these three get themselves into.

posted by VBailey on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

I love a book that can make you laugh

posted by Mlo1MO on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    There are very few authors who can make me laugh out loud, but J

    There are very few authors who can make me laugh out loud, but Jana DeLeon is one of them. In Louisiana Longshot, she hits just the right combination of twisted mystery and hilarious characters. Fortune Redding, the CIA agent who is hiding out in tiny Sinful, Louisiana, is a great combination of uptight overachiever and zany eccentric, while her sidekicks, the senior citizen posse made up of Ida Belle and Gertie, are just ridiculously funny. I found myself snorting and laughing out loud many times throughout the whole book.

    Like with many of DeLeon's books, I found this one to be too short. Not because the story needed more to be told, but just because I wanted to spend more time with the characters. It's a fun read that's hard to put down, and I'm looking forward to the next situation these three get themselves into.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    I have read 5 of this authors books and they just get better and

    I have read 5 of this authors books and they just get better and better!! The ghosh in laws books were good, but this one had me giggling then laughing out loud! ms Delong reminds me of Janet Evanovich, in the Plum series as she has wacky characters and even wackier situations. Having lived in the Miss/louisana area for 12 years i can picture every scene. Can hardly wait for the next one to see what happens to the spunky senior ladies and maybe the deputy and Fortune?? Keep em coming Jana!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Very entertaining

    This was a highly enjoyable read. Well written with both humor and a good story. I would recommend for anyone who appreciates 'light' mysteries - no sex, no gore, minimal foul language.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    R

    A fun read. Reminds me of a book by Leslie Langtry,"Scuse Me While I Kill This Guy"

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Enjoyed book ! Funny

    184 pages-written in janet evanovich style- well worth time & money- will read more by this author

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    A fun read....

    I didn't really expect much for 99 cents. Actually purchased it under curiosity. Found my self enjoying the humor and predicaments. Since I have been reading pretty intense murder mysteries I enjoyed the lightness of this murder mystery. Think I'll get the next one in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Louisiana Longshot

    This is a very enjoyable book and I laughed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Super

    Great adventure and heartwarming people in this book. I loved each and everyone. The book was fantastic !!!! I will definately keep reading this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Fast Reading

    I enjoy reading books from this author. This looks to be a good series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Very good book. Sometimes I do judge a book by its cover and I w

    Very good book. Sometimes I do judge a book by its cover and I was expecting something a bit more "girly" from this one, I'm glad that I was wrong. There is a lot more grit and substance than I was expecting, really something to sink your teeth into. Some of the characters are a bit extreme in their character, but that seems to add rather than distract from the depth of the story itself. Not a light piece of fluff nor a dark and brooding  tale, just a good solid mystery, highlighted by interesting and often amusing characters with secrets in the shadows. I found it to be a great read on a rainy day at the campground.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Laugh out loud funny!

    The idea of a female assassin hiding out in south Louisiana seemed a tad far fetched to me, and I almost did not give her a chance. I am glad I did. The author did an excellent job of developing some very interesting characters and situations. After reading this book, I went on to read two sequels and am awaiting the release of the fourth book in the series next spring

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    She makes

    She makes me laugh when I read her books. I have all of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    .

    .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Can't wait for more

    Really enjoyed this book - very different setting with a heroine really out of her comfort zone in a small southern town. I laughed out loud!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Great read

    I enjoy all the books I have read by this author and will enjoy more. I laugh at all the antics that go on in Sinful and am happy they are clean and funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Redommend

    Very fun book! Quick and entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    highly recommended- must read

    I enjoyed this very much. The trouble Miss Fortune and her friends get into is the funnest. I was in tears I was laughing so hard. I read all three books and can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Good read

    Good story and fast read. Enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Laughs and Thought Provoking, too.

    Entertaining characters, well developed story line. A plausible story line with meaningful end. I so enjoy "Southern" character stories, but often the actions of the characters and the story line are a little hard to believe. This could have really taken place! It also has a meaningful ending that makes this story really relavant and sticks with the reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Love this Author have read several books by her and will read th

    Love this Author have read several books by her and will read the rest as they come out ! Take the time to check her out if you Love Laugh out loud books read hers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5