Customer Reviews for

Louisiana Longshot

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

There are very few authors who can make me laugh out loud, but J

There are very few authors who can make me laugh out loud, but Jana DeLeon is one of them. In Louisiana Longshot, she hits just the right combination of twisted mystery and hilarious characters. Fortune Redding, the CIA agent who is hiding out in tiny Sinful, Louisiana,...
There are very few authors who can make me laugh out loud, but Jana DeLeon is one of them. In Louisiana Longshot, she hits just the right combination of twisted mystery and hilarious characters. Fortune Redding, the CIA agent who is hiding out in tiny Sinful, Louisiana, is a great combination of uptight overachiever and zany eccentric, while her sidekicks, the senior citizen posse made up of Ida Belle and Gertie, are just ridiculously funny. I found myself snorting and laughing out loud many times throughout the whole book.

Like with many of DeLeon's books, I found this one to be too short. Not because the story needed more to be told, but just because I wanted to spend more time with the characters. It's a fun read that's hard to put down, and I'm looking forward to the next situation these three get themselves into.

posted by VBailey on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

I love a book that can make you laugh

posted by Mlo1MO on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Very entertaining

    This was a highly enjoyable read. Well written with both humor and a good story. I would recommend for anyone who appreciates 'light' mysteries - no sex, no gore, minimal foul language.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    R

    A fun read. Reminds me of a book by Leslie Langtry,"Scuse Me While I Kill This Guy"

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    A fun read....

    I didn't really expect much for 99 cents. Actually purchased it under curiosity. Found my self enjoying the humor and predicaments. Since I have been reading pretty intense murder mysteries I enjoyed the lightness of this murder mystery. Think I'll get the next one in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Fast Reading

    I enjoy reading books from this author. This looks to be a good series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Very good book. Sometimes I do judge a book by its cover and I w

    Very good book. Sometimes I do judge a book by its cover and I was expecting something a bit more "girly" from this one, I'm glad that I was wrong. There is a lot more grit and substance than I was expecting, really something to sink your teeth into. Some of the characters are a bit extreme in their character, but that seems to add rather than distract from the depth of the story itself. Not a light piece of fluff nor a dark and brooding  tale, just a good solid mystery, highlighted by interesting and often amusing characters with secrets in the shadows. I found it to be a great read on a rainy day at the campground.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Can't wait for more

    Really enjoyed this book - very different setting with a heroine really out of her comfort zone in a small southern town. I laughed out loud!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Redommend

    Very fun book! Quick and entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    highly recommended- must read

    I enjoyed this very much. The trouble Miss Fortune and her friends get into is the funnest. I was in tears I was laughing so hard. I read all three books and can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Lol!

    I`m just in the first few chapters and am literally "laughing out loud!" I love Gertie and Ida Belle and cant wait to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Funny

    Very well written and funny, another good read by this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Louisiana Longshot

    This is a very enjoyable book and I laughed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Enjoyable Jana DeLeon Returns

    Started with the Mudbug series and moved onto this series when the novelty wore thin.

    This is a summer must. Enjoy the heat and swat some bugs while reading to maximize your enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    4 stars I have had this book on my kindle for awhile now, I am

    4 stars

    I have had this book on my kindle for awhile now, I am glad that I finally read it. It is a mystery, full of humor, quirky characters that I loved. I did not put the book down till I finished it.

    Fortune Redding worked for the CIA but she is in trouble so her boss hid her in a small southern town. She is completely out of her depth. She is smart, agile, killer and she hates to lose. She is single. Her cover a beauty queen librarian. She is supposed to keep a low profile. Everything goes wrong right off the bat.

    She gets off to the wrong foot with the deputy every time she turns around. Finds a dead body or the dog does. She also gets hooked in with some little old ladies who are not what they seem at all.

    You smile the whole time you are reading it. Has lots of twists and turns that you don't expect.

    I want more of Miss Fortune Mysteries. One is not enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    A fun read.

    Light reading. Better as protagonist became less acerbic in her character development. Lots of twists and turns to wind it up. I would purchase another book in this series. Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2