Customer Reviews for

Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!!!!!

    I'm 41 years old and hadn't been a Beatles fan until hearing this CD. I LOVE this CD! One can't help but dance to it! The CD makes ya feel happy! The music begs to be listened to loudly. In fact, if it is not turned up loud, one misses a lot of segues into and out of songs. It's really cool how a track can start out with one song, then morph into another song, then morph again before the end! As an FYI, you would not know it by looking at the CD cover, but Cirque du Soleil has brought the music of this CD to life in their incredible show in LasVegas at the Mirage. The show shares the title of the CD. . . LOVE. Spread the LOVE, buy this CD for your family and friends! And, when in Vegas, see the show, you'll then have an even greater appreciation for the music!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love

    Tonight in the car I cried with joy listening to the Beatles "new" album, Love. "Here they are, the Beatles!" shouts Ed Sullivan, and then the joy and exuberance begins. Sure, they were stylish and smart and witty and young. But it was also a damn fine song. We forget just how good that one song was, with that one special chord that even then hinted at the impeccable craftsmanship to come. The expectation when I was growing up was that we would finally discover the new Beatles. We're older now. And it turns out that we didn't need the new Beatles at all. The originals were just fine. And its still such a feeling...that I can't hide. I can't hide. I can't hide. It's remarkable that the music remains so relevant forty years on, how it still sounds so contemporary. It's not like listening to an old Billie Holiday album, for example, and believe me when I say that I'm not maligning the artistry of Billie Holiday. But her best music was recorded at the dawn of recording technology, and the fidelity will always mark it as such. Which has its charms, to be sure. There's something magical about her timeless voice and those timeless melodies that even low fidelity cannot suppress. But the audio quality instantly marks her music as originating from a different age. That will never be an issue with the Beatles, even though they began with the limitations of four-track technology (and yes, I know all about their discovery that "bouncing" down to one track allowed them to add as many tracks as they liked--which expanded the aural canvas but resulted in what a Rolling Stone writer once referred to as "the goofy stereo of early Beatles records"). Could anyone else have produced the collage masterpiece that Love truly is? I believe it was Olivia Harrison who said in a promotional video that only George Martin knows the content of each track the Beatles ever recorded. It's a true marvel to hear such familiar music presented in a completely different way. I've not been as immersed in the concept of a particular album in years, perhaps a decade, perhaps even more. Love is as brilliant in its own way as the suite that is side two of the original Abbey Road album. I've written before (and will likely do so again) that I believe Abbey Road to be the best album from the Beatles catalogue, not Sgt. Pepper as the consensus seems to be. And I still believe it. But despite the fact that Love contains no new music (how could it?), it makes an artistic statement of its own. "This is Johnny Rhythm, saying good night to ye's and God bless ye's." What a sweet way to end the album, with a fragment probably originating from a fan club Christmas disc. Only George Martin would have thought of that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    I'm an AVID Beatle fan and ABSOLUTELY LOVE them. There will NEVE

    I'm an AVID Beatle fan and ABSOLUTELY LOVE them. There will NEVER, EVER be another band like The Beatles!!! Out of curiosity, I bought this cd a few years ago. And I was SO impressed with it. Then when I read the history of how this was made, I was even more impressed. George and Giles Martin were complete artists in how they compiled this along with the direction and assistance of George Harrison and Paul McCartney. There are a lot of tribute bands and artists out there. So I listen for every detail in the music that someone tries to do. And the way the Martins morphed so many songs in this creation is 'genius' to say the least. IF you will be open and sit down with a good stereo system to listen to this, I think you will see how great this really is. I stand amazed at this creation and would recommend it to any real Beatles fan!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    LOVE in Las Vegas

    If you were in Las Vegas and saw the show "LOVE," then buy the album. It's like watching the Beatles performing live with a group of acrobating act in a circus-like show. Believe me, I was in Las Vegas last year and I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This was a Christmas gift.

    This was a gift for my daughter's friend and I have not talked with her about it to date but I'm sure she will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Should be a TEN

    I had always avoided this CD but my daughter brought it home one day from school and I decided to listen to it and I am sure glad I did. It is simply amazing what the Martins did. I listened to this CD during my entire 10 day vacation and am still listening. Very nice and I HIGHLY recommend this CD to anyone. To The Last Iconoclast - For someone who so despises The Beatles my question to you is why do you keep buying the CD's? And to the couple whose dog ran out of the room I suggest you teach your dog better manners.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fall in love with the Beatles again

    To start I have always felt that the Beatles where a great band, yet overrated. This Album brings them to a new light. I would definatley throw it into the hands of anyone who displays a minor intrest in it. Also, as a Las Vegas resident, I am now on a mission to go see the Love show.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hats Off to the Martins

    What a wonderful record! Sir George and Master Giles have certainly taken the music of The Beatles another step with this remix accompaniment of the Cirque du Soleil show Love. As a musician and one who grew up on Beatles music, I can only admire the fascinating way the original tracks were disassembled and rewoven into a sometimes breathtakingly fresh approach to the material. For that reason, it seems ironic that it should be their original producer George Martin and his son who would have such a new take on the old arrangements. But it is also for that reason that I’m very glad it was they and no others who would attempt the undertaking (exhumation?) -- for who else would have the credentials? And what a marvelous job they‘ve done. This CD is no casual listen. The production style has a stream-of-consciousness, semi-dream state quality that uses as points of departure ideas hinted at on Revolver and later recordings. It may not, therefore, appeal to the average music listener. Nor might it appeal to the hardcore aficionado who believes Beatles masters are sacrosanct and shouldn’t be messed with. But for those of us who like to try to “get inside” these wonderful songs we’ve known most of our lives, this new offering does open some doors. The sonic quality is pristine and up to date. Previously unexposed detail buried in the old mixes can now be heard. Outtakes and early versions of songs morph fluidly into their more elaborate later versions, while the juxtaposition of verses and choruses from different songs having similar rhythms and keys provides an insight to the oneness of Beatle music. Beside being a soundtrack to a show, Love is also a recorded-medium concert piece and needs to be enjoyed with full attention, preferably wearing headphones. Modern digital editing at the sample level can truly produce some astonishing sonic effects as well as seamless edits allowing the Martins nearly unlimited flexibility to cut-and-paste at will, with a tastefulness that, I would hope, the boys themselves would admire.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just heard it on Virgin Radio

    I just heard the entire cd in its entirety and I have to say it was awesome. It flows so smoothly that it conjures up memories of when you first heard some of the songs that you know and love. With some beats of different songs underlying the melodies of others, the songs merge to form a Beatles meets Pink Floyd type of feel but maintaining the uniqueness of the Beatles. It's amazing how the percussion of "Within You and Without You" can flow seamlessly into other Beatles songs. This is a must have for any Beatles fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding!

    "LOVE" is wonderful & unique listening pleasure with surprises and twists along the way. It is a kaleidoscope of word and sound. Under the watchful eye of Sir George & Giles Martin. The Beatles catalog has an energy that merges familiar snippets, lyrics and melodies to form a 'new' classic. For instance, the marriage of 'Within You Without You' and 'Tomorrow Never Knows', a compliment to the writing styles of Harrison and Lennon. 'Get Back' becomes 'Glass Onion' and it sounds as if Paul & John intended it to be that way. A backwards 'Sun King' becomes the beautifully harmonic 'Gnik Nus', a gift to us compliments of Giles Martin. Many, many years after Sir George composed the string score for 'Yesterday', his new string composition adds a poignant and gorgeous touch to 'While My Guitar Gently Weeps'. After each listen, you hear something new and different but that's the magic of The Beatles after all, isn't it! It is quite obvious that the Martin's treated the Beatles catalog with great love and respect. They honor the talent and inspiration of the four men that changed the face of music and for that I am very grateful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing

    this is a must-have for any fan. it's very different from their previously released albums, but in a good way. i loved every minute of it. the songs were blended together so well, completely flawlessly...almost as if that's how the songs were meant to sound in the first place. loved it. definitely give it a chance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Saw the Show

    If the remix CD is as good as the live show - another hit by the Beattles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I dig 'Love'!

    My headline is a nod to the late George Harrison's song (if you have 'All Things Must Pass' you know it). It is amazing that now 36 years since the Beatles' breakup, their music still holds up exceptionally well, is timeless and still influential beyond measure. The premise behind 'Love' where Sir George Martin & son (Giles Martin) mix, mash-up, and in fact re-invent the Beatles' classics sounded interesting, and once I heard the disc a few times, it really is a great concept. Sure, fans have heard the music thousands of times -- but the way the tracks are presented here makes them sound new, at least very different than you are familiar with. Hearing the vocal of "Within You Without You" superimposed on the background of "Tomorrow Never Knows" was pure genius -- the merging of "She's so Heavy" on the ending of "Mr Kite" also brilliant -- amazing how seamless the Martins made all the segues and mash-ups sound, as if they were intended to be that way - plus the overall sound of the tracks is fantastic -- 'Love' is worth it just for the remastered "I Am the Walrus" alone. This is more for serious than casual fans -- anyone familiar with Abbey Road, the White Album, Sgt Peppers and all the album tracks besides the hits will be delighted at how much 'Love' there is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You have to get this!

    Hey, I lived through the era, and I have not been this excited about a Beatles' compilation in years! George Martin and his son are absolute geniuses. The sound quality is fantastic, and the mixing/blending superb. To hear McCartney's "buried" bass line front and center in "Hey Jude" is alone worth the price of the CD. There is, however, much, much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    I'd have to agree with the majority of the reviewers here... this album (while not at all like other Cirque music cd's) is absolutely amazing, glorious, and fresh. I loved it. It made me cry. The remixing is superb, and is more than just remixing old songs into a new sound - the album was clearly a labor of love and tribute to these incomparable legends of music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love

    Tonight in the car I cried with joy listening to the Beatles "new" album, Love. "Here they are, the Beatles!" shouts Ed Sullivan, and then the joy and exuberance begins. Sure, they were stylish and smart and witty and young. But it was also a damn fine song. We forget just how good that one song was, with that one special chord that even then hinted at the impeccable craftsmanship to come. The expectation when I was growing up was that we would finally discover the new Beatles. We're older now. And it turns out that we didn't need the new Beatles at all. The originals were just fine. And its still such a feeling...that I can't hide. I can't hide. I can't hide. It's remarkable that the music remains so relevant forty years on, how it still sounds so contemporary. It's not like listening to an old Billie Holiday album, for example, and believe me when I say that I'm not maligning the artistry of Billie Holiday. But her best music was recorded at the dawn of recording technology, and the fidelity will always mark it as such. Which has its charms, to be sure. There's something magical about her timeless voice and those timeless melodies that even low fidelity cannot suppress. But the audio quality instantly marks her music as originating from a different age. That will never be an issue with the Beatles, even though they began with the limitations of four-track technology (and yes, I know all about their discovery that "bouncing" down to one track allowed them to add as many tracks as they liked--which expanded the aural canvas but resulted in what a Rolling Stone writer once referred to as “the goofy stereo of early Beatles records"). Could anyone else have produced the collage masterpiece that Love truly is? I believe it was Olivia Harrison who said in a promotional video that only George Martin knows the content of each track the Beatles ever recorded. It's a true marvel to hear such familiar music presented in a completely different way. I've not been as immersed in the concept of a particular album in years, perhaps a decade, perhaps even more. Love is as brilliant in its own way as the suite that is side two of the original Abbey Road album. I've written before (and will likely do so again) that I believe Abbey Road to be the best album from the Beatles catalogue, not Sgt. Pepper as the consensus seems to be. And I still believe it. But despite the fact that Love contains no new music (how could it?), it makes an artistic statement of its own. "This is Johnny Rhythm, saying good night to ye's and God bless ye's." What a sweet way to end the album, with a fragment probably originating from a fan club Christmas disc. Only George Martin would have thought of that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a reviewer

    I LOVE this CD. You can tell that this project really meant something to the album's producers. They weren't in it for the money, they did the album as a loving tribute to one of the most lasting bands out there. Each song still has its soul and its original feel, but with a new twist. There are flashes of their other songs sprinkled throughout, and they glimmer underneath the tracks like little hidden gems. Beatle maniacs should love the CD just for the opportunity to try and figure out which Beatle tracks are hiding within the disc. The sound quality of this disc is absoulutely amazing as well! It sounds like the band is sitting next to you. Sure, those Beatle fanatic purists out there are probably upset that anyone "messed with" the originals. I guess they are entitled to their opinion. But if they looked deeper, they would see that the songs were not really messed with so much as enhanced. GREAT CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DVD Audio Trouble

    The music is fantastic. But I've tried 3 DVD players and none can decode the surround sound so it's stereo only on the DVD. I called Sony and Pioneer and it's not the DVD decoder, it's the DVD itself. I replaced it three times and still have the problem. Anyone else find this an issue? I'd love to hear from you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome, Totally Awesome

    I'm A New Beatle Fan And I've Got To Say It's Totally Cool I Know Im 18 Years Old But You Know What I Think I Ve A Good Taste Of Music I Hate All Contemparary Music, I Love The Classics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very well done Sir George & son.

    This is a great CD for fans and new listeners alike. It gives a new feel to the songs we know and love. The way they mix different songs together is very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2