Customer Reviews for

Love

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Use your brain to read this book...

    I have found a new love in the literature of Toni Morrison. In former years I would have described her work as confusing and full of itself. Still often times I find myself going back a couple of pages to repeat another paragraph. Yet, that is the beauty of her work- it causes you to think and form images. So many writers of today simply give it to you straight up, we've gotten lazy as readers. Morrison's works are more like poetry- they are not meant to be read in the line at the supermarket (unless you got it like that). I found this book to be one of the most interesting books of her career, only second to Sula. Love reeks of irony. The irony begins with the title. The characters in the book all belong to the same family but, they are full of hate. Well...not really. In fact they are full of love. That becomes apparent at the end of the novel when Heed and Christine find themselves 'too close for comfort'. In addition, every character in the book is full admiration for the dead Cosey. That is the root of the hate among these women- their obsession with him. I also cherish the tone of the novel. The author describes the present and makes it seem like the past, and the further you get into the story it really begins to unfold. All time merges together eventually and the characters become people. And as always no one can create characters like Morrison. Some of the most interesting people I've had the pleasure of meeting! Pick up this book today and free your mind. Turn off the television, and put down the phone. Get under the covers and spend a little time with Toni Morrison. She'll take ya places you've never been before!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    A Gorgeous and Perfect Book

    I know many people who don't consider LOVE to be one of Toni Morrison's most accomplished novels. I am absolutely not among those persons. While, on its surface, LOVE may seem to be a simple, more straightforward story than the very symbolic BELOVED or the somewhat sketchy and metaphorical PARADISE, I think it's structure is highly sophisticated and could have only been written by one of the world's premier authors. In short, I think LOVE is absolutely perfect in every respect. LOVE is filled with perhaps the quirkiest cast of characters ever to be found in a Toni Morrison work. The book centers around Bill Cosey, the owner of a run down seaside hotel who has been dead for twenty-five years when the novel opens in the 1990s. Although Cosey is the centerpiece of LOVE, it the women in his life and the exertion of his influence over them, as well as their own complex relationships that form the core of LOVE, for Cosey was, by all accounts, charismatic and charming, quirky and beguiling...in short, no ordinary man, and his influence continues to be felt long after his physical presence has departed. There is Cosey's former cook, 'L,' whose narration frames the story contained in LOVE. There is his lover, the mysterious Celestial, his daughter-in-law, May, and, in particular, there is his granddaughter, Christine and his second wife, the arthritic, Heed. Although May, Christine and Heed, now all quite aged, live together in Cosey's decaying mansion, it is the relationship between Christine and Heed that drives the book's narrative because it is Christine and Heed who have the most in common, who are bound together by more than their love and hate for Cosey. It is Christine and Heed who, in childhood, were the fastest of friends and it is Cosey who destroyed that friendship and drove a wedge between the girls. The relationship between Christine and Heed is fascinating as we watch its dynamics and balance of power change...and then change again. Just because women take center stage in LOVE, this is not to say that men are absent from the book. They aren't. Conspicuously present are Sandler, an employee of Cosey's and Romen, a local boy who forms a none-too-healthy bond with Junior, a most unlikely girl. And, most present of all, is Cosey, himself...in one form or another. While relationships form the core of LOVE, there is an interesting subplot concerning Cosey's will, which was drunkenly scrawled on a menu. The will is ambiguous...open to individual interpretation...and the women in Cosey's life do interpret it quite differently, indeed. It is the dispute over the will that drives the physical plot of LOVE. As the 'house that Cosey built' crumbles like a house of cards, Heed's, Christine's and May's vulnerabilities are exposed, as are the long dead Cosey's. The women still have time to reshape their shattered lives, to share their communal pain and untangle the puzzle imposed on them by Cosey, but will they? You'll have to read the book to find out; any hint of the resolution here would be destructive. Like all of Toni Morrison's novels, LOVE is filled with holes and spaces...gaps and silences for the reader to fill in. Almost more than any other author, Morrison requires that her readers participate in the growth of the novel with her. I like this aspect of this brilliant writer and commend her for it. Also present in the narrative are 'trademark' Morrison time shifts, flashbacks, and changing points of view. Some readers may be confused by LOVE'S sophisticated structure, but I found myself enthralled. LOVE is certainly not a romance, but it is a book about love, or, more precisely, about the destructive power of love and about the psychic injuries and scars that we accrue when love is absent from our lives. LOVE is rich and dense and deep and sensual. It's a lyrical, poetic work that you'll want to read once for the story and then again, simply for the language. I think it's Toni Morrison's masterpiece...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT LITERATURE

    No wonder Toni Morrison is a Nobel Prize winner and a very readable one.
    Love is a great book: the story, the characters, the way it is told. At times, shocking but quite enjoyable nonetheless.
    This one is for my permanent library.
    Wonderful, surprising reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Ewwwww

    Love leads to a date. Dates lead to Engagement. Engagement leads to marrige. Marrige leads to 'Husband and Wife time in bed alone'. 'Husband and Wife time in bed alone' leads to kids. And we all know kids lead to...

    NOISE!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Love a novel by Toni Morrison

    Can there be any greater jumbled mess of words? Morrison reminds me a social climber. She tries a bit too hard, and over does it.

    The imagery in Love is contrived and over bearing. Every instant is laden with it. Does the act of frying chicken have to have meaning? (Just asking...) The plot of the story is slowly revealed as Morrison switched back and forth between different time periods. Most of Morrison's reader are accustomed to this, and will adjust.

    However, one needs an organizational diagram to track all of the sub-plots in the novel.

    I had to force myself to finish the book. I simply did not care one wit for the characters and felt no desire to know how they got where they were or how they ended up at the end.


    In essence, it feels like Morrison is like MJ following the Thriller album, always trying to top her best work. In this case, she has failed miserably.

    I know some of your love Morrison, and probably enjoyed this book. To you I can only say, to each his own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Love Love Love!

    A great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    Great book

    Morrison is back! Great story and very typical Morrison. Loved the twists and turns and thought the story was touching, loving, and scary.

    Such a simple story with such a rich back drop. Everything was relevant, even the most minute of details.

    Bravo, Morrison!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    I wouldn't recommend it.

    This is Toni Morrison's weakest novel. Its as simple as that. I felt like I read this book before from her but most of the greatness that was in the others was left out of this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Called reading?

    Let us say this book is not signed by Toni Morrison, would you still read it? would you still enjoy it? I do not think so, sorry, there are other Nobel prize winners people enjoy more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    In love with Love

    This book was fantastic. I could not put it down. When I wasn't reading I was thinking about the characters. Lot of life lessons in this book and it was beautifully and poetically witten. A+++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Her Last, not yet a Swan's Sing

    Love is a very beautifully told novel about two women who had hated themselves so much in life while they have shared (almost) everything in common: a town, a man, an estate, a house and finally a maid. Toni Morrison again surprises her readers with this soft-voice account of a woman¿s love for a man, pride, revenge, passion, scorn and hope. Her prose is quite fresh and breathing... Where it lacks her past¿s adagios we read her immaculate mastered allegros. We will expect more from Morrison in the future, because this is not the ¿swan¿s sing¿.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Toni Morrison is a genius!

    Once again Toni proves her worth as a literacy genius. This book is spellbinding. It grabs you at the beginning and keeps you hanging on to the ending. A must read for fans of Toni Morrison!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    Brilliant

    This book is phenomenal! Once again the mind of Tony Morrison has delivered a book that draws you into the story. This is a chilling story of love, friendship, life, and emotions. It will leave you wanting to know more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    Determined to understand, a little bit let down

    This book does grab you from the start, it takes you through many twists and turns, which most eventually unravel splendidly, however, it left many unanswered questions about characters that were mentioned and even central to the story itself. This was too bad, because I did come to care about the characters and wanted to know about them, maybe in a sequel...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    Tooooooooooo Confusing,-----nothing enjoyable

    When I read a novel, I am reading for entertainment and try desperately to enjoy the book . This was totally a confusing book. 'Love' was more like 'Hate' this time. Toni missed the beat this time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    What is life without LOVE

    From beginning to end, you're engrossed in a spellbinding tale that evokes thoughts of, or feelings of, discomfort, pain, heartache, determinism, compassion, companionship, pleasure, joy, and ultimately, love. As Morrison so eloquently does in all of her novels, she finds a way to make her characters resonate with the reader. The music evident in Morrison's writing lulls you to continue, to discover more, to embrace complexity, while enjoying a story told by one of the greatest story-tellers I've ever read. Worthy of a second, third, and fourth read--whenever you're in the mood for Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Presenting the best

    It¿s not a secret that Toni Morrison (TM) is one of America¿s most read best authors. Love was an excellent story and depending on your background it could be considered a great work of literature. Being a TM fan I view ¿Love¿ as a work of Art. The descriptions of Cosey and the women who love are fascinating. All of the women (including Celestial) in the town of Silk, visiting the Hotel and even in a dream where passionately loving Cosey. In my opinion, TM¿s works of art are read once for identity and a second time for clarity. Not many writer¿s have this skill to present to their audience. But as the first statement reads TM is one of America¿s best writers. And that¿s what the great artist do they present their best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Disappointing novel from one of our greatest authors.

    Toni Morrison is, in my mind, easily one of the world's most important writers, but I was profoundly disappointed by her most recent novel, 'Love.' Her language, usually striking and distorting and highly poetic, is in this case wrapped around a story so completely hollow that it comes across as pretentious and overwrought. At just over 200 pages, this novel is brief, and barely penetrable - unlike her previous works, however, once the astute reader makes it through the surface to the core of 'Love,' they'll find nothing to write home about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    You might have to read this a few times

    At first I was skeptical... More than skeptical. For the first 160 pages (mind you there are only about 200 altogether!) I had to force myself to continue reading. But then it all started to come together. Everything fell into place and I started to figure out the connections between the characters. In the end, I thoroughly enjoyed it... But it's definitely a thinker. Don't think you're going to pick it up and breeze through it! I would recommend the book, but I would say read it twice and maybe buy the cliff notes!! :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    You must take time to read this book in silence...

    because you might need to create a family tree for this one. I definitely wanted one. I found myself going back to figure out who was who. The book did leave me with some questions as to the presence of certain characters. This did not deter me from wanting to finish it though. Eventually, the story unfolds teaching you once again how Toni Morrison can merge vision with words and create a wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3