Customer Reviews for

The Love Affair of an English Lord (Boscastle Family Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Awful!

    While this story had a good plot and idea behind it, it left something to be desired in its execution. It is by far too melodramatic and the internal dialogues leave you wanting to smack the protagonists. The characters asked themselves the same ridiculous questions over and over and over again. The romance was rushed; it felt as if they fell in love about 3 seconds after meeting and in no way was believable. He heroine vascillated between emotions from one moment the next with no rhyme or reason. I enjoyed the first book in this series...this one though...I wish I'd saved my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love this series

    I love this series and this is one of my favorites in the series. I definitely recommend. This is a playful and thoroughly enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dominic and Chloe! I LOVED IT!!!

    My first experience with Jillian Hunter and I have to say I am delighted with her series of the Boscastle family!!! Dominic is a man to die for and Chloe is a treasure! I haven't read romance novels is quite a while and am sooo happy I chose my first new introduction with her books on this family. I have put quite a dent in my pocketbook to purchase all that she has out there right now and available. Thanks so much for these wonderful reads. I read this book in 2.5 hours and have read it over again several times in the past month because I loved the story and the characters so much. I look forward to more of these enticing and captivating romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book

    I really liked this book. Chloe is a fun character in that she's not the typical lady of her station. And it's great to see her and Dominic find love when neither of them are looking for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    One of Hunter's best

    The story was beautiful and full of passion and understanding. I couldn't put it down. There's excitement from the first page to the last. Once you start reading, you'll never wanted the story to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    EVEN BETTER!

    This is a better read than scoundrel and that was good. While scoundrel-on a sensual scale of 1-10 was a 6 this book needs potholders for a strong 9 on the scale. Chloe's family appears to be unduly protective and judgemental however-they come through in the end. Chloe is ready and willing to engage in the very indiscretion that sent her to the country. Dominic is very comfortable in chloe's closet in a trunk-among her drawers and corsets-even if he is bleeding to death.And the ghost-well you will just have to read the book-but beware of strange moans and groans when you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    This book is just outstanding.

    I've always loved reading romance books, but i've never read one as outstanding as this. The characters in this book are so real. Also in a way i can relate to Chole. I have older brothers and sisters ran my life until I met somebody suitable. Hunter is a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    A Meeting in the Lingerie?

    Jillian Hunter has created a strong, unique family with the Boscastles, who easily compare to Nora Roberts MacGregors. The reader never knows what to expect from these individuals. Entertaining does not even begin to describe them. Chloe Bostcastle, the rambunctious younger sister of the Boscastle clan, is determined to enjoy life no matter what the outcome. She¿s banished to Chistlebury to stay with relatives after she¿s caught kissing a man in public. Chistlebury is a sedate country town where Chloe¿s family is sure that she can¿t get into trouble. But if there is to be trouble, it is sure to find Chloe. Dominic Breckland, finds himself in Chloe¿s lingerie. Not a bad place for a dead man. Seems he was stabbed and presumed dead, staged his funeral, and is now intent on finding the man responsible for his death, as well as that of his brother and Chloe¿s brother. Hiding in Chloe¿s closet to escape being hunted, he must trust her to help him. And so begins the journey into murder, mayhem, and romance. Character development is excellent, as is Jillian Hunter¿s norm. Hunter puts two strong characters together and the reader enjoys the sparks flying. Chloe is strong willed, gorgeous, and not about to be bullied into forming to expectations. Dominic is also strong willed, ruggedly handsome, and used to people jumping at his command. Both are quick tongued and intelligent, which gives the reader many pages of witty banter between the two. The villain is not unknown, but how Dominic exposes him is a mystery. The final duel was a bit of a letdown and the outcome expected. Even though we all knew it was coming, it was still very entertaining and a worthwhile reading adventure. I think the best part of Hunter¿s books is the repartee between characters. THE LOVE AFFAIR OF AN ENGLISH LORD is a wonderful book and makes the reader anxious for the conclusion to this trilogy, THE WEDDING NIGHT OF AN ENGLISH ROGUE. My biggest complaint is that Hunter has created the Boscastle family with so many diverse characters, it¿s a shame more books couldn¿t be written to give each of them time for their own story to be told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2