Customer Reviews for

Love Always

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    BookHounds

    Natasha Kapoor returns to Cornwall for her grandmother's funeral and learns that secrets in her huge, extended family have lead to some weird dynamics. The truth begins to emerge when she is given her aunt Cecily's diary that documents some starling truths and sets Natasha on a road to personal discovery. There are a lot of layers to Natasha's history and it is wonderful to see her grow as she discovers the truth about her very existence. The main secret is that Natasha's grandmother, a famous painter, has stopped painting after her youngest daughter, Cecily, falls to her death. Natasha looks enough like Cecily to be her twin. There are so many entanglements in this family, you need a chart to keep track. They aren't hard to follow and each page brings about a new enlightenment on just what it means to be related.

    In a true mystery, the story about Cecily's death and the chaos it creates within the family is told through flashbacks and portions of her diary so you slowly begin to see all of the circumstance surrounding her death. This story will really keep your attention as it did mine as you try to guess what really happened to Cecily. I really couldn't put it down once I started. Natasha is such a complex character and I really wanted to find out what was holding her back in her life, whether her jewelery designing business or her love life. I loved how the story pulls past and present together to create her personal history. If you enjoy Madeleine Wickham or Jennifer Weiner, you are going to love this one. I think this may be my favorite Harriet Evans book yet! I would always try to get the UK versions as soon as they were released and I wish I hadn't waited on this one. Pure reading joy!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    Enjoyed a lot.

    Enjoyed a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    long-kept family secrets, rich characterizations, fascinating story

    I bought this book with the vague notion that it had been written by Hester Browne, author of the fluffy but very enjoyable Little Lady series. (Yes, I realize the cover has a different name on it, but in my defense let me say that my memory was a little fuzzy at the time.) A few chapters in, I was in shock: what had happened to turn an author of enjoyable fluff into an author of deep, thoughtful, heart-wrenching prose? (Again, checking the cover helped to answer that question.) I adore books with complex, multi-dimensional characters, long-kept secrets, fascinating historical details, and rewarding personal journeys. Do not be fooled by the cover: this book delivers in all those categories and more. I can only compare it to Kate Morton's The Distant Hours and Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle. All three are keepers and lenders, full of unforgettable moments frozen in time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    LOVED this book!!!! A wonderful mystery that keeps you interest

    LOVED this book!!!! A wonderful mystery that keeps you interested and guessing! I loved the characters and the way the story jumps off the pages, I felt like I was there watching these peoples lives unfold! Bravo Ms. Evans Bravo!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Loved it

    Very predictable, but still a great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Such a good book, couldn't put it down!

    Such a good book, couldn't put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking

    Whoa. I've read and loved all of Harriet Evans's previous books and this one is no different. However, this book was much different than the previous four and much darker than the others. I would call this dark(er) chick lit. There was some serious stuff in here.

    I loved the different fonts for Cecily's diary and everything else. Ms. Evans's did an astounding job at keeping me guessing what really happened to Cecily and everything else that went on in the family. There were some mind boggling twists.

    But this book does a great job at tapping into your emotions. I had tears running down my face at points. Harriet Evans has another book coming out soon. I sincerely hope it won't be as dark/heavy as this one, but I'm sure I'll love it even if it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Slow start but worth sticking with....

    Love all of Evans' books. This did not disappoint in the end...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    As always, Harriet Evans not only entertain but also create characters that are interesting and complex. I can't wait for her nextbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    A fantastic read!

    This was hands down a fabulous book. Natasha Kapoor is at a crossroads with her jewelry business and personal life. The death of her beloved granny, a famous artist, sends her to the family home in Cornwall, called Summercove. As the family gathers, it's apparent that this extended group has a lot of secrets to share. As she heads back to London, Nat is given her aunt Cecily's diary, at least the part of it her grandfather found. Nat is told she resembles her Aunt Cecily, who tragically died in the summer of '63 as a fifteen year old. The vast number of characters--cousins, in-laws, friends--which I thought would be daunting at first, played out into their various roles very easily. Evans tells the story of Cecily's last summer eloquently via her school girl diary. The relationships of the present day are exquisitely handled as Nat begins to learn more about her mother's distance from the family and and learns a lot about herself as well. I will definitely pick up another one of Evans' novels again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Great read.... i love this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1