BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Love, Aubrey

Average Rating 5
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Love, Aubrey takes a good look at tough circumstances

Love, Aubrey is the story of a young girl who has been abandoned by her mother after her father and sister have been killed in a tragic car accident. Aubrey is able to work through this experience with the help of a caring counsellor who challenges her, a loving grandm...
Love, Aubrey is the story of a young girl who has been abandoned by her mother after her father and sister have been killed in a tragic car accident. Aubrey is able to work through this experience with the help of a caring counsellor who challenges her, a loving grandmother who provides structure in her life, and two friends who genuinely care for her. The only criticism I would have of the story is that the character of Aubrey's best friend shows greater wisdom and acceptance of Aubrey and her problems than the traditional ten year old would have. Overall, though, the story is well-written and poses a lot of opportunities to talk with students about their treatment of others and the way to deal with difficult circumstances.

posted by AmyBrailey on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Suzanne LaFleur

Thank you so much for viewing my writing debut so thoughtfully. Writing this book was a challenge, but I plan to write many more. Thanks so much!-SF

posted by ZoeB on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Love, Aubrey takes a good look at tough circumstances

    Love, Aubrey is the story of a young girl who has been abandoned by her mother after her father and sister have been killed in a tragic car accident. Aubrey is able to work through this experience with the help of a caring counsellor who challenges her, a loving grandmother who provides structure in her life, and two friends who genuinely care for her. The only criticism I would have of the story is that the character of Aubrey's best friend shows greater wisdom and acceptance of Aubrey and her problems than the traditional ten year old would have. Overall, though, the story is well-written and poses a lot of opportunities to talk with students about their treatment of others and the way to deal with difficult circumstances.

    36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    read it now!!!!!!

    This book is an amazing book! Its soooooo interesting and good!!!! Its a little sad but i still recomend on reading this fasinating book!!!! Its better then five stars!!! It deserves about one-hundred stars or more!!!! Read it! It will chance your life forever in a good way!!!!!!!!!!!!

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Aubrey Priestly has eaten the last of the cheese and crackers and finished the juice in the refrigerator. There is nothing left to eat so she takes the birthday money Gram sent and heads to the store. She knows she can buy groceries and take care of herself, but she's worried about what might happen if someone finds out she is eleven and living alone.

    Tragedy struck and took Aubrey's sister and father, and now her mother has been gone for days. Aubrey thought it was best to ignore the constantly ringing telephone since she had no idea what to tell any caller that might ask to speak to her mother. However, one afternoon she just couldn't ignore the repeated ringing of the doorbell. When she opened the door, she found Gram standing on the porch.

    What follows is Aubrey's concerned grandmother bustling about asking questions about how long she's been alone and then giving instructions about what to pack since Gram is taking Aubrey back with her. They ride the train from Virginia to the familiar old house in Vermont. Used to visits only on holidays, it seems strange to be moving in with Gram, but it's a relief to have someone taking care of her again.

    Aubrey gradually opens up to her grandmother as the two of them work to adjust to the tremendous changes in their lives. But even with Gram's loving care, a new best friend living right next door, and a helpful counselor at her new school, Aubrey finds the most relief when she writes letters to the loved ones now missing from her life.

    LOVE, AUBREY is the first novel by Suzanne LaFleur. The story is filled with emotion. The heart-wrenching sadness Aubrey experiences as old memories begin to surface are sure to bring tears to the eyes of even the most jaded reader. LaFleur shows Aubrey dealing with grief and loss as she struggles to understand her feelings and the confusing choices made by her grieving mother.

    This is a powerful story about love, loss, and healing that goes far beyond its targeted middle grade audience.

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    One of the best books ever!

    This book was so amazing! I couldn't put it down! It made me cry a few times but made me thankfull for my life. I recomend this book to anyone! It is like a rolercoaster with its ups and downs. With an ending that will surprise you!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Love, Aubrey

    This book was amazing. Thd moment i picked it up i could stop. I actually cried while reading it. It made me think about life. I would recommend this book.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    READ THIS REVEIW!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sweet book. Kind of sad. One of my favs! Please buy it. You will love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I cried soooo much and if i wasnt crying i was SMILING!!!!!!!!
    THIS DESERVES 10000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000000000000

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is really good. I became emotionally attached to the character, and her letters were so moving. She questioned why she lived, why her mother left her, why life was so unfair; so many people can relate to her especially after a tragedy. The book was moving and so much was understood if you "read between the lines" while some of it was said out loud. I cried 8 times reading it, feeling her pain and happiness.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Sniff

    This book is soo emotional. I cried during it

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great Read

    Very good book! I recomend for 11+

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Great but emotional

    I sobbed, but overall it was a great book!!
    WARNING: U WILL PROBABLY CRY!!!(:

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    I <3 this book

    This book is an emotional rollarcoaster all the feel like crying parts and im happy BEST BOOK EVER MADE!!!!!!! 5 STAR!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    ?

    I it a good book? Have not read it but i am eager to

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    EPIC

    I think eveyone should read this book beacaause its a book anyone would LOVE

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Great Book!

    Love, Aubrey is an awesome book, I suggest for anyone to read it. It’ll keep you guessing, and make you laugh, and it’ll make you sad at times. It’s a great book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    It's a GREAT book!!!!ONE OF THE BEST!!!!

    It's a great book so far even though im on page 9...My friend told me a little about it and it sounded great so i decided to buy it on my NOOK..
    ..PEOPLE NEED TO READ IT!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    One of the best.

    I first started reading this book during PSSAs in my teacher's "library" I was stuck and every time i got a chance I read this book. I even remembered my page number. Wich believe me, is an accomplishment. I bought it as soon as possible and i finished it in one day. Great read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Luv it

    Greattest eva

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Wow best book I have ever read . Sad at times but makes you greatful for every thing . So happy that i picked this up to read . It realy touched me i think all girls 9+ should read this . Will change how u think and feel for ever, in a good way !

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Love, Aubrey is awesome!

    Love, Aubrey is a great book it really shows ot of things this book is awesome for age 9 and up

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10