Customer Reviews for

Love Bleeds

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best writers of our generation

JR Rain is one of the best writers I have ever had a chance to read. I found him from great reviews and finding a series really cheap on B&N. I have to say I wasn't expecting much but I was drawn into a world and I could not put my nook down. I found myself laughing out...
JR Rain is one of the best writers I have ever had a chance to read. I found him from great reviews and finding a series really cheap on B&N. I have to say I wasn't expecting much but I was drawn into a world and I could not put my nook down. I found myself laughing out loud at the antic of the heroine Samantha Moon and all of the other wonderfully written characters. I would highly recommend JR Rains books to anyone.

posted by Purrfect73 on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fairly Interesting Story- Needs Polishing!

First of all, this e-book does not contain 8 novels, the last 3 are novellas.
Still, it was a good deal.
I will do my best to summarize without spoilers.
Samantha Moon was attacked 6 years ago and turned into a vampire. She has 2 kids who think she's just ill and al...
First of all, this e-book does not contain 8 novels, the last 3 are novellas.
Still, it was a good deal.
I will do my best to summarize without spoilers.
Samantha Moon was attacked 6 years ago and turned into a vampire. She has 2 kids who think she's just ill and allergic to the sun, basically, and a schmuck of a husband who knows she's a vampire.
One of the things I find bothersome is that Samantha has been a vampire for 6 years, yet she is just now discovering all her "new" abilities during the course of these books.
What was she doing during the past few vamp years?
Also, solutions to her problems and the mysteries she investigates as a private eye often come too easily. Whether they be paranormal solutions (Oh look! A brand new vampire power!), or lucky coincidences (a jerk that is blackmailing her with her vampire secret happens to have a big secret of his own that she stumbles upon).
I was annoyed by her excessive repetitive of calling herself a "freak"- it just got old.
Also, very early on, even while still with her jerk husband, she finds almost every man she sees to be sexy.
The author describes an overweight cop with a big belly and a donut-eating problem to be attractive because the big belly is "manly." Oh what planet, exactly?
I found it lacking the basic settings like what she looked like and where the story was set in the beginning. It took a very long time to ascertain these details. Many readers like to have a foundation and this was not laid for us.
Blood drinking and sunlight aversion and such were mentioned. Well done. Fangs were not. Does she have them? Do they retract? Stay out? Big disappointment there.
There are several inconsistencies that simple editing could have fixed too. For example, saying there have been 3 male, 3 female victims on one page, but on the next page saying there have been 5 victims. She says she can't taste anything anymore, yet she binges on a Ding-Dong and relishes the flavor. Or minor spelling errors.
I was annoyed when a character was revealed to be Elvis Presley in hiding because a very successful vampire author has already done that!
I also found it very frustrating how neglectful a mother this character is, only to have people in her life tell her what a good mom she is.
She claims to be close to her sister, yet she confides only in the men in her life that she barely knows. Her sister is there as a babysitter and occasional drinking partner.
All the criticisms aside, I still wanted to know what was going to happen next in her life. I like the investigation aspect and the love triangle dynamic.
This series and character have a lot of promise. But it needs polish.

I recommend skipping the Spinoza shorts. It's just a Samantha Moon rehash with less flair. Another investigator, this one human. Another cop who reluctantly helps out and still eats alot of donuts. Not as insteresting without Sam's powers, which albeit too convenient at times, are intriguing.
Try a bit harder to come up with something new, next time. Even the detective's name is super close to another in Samantha's story. (Hanner and Hammer.)

posted by Raven_WrathJM on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Strongly Recommend. Very good series

    An attention grabbing plot line, spills, chills & police chases! Not quite, but this series meshes the Murder Mystery/Thriller - Paranormal genres VERY well. The language was a bit rougher than I like, or I'd have given it 5 stars. Very well worth the $ if you are a fan of both genres. I look forward to owning the entire "world" of stories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Worth purchasing...great author!!

    I really like Rain's style of writing. 'LOVE' the Moon series [I'm looking forward to book 8]. I didn't want to put my nook down. I could not get into book 7 of this 8-book collection, but was well worth purchasing for the other seven books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Really enjoyed these! Well worth reading.

    Really enjoyed these! Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1