BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Love Does

You know what? I really liked this book. It was a fun compilation of whimsical and fascinating stories by a man who is saved by the grace of Yeshua. The way this man sees life and walks through it is remarkable. From stories of proposals, purchases, children, slaver...
You know what? I really liked this book. It was a fun compilation of whimsical and fascinating stories by a man who is saved by the grace of Yeshua. The way this man sees life and walks through it is remarkable. From stories of proposals, purchases, children, slavery, prisons, guns, Disneyland, and other seemingly unconnected places, the overall theme of love prevails. Goff is not incredibly theological and doesn't really even quote Scripture that much (he more often talks about what Yeshua did while not referencing specific verses). I love (no pun intended) the theme of a love that goes out and actually does stuff. At times, one could feel insignificant when compared to a man who goes around pursuing justice for children in Uganda--a man who frees child prisoners and sets up schools in poor places. However, what I like best about this book is that Goff never comes off as ostentatious or a braggart. Will we all be social activists who live their life like Goff? Of course not. But what one does learn from this book is that everyone can DO something, no matter how small; and that Yahweh loves us all the same. It doesn't matter if someone DOES more than someone else. What matters is that we all DO something. Also, all proceeds of this book go to charity. Since each chapter is a separate life story, one can leave this book for a while and come back to it later...not missing a beat.

posted by Teresa_Konopka on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

highly reommended

Inspiring with many humorous examples. Worth a second read.

posted by 1613533 on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love Does

    You know what? I really liked this book. It was a fun compilation of whimsical and fascinating stories by a man who is saved by the grace of Yeshua. The way this man sees life and walks through it is remarkable. From stories of proposals, purchases, children, slavery, prisons, guns, Disneyland, and other seemingly unconnected places, the overall theme of love prevails. Goff is not incredibly theological and doesn't really even quote Scripture that much (he more often talks about what Yeshua did while not referencing specific verses). I love (no pun intended) the theme of a love that goes out and actually does stuff. At times, one could feel insignificant when compared to a man who goes around pursuing justice for children in Uganda--a man who frees child prisoners and sets up schools in poor places. However, what I like best about this book is that Goff never comes off as ostentatious or a braggart. Will we all be social activists who live their life like Goff? Of course not. But what one does learn from this book is that everyone can DO something, no matter how small; and that Yahweh loves us all the same. It doesn't matter if someone DOES more than someone else. What matters is that we all DO something. Also, all proceeds of this book go to charity. Since each chapter is a separate life story, one can leave this book for a while and come back to it later...not missing a beat.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I have been a fan of 'Bob Goff' stories for a while and whenever

    I have been a fan of 'Bob Goff' stories for a while and whenever anyone would mention one, it made me want to jump in my car, drive down to San Diego and knock on his door. I would hug sweet Maria and tell them both I think they're awesome. And they might offer me some ice cream and a rest on their back porch. We would tell stories and make a crazy plan for the next chapter of my life. And then I would get to drive home and tell the world I'm friends with the Goffs.
    Needless to say, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book. I wanted to read the stories as Bob tells them in his own words.
    This book is a compilation of stories: audacious, whimsical, incredible stories. Love Does is easy to read and is not crowded with fancy words or self importance. It simply gives you a glimpse at a life that holds nothing back. The chapters are short enough that you can pick it up when you're needing a good read, or you can just devour it all at once like I did. Either way, it's worth it.
    The most surprising thing about this book? Instead of walking away thinking what a great guy Bob Goff is, I walked away thinking that maybe I can live this way too. Maybe I'm just ordinary enough, just secretly incredible enough to DO things. And maybe instead of getting in my car to go stalk Bob Goff and sweet Maria, I'll just look for ways to outrageously go 'off-road' with the way I love. So I bought 3 more copies to give away. And I stocked my freezer with ice cream, with the plan of inviting some people over to sit on my back porch.
    Yeah. It's that good. Click "Buy".

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Inspiring

    Makes me want to "do," not just dream. I read this book for the first time from the library. When i was done, i bought it to read again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Read... and DO

    I laughed. I cried. I read segments aloud to family. :)

    A delightful read that will encourage and motivate you to do life differently. To look for opportunities to make someone else's life less mundane. To love others and to love them well.

    Read it, read it again, then pass it along to someone else.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Hey guys. One of my favourite parts of being part of the booksne

    Hey guys. One of my favourite parts of being part of the booksneeze programme is getting to find kind of the yet - to - be - discovered literary gems. In Bob Goff’s ‘Love Does,’ I’ve found such a gem. Before I go on, though, I need to let you know that I did, in fact, receive this book for free from the Thomas Nelson publisher through their booksneeze blogging programme in exchange for an honest review. I am under no obligation to give this book a positive review. Everything that you are about to read is completely, 100% my own thoughts. Anyway, so I’ve been noticing more and more biographies coming through booksneeze recently. The thing is with most of these biographies, however, is that most of them are of celebrities. Or at least people that I’ve heard of. Before this book, though, I had never heard of Bob Goff. But when I read the summation of the book on the review page, I was intrigued. This guy seemed like he had it going on. So I ordered the book and wasn’t disappointed. This book is funny, thought-provoking, and completely enjoyable to read. I love it, and it does a fantastic job of showing how a person can live putting love into action. I give this book five out of five stars.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    In Love Does, Bob Goff describes a way of following Jesus that i

    In Love Does, Bob Goff describes a way of following Jesus that is fun, creative, and authentic. Bob empowers average folks to step out and do extraordinary things for the sake of love. And more than just describe it or prescribe it - Bob does it. He gives real life examples of what it looks like to practice christianity with whimsy.

    Bob opens the book with a story of his Young Life leader encouraging him and going along with him on the adventure of life. He goes on to tell stories of saying "yes" to Jesus' invitation of living life to the fullest. This philosophy has taken him all over the world as he pursues loving God and loving other people. It is embarrassing that Bob's life looks so different from the typical christian because his faith and trust take him to places we should be. His faith in action is inspiring and he manages to tell his stories in a way that invite us in, to go on our own adventures. His tales of whimsy encourage the reader to take chances on opportunities in faith - not knowing if it will come out the way they hope, but worth the risk.

    One of the adventures this has led Bob to is Charlie. First, Bob received a phone call from his friend Doug claiming to be Ugandan Prime Minister Apolo Nsibambi. Doug says that he wants him to counsel him and Bob says jokingly, "Sure, does someone owe you money or something?" Bob leaves that conversation thinking his buddy had a pretty good accent but he wasn't fooling anybody. Weeks later Bob gets another phone call from Doug posing as the Ugandan Prime Minister and this time he wants to meet Bob in New York. Bob says "sure, why not!" and schedules a time to meet his buddy at the airport and is expecting a sign saying something like "gotcha, dinner's on me" or something. Bob arrives and is greeted by Apolo Nsibambi - the actual Prime Minister of Uganda! He is stunned and then the Prime Minister clarifies that he wanted Bob to be the Consul for Uganda, not to just counsel him. Bob sees the opportunity this is for accomplishing stuff that Jesus would love so he says yes.

    As Consul, Bob finds out about witch doctors who mutilate and kill children for rituals where they bury their body parts within a structure for supposed magical benefits. Bob is the first to ever prosecute one of these witch doctors and has the opportunity to take down the biggest baddest for the premiere. A boy has been mutilated and left for dead. But he has survived, Bob calls him Charlie. Charlie is rescued, stands trial, and even has corrective surgery for his mutilation. The witch doctor is convicted and sitting on death row. Bob spreads the word to the other witch doctors that the killing will end or they will all end up like the one on death row. Bob also cares for and loves Charlie: making him the king of parades, setting him to flight with 1000 balloons, and taking him to meet the president. This is what Bob means by "Love Does". This is the love of Christ lived out by his followers.

    Since reading the book I sent Bob a facebook message and thanked him for the book. He actually responded quite quickly and proceeded to encourage me in my own endeavors and relationship with Christ. See this review and others like it at booked and convicted.

    [update]
    I got to hear Bob speak at a convention in San Diego as well as a little church plant here in San Jose and it was pretty sweet to hear what he has been up to. Just this week he was flying back to Uganda to help facilitate the witch doctor speaking to all of the death row inmates because he has since asked Christ for forgiveness and committed his life to him. He will be sharing how witch craft has gotten him to this point and how Jesus frees him from sin. So legit!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Great Book

    It is a fun quick read that is very inspirational. Take action and live life to the fullest. Highly recommended for all to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Hi

    The best book ever ! Read it! Amazing bob gauf

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    highly reommended

    Inspiring with many humorous examples. Worth a second read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Movie theater

    Moie theater.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Life Changing!

    By far one of the best books I have ever read. Bob writes with such an authetic heart through simply telling stories. This book was sweetly given to me and before I had even finished it I had already bought two more copies and given them away. The book holds such a simple message that has such power: love met with action changes lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    It's a book that you will keep coming back to. It is easy to listen to (or read) and the author is so down to earth. I make Love really seem effortless and you can't help but spread it around!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Need a boost? Here it is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Love - Love - Love it!!!!!

    Bob Goff is my kind of people!!!! I absolutely love this inspiring & funny book!!!! A must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    What I have read I love I actually had the previledge of hearing Mr Goff speak at my church Canyon Ridge Christian Church what a great inspiration to follow I tell you if we all shared the love what a great world it would be I am actually going to purchase this book for some of my family members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Just do!

    Very moving, encouraging, insightful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Mixed feelings

    I was hoping for more of a daily "see the opportunity", intentional acts of (more than kindness) that each of us can begin to do. Instead it was more of a "see how crazy and fun I am", with a few incredible actions in there. I was most touched by the young life advisor's "I'm with you, Bob" and spent half the book wanting to know how that man got to that point.

    When I read about the accident with the Jeep, I thought, "Here we go - they're both going to need to get around now. She has a car and he has a driver's license - he'll build a relationship where they can help each other!" Instead he brushes her off with flowers and "leave me alone" (granted, a gracious way to brush someone off, but he avoided an opportunity I think he was offered). Of course, I don't know all the details of that story, so I may be too presumptuous here.

    In the end, the later chapters (especially "Lose the Cape") were helpful, but I had much higher hopes for this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspired

    My niece wanted this book. She is 21 & a senior at a Christian College. She very much enjoyed the book & said it helped her immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Inspiring!

    If you ever needed some motivation to live your life to the fullest, read this book! If you are anything like me, you fall in love with life by watching others love their passion and by living their lives with meaning. Bob Goff is incredibly humorous and takes you on a trip to see a world that is far better than the world we see. He shows us the sad reality, but he also shows the reader the joyous solution to deal with the circumstances we are in. This is a man with the heart of God and the spirit of a child. Best book I have ever read that bettered my life and opened my eyes to opportunities unseen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Brandon Heath

    Brandon heaths song love does was inspired by this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4