Customer Reviews for

Love Finds You in Amana, Iowa

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Took a chance on this book...

I didn't pick up this book because it was set in the Civil Way era nor because it was about the Amana Kolonies. I simply picked it up because it was Christian fiction and it looked like a good read. Sometimes when I do this, I'm disappointed, but not this time! This boo...
I didn't pick up this book because it was set in the Civil Way era nor because it was about the Amana Kolonies. I simply picked it up because it was Christian fiction and it looked like a good read. Sometimes when I do this, I'm disappointed, but not this time! This book is hands down one of the best I've read in a long time! This book is believable with true-to-life characters in real situations...no "fluff" here! The added bonuses were learning more about Amana and seeing the war through new eyes. A truly great read!

posted by MichelleinIndiana on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommend to the historically curious

This is a period piece with a lot of interesting information about the Amana colonies. The story would not probably be as interesting in a less unique setting, but I found it intriguing and worth my time

posted by 15416372 on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the Civil War aspect

    I love the Amana Colonies and reading about how things were there way back when so this book was right up my alley. I loved the setting being the Amana Colonies as they were just getting started and it being in the middle of the Civil War but since it was in Iowa how did that affect a bunch of people opposed to war? This book answers that question. And what about if one man from Amana felt God leading him to enter the war even though it went against everything he had been raised to believe? This book answers that question too. I was kind of expecting some kind of mystery or suspense just because this book is written by Melanie Dobson and that wasn't to be found, but it was so enjoyable and I loved the characters. A very satisfying book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Historical romance during Civil War

    Love Finds You in Amana, Iowa by Melanie Dobson is the latest historical romance in the nationwide series. Amalie Wiese loves her life in the Amana colonies, and she volunteered to be one of the few women traveling from New York to the new community home in Iowa in order to finally marry her sweetheart, Friedrich Vincenz, and have her own kitchen house. The couple has been separated for a few years while waiting for Friedrich to come of age to marry, but their time apart has not changed the depth of their love for each other. Friedrich, however, is deeply affected by meeting a Union army officer and a former slave who confront him about his community's refusal to take part in the war. He tries to fight the growing feeling that God wants him to fight against slavery, knowing that he will disappoint not only Amalie, but his best friend Matthias as well, but he eventually gives in to God's urging and signs up in the Iowa Volunteers. Matthias is left behind to try and explain what he doesn't understand to Amalie, as well as fight the feelings he's had for his best friend's girl for ten years. Matthias hides his deep affection for Amalie behind a mask of anger, which makes the young woman even more alone in a new place that is nothing like she expected it to be. Each of these three must follow the Lord and their heart to find where they belong. Dobson pulls readers into this 19th century world through historical detail and great descriptions. Each of the characters is sympathetic, and readers will find themselves torn between Friedrich and Matthias. This romance is moving, heart-breaking, and in the end, full of hope. It's a solid addition to the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Faith, Doubt, and Peace During the Civi War!

    Friedrich Vinzenz is a construction worker in the new Kolinie of Amana, Iowa. It's 1863; and while Friedrich's fiancé, Amalie, is traveling from the East to Iowa, the North and South are battling over slavery. They belong to the Inspirationist religious sect that prays for peace but refuses to fight; instead upon notice of conscription, their Elders pay for another to be a substitute in their place within the Union Army. During the journey, Friedrich meets Joseph, a slave whose body bears the scars of horrific beatings but whose spirit looms large and free. His story haunts Friedrich to the point that he feels led by God to fight for those still held in inhuman bondage in the South. It's a huge move, taken after much pondering and knowing his pacifist community will never condone his leaving!

    Amalie arrives to find Friedrich gone. For three years, she has been faithful to their upcoming marriage and now she is devastated to find him gone. Friedrich's best friend, really raised as a brother to him, Matthias is also shattered that his friend has abandoned him without saying goodbye. His anger at Amalie is a problem that others notice, but he buries himself in work and is downright rude to her each time she appears. Finally, he tells her to stay away from him. Given his background, Matthias is having an awful time, filled with unspeakable thoughts he can share with no one.

    Devastation visits Amalie, Matthias and Friedrich's family and the reader is unsure whether any of them will ever know peace again. At a certain point, Matthias realizes he may not be called to fight in the Civil War, where over 600,000 will eventually die, but can play a peaceful and very useful role which the Elders in his community approve. While all of this occurs, love quietly bonds certain couples in a way this author presents with humor, shyness, doubts, fears, and approval that comes with a deep sense of serenity.

    Resolution arrives after a secret mission is attempted, and all characters have learned to live with their positive and negative memories of the war's effect. Love Finds You in Amana Iowa is a lovely story that is both very real and very ideal - a graceful story of struggle and redemption, a potent and charming read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book!

    Great story set during the civil war. Its the struggles of a community trying to remain netural yet contribute something to the war.The heroine is a woman traveling to meet with her beloved only to find he's gone off to serve in the war. As she comes to grips with his departure prior to her arriving in Amana she discovers that sometimes God's plan is not our own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Excellent book.

    Well written book with insightful descriptions of Amish community. Takes place during Civil War & aptly describes struggles encountered. A pleasure to read, paced just right. Nice book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    loved it

    loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good story. I enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1