Customer Reviews for

Love Finds You in Amana, Iowa

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Took a chance on this book...

I didn't pick up this book because it was set in the Civil Way era nor because it was about the Amana Kolonies. I simply picked it up because it was Christian fiction and it looked like a good read. Sometimes when I do this, I'm disappointed, but not this time! This boo...
I didn't pick up this book because it was set in the Civil Way era nor because it was about the Amana Kolonies. I simply picked it up because it was Christian fiction and it looked like a good read. Sometimes when I do this, I'm disappointed, but not this time! This book is hands down one of the best I've read in a long time! This book is believable with true-to-life characters in real situations...no "fluff" here! The added bonuses were learning more about Amana and seeing the war through new eyes. A truly great read!

posted by MichelleinIndiana on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommend to the historically curious

This is a period piece with a lot of interesting information about the Amana colonies. The story would not probably be as interesting in a less unique setting, but I found it intriguing and worth my time

posted by 15416372 on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Took a chance on this book...

    I didn't pick up this book because it was set in the Civil Way era nor because it was about the Amana Kolonies. I simply picked it up because it was Christian fiction and it looked like a good read. Sometimes when I do this, I'm disappointed, but not this time! This book is hands down one of the best I've read in a long time! This book is believable with true-to-life characters in real situations...no "fluff" here! The added bonuses were learning more about Amana and seeing the war through new eyes. A truly great read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Serving God in the midst of a Civil War!

    In Amana, Iowa in 1863, there waits a man by the name of Friedrich Vinzenz. He's been working as a clockmaker in the Kolonie as his beloved, Amalie Wiese who is headed by wagon train to make a new life together after being separated for almost a year. In order for any of the Inspirationalists men to marry, they have to wait until they are twenty-four and then be separated for a year before they can marry. Just knowing that Amalie will soon be here and has waited for him since he had left, is more than he can bare.

    While they are working on the final harvest a Union General arrives bearing letters for Friedrich and Matthias Roemig to be conscripted in the Union Army. Fortunately for them the elders of the town will pay their commutation fees so that they won't have to serve after all. They are told the reasons for this war is to free the slaves from the South since they don't have anyone to fight for them. When Friedrich meets Joseph, a former slave, who shows him the scars of what he had to endure as a slave, Friedrich believes God is calling him to serve. Fearing his friend Matthias will only succeeding in talking him out of joining, he leaves while it is still dark outside and leaves to where he believes God is calling him. He only hopes the letters he leaves behind for his family, Matthias and Amalie will explain it for him.

    While Amalie is riding with her best friend Karoline in the wagon train headed towards Amana, they are faced with the horror of meeting the up with the Confederates and Rebels as they are battling in the town of Lisbon. The Rebels have burned the bridge leading to Amana and have burned the buildings in town leaving no where for them to rest before their final leg on the journey. When the are confronted by soldiers when their guide, Mr. Faust leaves, Karoline falls and hits her head. With no doctor aboard, Amalie does what she can to care for Karoline but isn't sure she will make it without a doctor.

    While she heads into town with Karoline and Mr. Faust in search of a doctor, Amalie learns that just because their Kolonie keeps to themselves, it won't prevent the war from coming to her town in Amana. When Amalie arrives in Amana, she learns from the men, that Friedrich has joined the war. Now she isn't sure if he will be the same man when he returns if he returns at all.

    In the newest novel Love Finds You in Amana, Iowa by Melanie Dobson, the readers become a silent character in seeing both sides of the Civil War. We get to see the struggle Friedrich faces when he believes God has called him to fight for those who can't fight for themselves. We also see the struggle of the worried wife to be, with Amalie's fears of trusting God enough to take care of Friedrich even though she fears she may never see him again. She learns that God will never allow her to be alone and though she may have questions that can never be answered, she learns that you can't be angry at God.

    I received this book compliments of Christian Blog Alliance for my honest review and have been a huge fan of the Love Finds You Series of books for many months now. This one defines the power of learning to trust God's will for you in your life, even if the path you wanted isn't the one He has in store for you. I highly recommend this book with a 5 out of 5 star rating. It will captivate you and capture your heart!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging Civil War drama

    As the Civil War devastates the nation, the seven Amana Colonies villages constructed less than a decade ago in Iowa remain out of the deadly fray for the most part. Twenty-four year old hard working Amalie Wiese arrives from the Inspirationists' original Kolony, Ebenezer, New York at the Amana village to meet her betrothed Friedrich Vinzenz who has joined the Union Army after meeting an escaped slave.

    Being a great cook; Mr. Faust believes the best ever on the trail; Amalie opens up a communal kitchen to keep her mind off her concerns over Friedrich's safety. While waiting and praying for his return, she turns to Friedrich's friends who she knew back in Ebenezer. However, her fiancé's most trusted confidante Matthias is cold to her though she knows not why. He conceals behind his icy demeanor his love for his best friend's woman.

    Melanie Dobson escorts her readers back to the Amana Colonies (see Love Finds You In Homestead, Iowa) with an engaging Civil War drama. The story line digs deep into the personal conflict facing conscientious objectors opposed to the war on religious grounds as being "unholy" yet the Union argument of eliminating the evil of slavery is powerful and surely supported by God. Amalie and Matthias are strong antagonists who fall in love while the man in each of their hearts risks his life at the front. Friedrich knew his commune would buy him from serving after he was conscripted by the Union Army draft, but he felt slavery is unholier than the war. He brings the moral conscience to a powerful romantic triangle as love and war finds you in Amana.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Makes You Think

    Melanie Dobson writes another riveting story with her most recent book Love Finds You in Amana, Iowa. The Inspirationalist colonies in Iowa valued peace at all cost, but the Civil War came knocking on their door. Can God call one person to peace and another to fight? Can both paths be honoring Him?

    Dobson's storytelling marries historical facts with well-developed fictional characters in a way that makes learning fun. She mixes an intriguing love story into the growing conflict between peace and war. The tear-inducing conclusion of this story is a beautiful picture of courage, forgiveness, and God's ability to make everything beautiful in His time. Love Finds You in Amana, Iowa will leave you pondering long after you turn the last page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    good book to read

    I love books about Amana, Iowa. This one was very good. Looking forward to reading more of the Love Finds you books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    format Paperback (edit) review A very beautiful story about t


    format Paperback (edit)
    review A very beautiful story about the Amana community. I find their style of living very fascinating.This story took place during the Civil War. Some of main characters' lives were directly involved,one of the main characters,Friedrich joined the Union because he wanted to help those who couldn't help themselves-to help free the slaves. Be ready for the tissue box..Friedrich is killed in the war, leaving his wife to be-Amalie,waiting for him to return to be married.There is more to this story,but I will not spoil it.
    Melanie Dobson has become one of my favorite authors, I love the way she writes. The history in relation to the Amanas and the Civil War in this story was awesome-it kept me turning the pages, to find out what happens next, and the characters and places felt so real to me,I felt like I was there.
    I hope that Ms.Dobson continues to write more books on the Amanas and the Amish. I am always on the look-out for books written on The Amanas,The Quakers,and The Shakers.(less)

    comment · see review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Excellent!

    Very good book with engaging characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    wonderful book

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Heartwarming Story!

    Loved this book! Looking forwward to reading more my Melanie Dobson! I hope they will offer more free nook books my Melanie Dobson!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Great Faith

    another great read, strong faith, pain & healing... highly reccomended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Love Finds You in Amana Iowa

    Loved this book u must read the homestead iowa one too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Good read

    !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1