Customer Reviews for

Love Finds You under the Mistletoe

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Mistletoe and Propinquity

    Propinquity is all wound up in friendship and ultimately- romance. It works like magic on unsuspecting people. Propinquity's influence competes with the mistletoe in both the stories of Christmases past and present in this two-novel book, Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe. In Irene Brand's An Appalachian Christmas, Julia Mayfield plans to be a big-city gal, but first she has to allow her nephew-her deceased sister's son-to meet his paternal grandparents. But she gets stuck in the tiny hamlet in the Kentucky mountains when the grandparents refuse to see the grandson and threaten to kill her if she returns to their house. Their son is dead and they'd never heard he married before he left for the battlefield. The story has unexpected twists and turns that told me why Irene Brand has sold more than two million copies of her 50 published books. In Anita Higman's Once Upon a Christmas Eve, Holly Goodnight is affected by the magic of being near a couple of special men in time and space. The little town of Noel, Missouri, is where Holly works at the Little Bethlehem Shoppe helping her adoptive father. A handsome germiphobe author shows up and spends hours and hours with her getting the story of how she was left on the doorstep of the shop and how she's dealt with that. Holly will be the main character in the author's new novel. Holly's old buddy, Owen, double dates with Holly and the author, and always is there when she needs him. Owen is as comfortable to be around as the soft flannel shirts he wears. They've spent years getting to know each other. Which man will propinquity bring to the marriage altar? Anita Higman is the author of more than two dozen books. She writes a great story and I loved the humor that flavors Once upon a Christmas Eve. These two well-known authors make Under the Mistletoe a perfect gift book for those who like Christian romance. NOTE: I was provided a review copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Get Caught Up In Misteltoe

    The only part about reading and reveiwing this book I didn't like was that I had to reead it early. Each year I like to have one great romance, centered in some way around Christmas, that I read the week between Christmas and New Year's when my family is a little relaxed, in low gear. Believe me when I say that Anita Higman and Irene Brand wrote a wonderful Christmas read! The blending of past and present was perfect. The love stories were sweet and left you both touched and angered at the humanness of the characters. I shall not tell you the story, it would spoil it for you! But I do highly recommend this book as a heartwarming Christmas read and a great gift for those in your life who love romances! Grab some hot chocolate, a cozy blanket and enjoy! I don't often give five stars, either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Delightful Christmas novella

    I really loved this book both stories were really good.
    In An Appalachian Christmas we see Julia taking her young nephew to Mistletoe to meet his grandparents. After a long trip on the train and now needing a ride to Mistletoe she finally gets a ride only to have some car troubles this is when she gets there she meets David Armstrong. I love how the story unfolds with between the locals, Julia and her nephew. Julia is also dealing with issues to do with her parents and sister and I love how Irene deals with this. Lovely story which as a tie to our second story in this book.

    In Once Upon a Christmas Eve we read the story of Holly Rose Goodnight who was left on the doorstep of a christmas store on Christmas eve. Vince has come to write her story and finds himself attracted to Holly. Hollys best friend Owen also is realising how much he cares for Holly also. I love how this story plays out also. Holly's story is very touching and the way she faces some of her fears head on are moving also.

    This is a wonderful book of 2 stories connected by Mistletoe is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read!

    I really enjoyed these two stories. Both had excellent characters that I loved spending time with and was sad to say goodbye to. An Appalachian Christmas, by Irene Brand is set around WWII. I'm normally not a fan of novels set in that time era, but I really, really enjoyed this one. Fabulous story about the power of forgiveness. Once Upon a Christmas Eve, a contemporary novel by Anita Higman is set in a Christmas shop in Noel, Missouri. This story shows how love truly can find you anywhere. In your own backyard or even on a doorstep. I highly recommend, Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bound to be a Christmas Classic for sure!

    I am a huge fan of the Love Finds You series of books, published by Summerside Press through different authors and was more than thrilled to review this Christmas favorite, Love Finds You Under The Mistletoe, by Irene Brand and Anita Higman. In this wonderful novel, you get two holiday romance stories in one book.

    An Appalachian Christmas by Irene Brand

    Julia Mayfield made a promise to her dying sister Margaret, that she would reunite her son, Bobby with his grandparents in Mistletoe, Kentucky. Since serving in WW2, Julia feels responsible for finding the time to fulfill this wish of her sister and reunite her nephew Bobby with his paternal grandparents the Warrens. What she finds upon stepping off the bus in Kentucky with two year old Bobby, is a very small town of Booneville, 18 miles outside of Mistletoe and no way to get there. Thankfully Julia gets a ride from a mail carrier headed just that way. However when his truck gets stuck while crossing a heavy creek, Julia sends up prayers for God to rescue her.

    Enter, David Armstrong on horseback who rescues Julia, Bobby and Tom, the mailcarrier and helps to free their stuck vehicle from the creek. When Julia explains her situation to David, the look of concern on his face in helping her locate the Waldens isn't good. Since the Walden's received news of Bobby's fathers death, they have become recluses in their home and never venture out. David isn't so sure that even with Bobby being their grandson that the Walden's will believe her.

    When they arrive at the deserted, rundown home of the Warrens, Julia is threatened with being killed if she doesn't leave, but where does one go in the town of Mistletoe with only a school and a post office in town. Lucky for her, David has the answer.

    This story took me right to the small, isolated town of Mistletoe, Kentucky, lost in the deep, dark forests to see if things will work out for Julia and Bobby. Seems small town charm does bring out the best in some people.

    Once Upon A Christmas Eve by Anita Higman

    Holly Goodnight was left on the doorstep of the Little Bethlehem Shoppe as an infant by her mother one night and since then it's all Holly can think about as she has grown is where her mother is and why she left her behind. Working at the store, which has now been voted the best Christmas shop in America, Holly realizes that her "father" has done the very best he could even though he himself never married in taking care of her in the small town of Noel, Missouri.

    Owen Quigley is Holly's best friend throughout her childhood in Noel, and has for quite some time seen himself as more to her than just a friend, but not to Holly. When an unexpected stranger shows up in town, Van Keaton, a writer who wants to capture Holly's story in a book, Owen realizes that it's time to finally be honest to Holly about what his true feelings are for her. Yet for Holly having someone who is willing to help her search for her mother, causes her to feel something more for Van Keaton, but is it love?

    What I loved about these two heartwarming romance stories is that even though they are both different, they are connected by one seemingly small act in each book. I just know that if you're like me, reading a great Christmas romance is just what you need to put you in the holiday spirit.

    I received this book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and present it with a 5 out of 5 stars. This is truly a great Chr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Well Worth Reading

    This book is two Christmas stories in one. The first, "An Appalachian Christmas" is set in Mistletoe, Kentucky, deep in the Appalachian Mountains. Julia Mayfield brings her nephew to this tiny town to meet his paternal grandparents, which was her sister's dying wish. She meets David Armstrong, a WWII vet like herself and they make an instant connection. Several turns of events leave Julia in Mistletoe longer than the week she had planned. A Christmas miracle happens, changing things for Julia. Could a miracle be in the works for David and Julia?

    "Once upon a Christmas Eve" is set on present day Noel, Missouri. Holly Goodnight owns a Christmas shop that has just been voted the best Christmas shop in America. Writer Van Keaton comes to town, wanting to turn Holly's story into a novel. She agrees to let him tell the tale about how she was left as an infant on a doorstep on Christmas Eve. But lifelong friend Owen Quigly doesn't like the attention Van is paying to Holly and sets out on his own quest to win Holly's heart.

    I really enjoyed this book. Both stories were well written, with likable, believable characters. As is usual for books in the "Love Finds You" series, the location was central to both stories. "An Appalachian Christmas" appealed to me because of it's unique time period, the era immediately following WWII. "Once upon a Christmas" was a fun read with plenty of humor and quirky characters. Irene Brand and Anita Higman have both written stories well worth reading.

    **I was provided a complimentary copy of the book by the author for review purposes. However, I only post reviews of books I truly liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    A Wonderful Christmas Read

    Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe: Once Upon a Christmas Eve

    I loved this book. As I turned the last page, I actually released a contented sigh. Such a sweet, sweet story. This book kept me captivated throughout the entire novella. I love a good romance or Christmas story, so this Christmas romance was a win/win for me. You won't regret spending time with these wonderful people as you find yourself swept up in their lives.

    This is my first review and book of Anita Higman and I certainly hope it won't be my last. In fact, I'd love to hear more stories set in Noel with Owen and Holly as secondary characters. HINT! HINT! Anita is definitely being added to my favorite authors list.

    Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe: An Appalachian Christmas
    by Irene Brand
    ?
    This book is full of surprises. I enjoyed reading a Christmas romance set in the post-World War II era. The setting is beautifully described by Irene Brand. I felt as if I walked the trails, sat on the front porch, and lived alongside her characters.

    I invite you to take a journey to the Appalachian Mountains where love finds you under the mistletoe with an Appalachian Christmas. You'll be entertained by a wonderful story that shares how all things are possible with God and that sometimes, the most complicated of situations can become clear in the right surroundings. We just have to listen to what God is telling us. I'll definitely be reading more of Irene's writing. I hope you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe

    I love Christmas books. But over the years, I've become somewhat of a Christmas book snob. When I pick one up and begin to read, the book has to offer the same kind of promise I expect on Christmas Eve ... anticipation for what's to come, a tingle of mystique and the same kind of satisfaction found in the perfect cup of hot cocoa ... in other words ... it has to grab me quickly or I'm on to another book. Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe did just that. The book is comprised of two tales. I began with the present day tale, Once Upon a Christmas Eve. I wasn't disappointed. When the famous novelist Van Keaton arrives in Noel, Missouri he quickly seeks out the beautiful co-owner of The Little Bethlehem Shoppe. It has recently been voted the best Christmas shop in America and the residents of the small Ozark town are delighted, especially the shop's co-owners Holly Rose Goodnight and her adopted father, Albert Goodnight. Keaton wants to showcase Holly's story of abandonment on Christmas Eve in his next book. While she finds the idea a bit hurtful, her friend encourages her to spend time with Keaton and find out more about the writer and his ideas. What her best friend, Owen Quigly did NOT expect, however, was a romance to develop between the two. He's been in love with Holly since they were children but has always been certain that she'd be available when he was ready to move things to the next level. Now, Holly is spending more and more time with the famous Van Keaton and Owen is regretting not telling Holly about how he feels. When Owen realizes he is about to lose Holly, he begins an aggresive gentleman's campaign to win her back. Owen's actions will delight any reader who enjoys romance, tension, playfulness and sparks. Ms. Higman is a master at weaving those elements together. Who knew shampooing hair could be so enticing! Loved it. In An Appalachian Christmas, Irene Brand tells a tale set in the 1940's. It too, takes place in the Ozarks in a small community called Mistletoe -- not far from Noel, Missoui. Just before Julia Mayfield's sister died, she made Julia promise to take her young son to meet his grandparents in Mistletoe. Julia agrees and sets off to grant her sister's wish. But her two-year-old nephew is more taxing than she imagined and when Julia finds that Mistletoe is no more than a post office and a holler, she's shocked. There's nowhere to stay and she has a weary and ill-tempered toddler to care for. The last straw comes when she and the kind old mail carrier get stuck in a creek. Near tears, she prays that God will deliver an answer. Within moments, David Armstrong appears and rescues the threesome. David even suggests she stay with his grandmother until Julia has a chance to take Bobby to his grandparents. Being a city girl, Julia soon finds out she has a great deal to learn about country living. She also learns of hidden secrets and lost love. Through it all, she falls more deeply in love with David and realizes she will have to make the decision to walk away from a man who made a death-bed promise or risk losing her own identity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Delightful

    The saddest thing happened yesterday. I finished Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe. The book has two stories, the first, An Appalachian Christmas by Irene Brand. Julia has returned from World War II and instead of finally hearing her folks tell her they're proud of her,she is given the responsibility of her nephew. She has agreed to take the child to meet his paternal grandparents in the Appalachian village of Mistletoe. She arrives thinking the grandparents will be thrilled to meet the boy, but instead the grandfather threatens her life. The story is a wonderful Christmas story of love, redemption and family.

    The second story in this book is Once Upon a Christmas Eve, by Anita Higman. A contemporary tale of a young woman, Holly, her dad, Mr. Goodnight and her best friend, Quig. The relationships are rich, comfortable and fun. Holly has always known that she had been abandoned by her mother and adopted by Mr. Goodnight, owner of a delightful Christmas shop, but has found joy in bringing happiness to those around her. But then multi published author Van Keaton comes along wanting to write her story and life suddenly becomes confusing. One word to describe this story - delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1