Customer Reviews for

Love Game: The Matchmaker Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    Cute, fun, and quirky. I felt like I was reading a game of Clue

    Cute, fun, and quirky. I felt like I was reading a game of Clue. Love Game finds the seemingly idyllic town of Cannes once again embroiled in a mystery. It comes complete with odd characters, including Gladie and her grandmother, Zelda, who is not happy that a new psychic matchmaker Luanda is in town. Add in accidents, kidnapping and murder, and you'd think it would be a somber affair. Oh no, Elise Sax has a slapstick comedy that makes these serious events a light, breezy wind. I don't think I've ever laughed so hard when reading about murder.
    Be forewarned, while there are some elements to romance in this book, if that is what you are reading for, you may be disappointed. There are now three hunky guys in Gladie's life, but romance takes a backseat to the aforementioned crazy antics. Still, this is a hilarious read that I would recommend to just about anyone. Can't wait for more in this series!!
    I was gifted a copy of this book through Goodreads first books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Great read...

    Laughing out loud, would read the other book first. Can't wait for the next one to come out. New favorite author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Loved it!

    This is the 3rd book in Elise Sax's Matchmaker series and by the end you will be begging for more! I loved all 3 books but I think this one has the best mystery to it. The characters are outrageous and will literally have you laughing out loud. (I got some wierd looks from my coworkers, lol) I can't wait for her next book!!! If you are a fan of Stephanie Plum you NEED to read this series! I think the Plum series is repetitive after you read a couple, the Matchmaker series will keep you guessing and laughing the whole way through!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the third book in the Matchmaker Series by Elise Sax and

    This is the third book in the Matchmaker Series by Elise Sax and I snagged this book from Netgalley.  The series started with An Affair to Dismember and was followed up by Matchpoint; I gave both of them 5 stars. 

    Fall has come to Cannes and Gladie begins this book by digging out her winter clothes that have been stored in her grandmother's shed.  When her grandmother warns her about opening the suitcase due to spiders - big nasty ones, Gladie's day just goes downhill from there. Zelda, her grandmother, predicts there is an ill wind blowing through Cannes, and with it comes mayhem, misunderstandings, and murder - or in other words, just another typical Gladie adventure.

    Gladie has the usual bad time of it in this book.  There are car crashes, physical injury, vomiting, and general craziness that follows her around. She ends up making one match (which her and her grandmother came up with at almost the exact same moment), one unmatch, one on the house matching suggestion and figuring out the whodunit of the murder.

    This book had all the same hijinx and hilarity of the first two, but for some reason I had a harder time diving into the book.  I started and stopped several times, just not feelinging it like I had on the first two.  About 1/3 of the way in I finally got excited and caught up in the action. This was a good book, but it just didn't have the pizzazz of the first two.  Still worth 4 stars though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Literally laughed out loud

    I actually got funny looks while reading this. I love this series. I almost cried at the end because it is left with you wanting the story to continue so bady.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    This is the first book that I have read by Elise Sax but it won'

    This is the first book that I have read by Elise Sax but it won't be my last. As it is the 3rd book in the series, I probably would have enjoyed it more if I had read the first two books. I say this only because I didn't understand some of the relationships between the characters. That being said, overall I really enjoyed reading this book.
    Gladys Burger has moved to Cannes, CA to help her grandmother in the matchmaking business. Her grandmother thinks Gladie has the "gift". I am not sure that I agree with her grandmother, since this book doesn't include Gladie making any matches. I think Gladie's gift may be for solving murder mysteries rather than matchmaking. The character development of Gladie is excellent. I have never "met" a more accident prone heroine as Gladie. If it can go wrong around Gladie, it will which creates many laugh out loud moments for readers.
    Gladie seems to be a magnet for good looking men, so there is always a little romance in the story; but it seems to be more about flirtation than actual love. She is commitment phobic to most everyting in life, so I wasn't sure why she got upset about Spencer going back to his womanizing ways when she was also attracted to Remington and still thinking about Holden, her previous boyfriend. (Maybe I missed something in the first two books?).
    The story moved at a steady pace and the quirkly secondary characters kept the story line interesting and fun. I definitely wanted to know more about each of these characters. Grandma Zelda's matchmaking tips at the beginning of each chapter set up the action; but not always the way you would think it was going to go. This is a light, fluffy cozy mystery-comedy that can provide readers with an enjoyable time away from reality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Love Game is a quirky, fun, lol, slap stick murder mystery with

    Love Game is a quirky, fun, lol, slap stick murder mystery with a slight romance on the side. 

    Gladie Burger is being trained as a match maker by her psychic grandmother. Watching Gladie fumble through life is kind of like watching a series of unfortunate events. If it can go wrong it will...from a bear eating the driver's side of the car to an old man sleep walking nude, it all happens to Gladie. 

    You'd think with all Gladie's bad luck she'd have trouble finding a man, but they seem to be lining up or at least deflecting the ones in line. 

    If you are looking for a fun, easy read, Love Game is the book for you.

    I received this ARC copy of Love Game from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication February 25, 2014.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    I love this series! I can't help but laughing out loud! It is st

    I love this series! I can't help but laughing out loud! It is steamy, quirky mystery that I gave up trying to predict the ending. You never know where the story is going. I love the characters new and old. The funny twists and turns in the book have me wanting to find out where the author gets her inspiration.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out loud funny!  This is the third hilarious installment i

    Laugh out loud funny!  This is the third hilarious installment in Elise Sax Matchmaker series and just as belly aching funny as the first two.  
    Grandma Zelda may be good at finding love matches but Gladie is better at finding trouble and dead bodies.  She is really good at that.  Gladie is finally settling in and finding a home and friends in Cannes.  Sure she is an apprentice matchmaker with her own problems with men but she has a couple of good matches under her belt.  She may actually be getting the hang of this until the competition moves in. Now comes trouble which is what Gladie knows best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Abby to zach

    Hi i am new

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Zach

    Im back

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Alyssa to Zachhhh

    Hey!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Cf

    Df

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1