Customer Reviews for

Love Is Hell

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read (Love is hell)

A collections of today's best young adult novelist yet. This book has all the things your looking for in short stories. Each story particularly Stupid perfect world by Scott Westerfeld caught my attention because if your like me and love to read sassy, futuristic storie...
A collections of today's best young adult novelist yet. This book has all the things your looking for in short stories. Each story particularly Stupid perfect world by Scott Westerfeld caught my attention because if your like me and love to read sassy, futuristic stories that change point of views you'll enjoy this portion of the book. It's about a guy and girl name Keiran black and Mary they both take a class that's called Scarcity. Scarcity is a modern day history class except its focus is on diseases and illness. Anyway, Keiran and Mary have to pick a illness from our time to research and live for a week. Keiran, being a regular slacker forgets to pick one and makes one on top of his head. He picks sleep, in there time the have this suit sort of thing called a "bioframe". A boiframe controls your emotions, body, activities, behavior, and temperature. Keiran thinks sleep would be the easiest because he doesn't have to give up any thing important to him. Mary picks her hormones and emotions. Sooner or later they get in over they're heads and start acting weird. Keiran and Mary start developing feelings for each other because Keiran has to listen to Mary before he can "sleep" and Mary starts writing poems. The ending is a bit predictable, but he the story is only 50-56 pages. Make sure to read the other books as well.
XOXO Esther

posted by Get4crazier on July 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay Book.

"Sleeping with the Spirit" is a good, interesting story. I liked it but it was kinda sad.
"Stupid Perfect World" is a weird story. I could not even finish reading it because I was so confused. I had no idea what the hell was going on. I thought it was really strange a...
"Sleeping with the Spirit" is a good, interesting story. I liked it but it was kinda sad.
"Stupid Perfect World" is a weird story. I could not even finish reading it because I was so confused. I had no idea what the hell was going on. I thought it was really strange and I didn't like it.
"Thinner Than Water" is a sad story. I felt so bad for poor Robbie. I don't usually like fantasy stories, but this was kinda interesting, but I still really hated the way that it ended.
"Fan Fictions" is blah. Paige is pathetic. End of Story.
"Love Struck" is a really good story. It's the best of all five stories. I really liked it and it had a very nice ending.

posted by AvidBookReaderMMP on March 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read (Love is hell)

    A collections of today's best young adult novelist yet. This book has all the things your looking for in short stories. Each story particularly Stupid perfect world by Scott Westerfeld caught my attention because if your like me and love to read sassy, futuristic stories that change point of views you'll enjoy this portion of the book. It's about a guy and girl name Keiran black and Mary they both take a class that's called Scarcity. Scarcity is a modern day history class except its focus is on diseases and illness. Anyway, Keiran and Mary have to pick a illness from our time to research and live for a week. Keiran, being a regular slacker forgets to pick one and makes one on top of his head. He picks sleep, in there time the have this suit sort of thing called a "bioframe". A boiframe controls your emotions, body, activities, behavior, and temperature. Keiran thinks sleep would be the easiest because he doesn't have to give up any thing important to him. Mary picks her hormones and emotions. Sooner or later they get in over they're heads and start acting weird. Keiran and Mary start developing feelings for each other because Keiran has to listen to Mary before he can "sleep" and Mary starts writing poems. The ending is a bit predictable, but he the story is only 50-56 pages. Make sure to read the other books as well.
    XOXO Esther

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love is Hell, but it sure as hell is worth it

    With all the crazed teens out there looking for a love story, you'll find five in this one book. These are unforgettable and unlike anything you'd ever expect from another love story. After all you don't see many love story's today where someone falls in love with a ghost... This book will make you laugh, make you cry, but most impotantly show you that true love existsout there for everyone, you just have to keep your hopes up and search for it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome read!

    This book was a very cool and good quick read. It opened me up to a few new authors and is excellent way to test out their writing styles if you dont want to sit and read one of their full length novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sincerely Addictive!

    I loved every little story in this book and admire all the others individually. Every story was packed full of drama and sucked you in by the first page. The novella Thinner Than Water by Justine Larbalestier had me bawling my eyes out half way through!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From Quirky to Chilling: In This Collection of Short Stories There's Something for Everyone

    I really enjoyed these stories by five of todays hottest teen authors. They were well written and each one was surprisingly different. The first story, Laurie Faria Stolarz's "Sleeping with the Spirit" is the least remarkable of the five. But it's still an entertaining if predictable tale about a girl in love with a ghost. Next is "Stupid Perfect World" by Scott Westerfeld. It's set in a futuristic world, reminiscent of his Uglies series. Two students experience hormones and sleep for the first time, and realize what life was like before their "perfect" society was created. Now we come to my two favorite stories, Justine Larbalestier's "Thinner Than Water" and "Fan Fictions" by Gabrielle Zevin. "Thinner Than Water" is set during modern times, but the main character lives in an old fashioned village. When the villagers suspect her true love of being a faerie, both their lives are in jeapordy. In "Fan Fictions" Gabrielle Zevin paints the picture of a lonely girl who meets a mystrious purple eyed boy who changes her life forever. Finally there is "Love Struck" by Melissa Marr. The story builds off the Celtic myth of selchies, seals who turn into people. I'd reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy or is a fan of these exceptional authors. Love is Hell sure is a good read. I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Why...

    Why is this book by FIVE AUTHORS?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    The Cool

    This book is good i have read it be for

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Lawn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great

    Thiss was an exceklent book although a few of these stories could have been longer! But there was one or two that was hard to understand. It was the one about the girl whos bf was out of a book and the other one was about the old fashion town, well i sorta understood that one. If u know what those are about please tell me! Otherwise else this was a great book! Read on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    awesome

    This is an awesome book. =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    The best!

    a great part of the ''hell'' series! worth your time and efforts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    mh18

    omg i think think this book is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    cooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolll.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    good book

    This was a really good book. I like how you could sample all the authors work. the stories overall were too short. I feel like they all could have been novels. My favorite was the first story: sleeping with the spirit by laurie stolarz. The rest were good too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    OMGEE!

    i really liked the first story it was so awesome. it got me at the edge of my seat. the other stories were okey but yeahs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this

    i loved this book i loved all the stories my favoirte was the thrid even though i don't get it is it Robbie baby or charle's baby because i thought charlie didn't even like girls i thought the fourth one was messed up even though i knew what he was overall good book all good stories theres two out of the three that have happy endings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3