Customer Reviews for

Love Is A Flame: Stories of What Happens When Love Is Rekindled

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Nice

    Interesting stories but the commentary was lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Gary Chapman, the master of love

    Any book written by Gary Chapman is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    LOVE IS A FLAME

    Love is a Flame:
    Stories of what happens when love is rekindled,
    compiled by James Stuart Bell with forward by Gary Chapman
    Bethany House Publishers

    This book is a compilation of over 40 short stories about marriages that are on the rocks or at least in danger of being there, but through prayer, and work, they are rekindled. Most of the stories are only 4 to 7 pages long, so reading this book can be done in short spurts, without losing your place. It gives some good strategies on how to keep your marriage fresh, or how to bring back the feelings you probably had when you were first married.

    I really think that before you are too many stories into the book, you'l recognise some aspects of your own marriage, and you can then compare how you handled your crisis, as opposed to how the person writing their story, handled theirs.

    Recommended reading for anyone whose marriage may be struggling. And this might be a good book to give to newlyweds, to read together.

    I was given a free copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers, to read and review. I received no other compensation for my review.
    The opinions expressed here are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    What real love is about.

    We are used to thinking of a "happily ever after" deal when considering marriage; seldom do we realize that marriage vows also include words like "poor" or "sickness." Death, triumphs, financial difficulties, sacrifice, illnesses, addictions and affairs are just some of the circumstances that several couples have faced. This is a compilation of their stories and about love that endures despite anything; they share how their life had to change radically, and how a new purpose for marriage was found. Because of the depth, and even though the stories are short, I generally had to pause after each one. I laughed and cried more than once. After each story, the person who compiled the book gives a short insight about the situations exemplified, along with biblical principles to learn from.
    There is nothing fancy about this book. It's just mere reality and an eye-opener. It's what any one of use might face one day but would never like to. And in that sincerity, it is also one of the best books I have read. Any couple, whether engaged, married or separated should read this book - it is an excellent counseling material. We will all learn about what the real deal is - true love.
    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Faithful Folios Review

    Vertical Reach = 2

    The stories show how one spouse in a relationship draws on having, starting or rekindling a relationship with God. Beyond scripture reference there is not alot of detailed examples of relating to God.


    Ministry Message = 4

    Love is a flame that can burn up any and everything that tries to stand in its way. It requires maintenance to continue to grow. When tended to properly it can warm your home.


    Craft = 3

    The editor who picked the stories selected well thought out effective and inspiring stories many couples will be able to relate to and learn from.


    Aethetics = 4

    I love purple and pink. So if trying to attract women who like to read, love purple and pink...mission accomplished. Beautiful cover. The contrast of the colors caught my eye if I saw it in a store I would pause. If I saw it on a site or blog I'd click on it.


    Dollar$ & $ense = 3.25

    Readers who learn better from the examples and lives of others than from direct instruction this book is perfect. For those who like devotionals, and don't want to hear about others lives...you may not enjoy this as much as something more structured or formal.

    This book was provided for free for review by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love Is A Flame

    Love is A Flame contains the diverse stories of marriage experiences from both men and women. I was pleasant surprised at the stories in this book. I had expected some of them to just be corny. However, for the most part, they were interesting and conveyed important life lessons. Most stories were only three or four pages long. I usually read several of them in a single sitting. At the end of each story, there is a small note from James Stuart Bell, the man who compiled the book. In these notes, Bell simply gives a little counseling about whatever topic was discussed. I think this is an excellent book for any Christian in a marriage relationship. It certainly gives enough advice that there is bound to be something that anyone could benefit from.

    The stories in this book were quite diverse. Some were sobering, some were humorous. Some were difficult and some were light. Some of my personal favorites included: Our Honeymoon and the Dangers of the Demon Brew, The Krikat Caper, It Began in the Nursery and The Only Sure Foundation.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Real people. Real stories. Real love.

    Happily ever after. Does it only happen in fairy tales, or in real life? Over the years love may burn strong and steady, but sometimes it grows cold. However, it can be rekindled - and these stories show how. Be inspired by true accounts of how love was revived and renewed.

    You'll discover that love can grow stronger and burn brighter through the years as you read more than forty stories from everyday people like:

    Jan, whose marriage was restored despite adultery

    Marsha, who fought pornography and won

    Bryan, who realized his family, not his career, was his most important responsibility

    Emily, who learned that real love overcomes unrealistic expectations

    Jeff, who went from dissatisfaction and boredom to falling in love all over again.

    The true stories in Love Is A Flame will warm your heart and show you how to create a new spark in your marriage and build it into a glowing flame. (excerpt back cover).

    My Review:

    In Love Is A Flame by Gary Chapman and James Stuart Bell, you will discover how to rekindle your marriage back into the fire it was when you got married. It will teach you ways through real life stories of couples and people just like yourself that encountered issues in their marriage that would have cause most people to walk away and show you that you can save yours if you are willing to try.

    This book is wonderfully divided into unique chapters that address the common issues like the ones mentioned above so you can go directly to the source of conflict within your own marriage or perhaps help another struggle couple out of their mess with strong biblical insight coupled with real true stories.

    I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review and truly believe that every married couple should have this book in their home for review and for a great resource. You may never need it but it's nice to have to provide sound biblical advice to so many marriages that are going through these issues around us. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1