Customer Reviews for

Love Is a Mix Tape: Life and Loss, One Song at a Time

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Heart-breaking and funny

    This is one of my all-time favorite books. It's not only an endearing love story, but a heart-breaking one about loss. But, it manages to be funny at the same time. The music references may be over some people's heads, but if you get them, they are what really makes this book special.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Avid reader, second time reviewer

    IF You are a fan of pop culture, music, or the 90's you will love this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    If you love music, you will love this book

    This book had me from the first sentence. I had laughed out loud and shed tears by the end of the first chapter. I started reading it on a Friday evening and by Friday night when I was out with my friends, after hearing a song that zoomed me back to high school with the first few notes, I was trying to explain to a 22 year-old new acquaintance (I am well over 22), what a mix tape was and the beauty of them. I told her to read this book. It was an inspiring piece of writing that makes me appreciate my loves (my husband and music) all the more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    TD-OK

    And to think this whole time I thought it was a battlefield.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    A remarkable memoir of Rob Sheffield on finding his wife-his tru

    A remarkable memoir of Rob Sheffield on finding his wife-his true love, feeling real happiness, and dealing with a broken heart on the loss on his wife, Renee, through the mixes they both shared and compiled. 




    A beautiful, sad and moving story on dealing with the death of a partner in the midst of the height of happiness in marriage. Rob’s difficult journey truly is heart-wrenching. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Absolutely loved it!

    Rob Sheffield is the sweetest geek ever. The way each chapter has an actual musical score to all of his life events resonated well with me as I do the same thing. All my life events has a song that goes along. His heartfelt story of the loss of his wife and how he dealt with this was sincere and quite endearing. Loved his musical originated lifestyle with all it's flaws and triumphs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    If you love music read this book!

    Great book, nice pace, its a good fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    One of the few books that has made me cry.

    In a time where making mix tapes was a way to express your feelings, seeing this love story develop was beautiful and heartbreaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Heartfelt. Humor within tragedy. It will tug on your heartstrin

    Heartfelt. Humor within tragedy. It will tug on your heartstrings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    A Must read of ANY music fan...which is everyone!

    How often have you been living your life, and from out of nowhere a song is heard, immediately transporting you back to another time and place? The sights, sounds, smells and feelings come flooding back, providing a window to the past for one to look through and remember. Such is the case in Rob Sheffield’s “Love is a Mix Tape,” allowing the reader to connect with him through the music that is making the mix tape of his life. Sheffield’s deft structural approach allows the pop and rock driven sounds of his life, through the very mix tapes that he and others around him made, to build a story that anyone who has ever loved (which is all of us) can relate to.

    Leading you through the mostly chronological story, each chapter starts with a mix tape that relates to the events occurring in Sheffield’s life. Even in the world of mp3’s and iPod’s, the idea behind the mix tape is easier to understand. One takes a collection of songs that express a certain meaning or desire and puts them on a single tape. There are a lot of rules to making a mix tape, and Sheffield follows these rules very closely (read Nick Hornby’s “High Fidelity” for a complete listing). Sheffield’s collections are often eccentric and obscure, making one immediately feel a certain level of apprehension, intimidation, or thinking “who the hell is this pretentious guy.” Even those tracks that are recognizable made me go, “Really! You actually liked that song?” Then I remember that the point of music is that same as poetry, film, and books; to transfer and hopefully connect the ideas of the artist to that another. In this aspect, Sheffield delivers in a way that regardless of musical tastes, one is able to immediately relate and empathize. But it is the hidden musical gems, song lyrics and references that are thrown in as simple sentences, which demonstrate how much music plays a part in Sheffield’s life. In this way you see the light behind many of the dark moments in the story.

    The story follows Sheffield primarily from age 25 to 31; a period of life most of us have issues with even when not dealing with the events that occur here. The plot is simple, well, it is sort of simple. There is no complex event that leads Sheffield to the Holy Grail or to some great moment that would have the crowds up and cheering. What does occur within the pages of the book is the unfolding of the soundtrack of one man’s life, and what he learned and experienced while writing the lyrics. Sheffield’s favorite band lineup, the “boy-girl synth-pop duo” best sums up what Love is a Mix Tape is meant to convey. With the boy behind a row of electronics, the strong female vocalist driving the crowd into frenzy, one can quickly surmise that Sheffield understands himself and what type of music/person he needs in his life. In Sheffield’s words, “One is voice, celebrity, performance; the other is music.” Sheffield also acknowledges that bands don’t stay together, and that music changes. Music is a character in the story, as it is in most of our lives, helping to elevate, motivate, and inspire in ways we never give it credit for.

    Love is a Mix Tape is emotional in the realest way one could imagine. Within the same page one may have to wipe their eyes from crying or laughing. Sheffield connects the reader through his truth, and through his music. Any more information here would be wrong, for this isn’t my story to tell. These are not my songs. I thank Rob

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Fantastic

    Bought the book after seeing rob on some vh1special. This is a really fantastic story, and I am glad he was willing to share his love and loss with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Great book

    A truly emotiinal journey! Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    SO COOL!!

    I recommended this to my Book Club and it was a great success. I love music and have made many a mixed tape for friends over the years. I am a fan of Sheffield and his writing in Rolling Stone magazine. This is a terrific read. Very funny,sad and heartwarming. I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book for 60's-00's music buff

    Great book down memory lane of music. All the music quotes kept the book from being too sad. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Touching

    If you ever made or received a max tape, you will identify with the author completely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review on Love Is A Mix Tape

    I thought this book was kind of depressing, but what I loved about it was the lists of mix tapes. In fact, that was sort of the reason I bought the book. I got insight into a bunch of new music. :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My best read to date in 2009

    I was made aware of this book just prior to leaving for a vacation in the Middle East and ran down to my local B&N and picked up a copy to read on the plane. I had a number of reasons: My son graduated from UVA (SEAS '06) and my wife, Ruth Crawford, was born there. She attended one year at the University and worked at the SEAS but graduated from VCU in '74. In 2007 at age 57 she died of cancer. Her resting place is the Columbarian Wall in the UVA Cemetery. The review of the book resonated with me and the reading of it nearly derailed my trip. In fact I had to set it aside to get on with my vacation plans. It was so easy for me to identify with this young couple, both the joy of their life together and the pain Sheffield suffered (suffers) from Renee's loss; I was entirely captured by the story. I seriously wanted to pick up the phone and call him and extend my sympathies. I still do. I started writing a similar memoir after Ruth died because it helped me deal with the agony of losing her. I had set it aside but I'm now thinking I will take it out of the drawer and finish it. I never met Renee but I am oh so happy that Rob Sheffield took the time to introduce me to her and to their life together in Charlottesville. This is the most endearing story I have read in some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    New appreciation for the mix tape...

    This is a sad book of love and loss but it's great to see someone so down in his luck still be able to hold his head up high to make you laugh. It was also nice to see a lot of old music being brought back to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Must read!

    For those of us who remember where we were when we heard that Kurt Cobain died (Knollwood Tavern, Kalamazoo MI), this book's for you! This story was sweet and nostalgic and full of music memories. It's a great read for men and women. I can't decide whether to buy it for my sister or her husband. Rob Sheffield ROCKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Perfect Depth

    Love is a Mixed Tape is a funny, poignant, touching book that recalls the author's own love story written in mixed tapes throughout that distant past of the 1990s. Rob Sheffield writes with such clear passion for both Renee and music, that even the younger reader born in the last six months of the 1980s can appreciate the novelty of the mixed tape and the songs that are carefully placed on them. I doubt that there will be another memoir to so effortlessly mesh together the open air of the 1990s with all its grunge rock music scene glory and flannel with a tragedy complete with laughter and love. Above all, Sheffield introduced me to the late, great Pavement, whose rise, demise, and sheer ingenuity fits perfectly with the story that he has told in Love is a Mixed Tape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5