Customer Reviews for

Love Isn't Supposed to Hurt

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Christi Paul has always been one of my favorite anchors on HLN,

Christi Paul has always been one of my favorite anchors on HLN, so when I heard she was writing a book I knew I had to read it. I am very much a reader, but only now and then do I come across a book that I simply can't bear to put down. Christi's book is definitely a pr...
Christi Paul has always been one of my favorite anchors on HLN, so when I heard she was writing a book I knew I had to read it. I am very much a reader, but only now and then do I come across a book that I simply can't bear to put down. Christi's book is definitely a prime example. It's almost as if you are reading a friend's journal or having a conversation with them. She connects with her readers in a way that most authors can only dream of doing. Most inspiring is the story of how her faith and relationship with God got her through her darkest times. Even if you haven't suffered in the same manner of abuse that Christi has, anyone can find a nugget or two that they can use to relate to their circumstances.
When I was in high school, I was verbally and emotionally abused by many of my classmates, mostly just because I was just different. I'm quite sensitive to things other people say about me, so it didn't take long for me to internalize their words and begin to think that I was everything they said about me. I had no self-worth through most of high school and often beat myself down over the smallest things. I began cutting myself my freshman year as a way to deal with everything, and I also began to suffer from depression. In my darkest moment, I attempted to take my life in December of my senior year. With the help of my best friends, I was able to make it through.
I'm 22 years old now and I've been clean from self-injury for about two and a half years, but everyday is still a battle for me. Christi's book helped to give me that jolt I needed to finally begin to fight back against everything I have believed about myself for so long. It also helped me rediscover my faith and my worth in God. Christi's words and advice that she gives in her book struck through me and straight into my heart. I've begun to abide by her words and the ways that she overcame her own struggles and, little by little, life is getting better for me. I had always admired Christi for her wonderful personality, but after reading her book, I admire her even more!

posted by Lily_Black on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

If you want whiny sniveling drama this is your book.

I found it hard to feel sorry for someone who just went on and on in her self pity. Perfect looks, perfect career and not enough guts to leave when she knew her marriage was in trouble. This was a sorry read. period.

posted by MrsGris on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Christi Paul has always been one of my favorite anchors on HLN,

    Christi Paul has always been one of my favorite anchors on HLN, so when I heard she was writing a book I knew I had to read it. I am very much a reader, but only now and then do I come across a book that I simply can't bear to put down. Christi's book is definitely a prime example. It's almost as if you are reading a friend's journal or having a conversation with them. She connects with her readers in a way that most authors can only dream of doing. Most inspiring is the story of how her faith and relationship with God got her through her darkest times. Even if you haven't suffered in the same manner of abuse that Christi has, anyone can find a nugget or two that they can use to relate to their circumstances.
    When I was in high school, I was verbally and emotionally abused by many of my classmates, mostly just because I was just different. I'm quite sensitive to things other people say about me, so it didn't take long for me to internalize their words and begin to think that I was everything they said about me. I had no self-worth through most of high school and often beat myself down over the smallest things. I began cutting myself my freshman year as a way to deal with everything, and I also began to suffer from depression. In my darkest moment, I attempted to take my life in December of my senior year. With the help of my best friends, I was able to make it through.
    I'm 22 years old now and I've been clean from self-injury for about two and a half years, but everyday is still a battle for me. Christi's book helped to give me that jolt I needed to finally begin to fight back against everything I have believed about myself for so long. It also helped me rediscover my faith and my worth in God. Christi's words and advice that she gives in her book struck through me and straight into my heart. I've begun to abide by her words and the ways that she overcame her own struggles and, little by little, life is getting better for me. I had always admired Christi for her wonderful personality, but after reading her book, I admire her even more!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    If you've ever dealt with emotional or verbal abuse, buy this bo

    If you've ever dealt with emotional or verbal abuse, buy this book. If
    you know of someone else who has ever gone through it or you suspect
    they might be going through it, read this book. Buy a copy for
    them...if they will be receptive. Read it with your daughters and talk
    about it. This may also shed light to all of you that wonder 'why would
    she ever stay? or have said 'If I was treated like that, I wouldn't
    stand for it.' - You may reconsider after reading Christi's perspective.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    If you have ever been through a relationship involving abuse, physical or emotional, this is a must read. She shares her steps in healing including her counseling experiences. I bought copies for my mom and two sisters. I hope they find it as helpful as I have. I love how she shares her faith in God's love. Thank you so much!

    Cathy

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great book!

    This book tells the truth about living with verbal, emotional and physical abuse. Explains the shame that is associated with this type
    of life.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Deeply Moving

    I didn't know what to expect with this book. Maybe another tell-all autobiography. Oh, Christi is so painfully honest with where she was, what she was feeling, how her thoughts worked.

    The book has given me hope that I will start to feel again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    A A must read for all women

    Thanks to christl pauls courage to tell her story-I was also married to an abuser, my own DREW PETERSON!! By the grace of god I also got away-God Bless you Christi-you have the strength of a lion and the heart of an angel!!!
    As far as Anonymous july 31,2012 are you her EX???

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    :)

    This is a truly wonderful book, i can relate to so many of the emotions christy paul went through an it gives me hope for a bright future, regardless of people who hurt me in the past. Thanks for sharing christy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Didn't like it

    I am a fan of Guptas, but did not know Miss Paul. I am almost through reading and will persevere to the end, but I have not enjoyed this book. Obviously the subect matter is not pleasant, but I find her writing tedious and repetitive. It would have been more effective as a lengthy article rather than a book. If the length of the book is to add weight to the seriousness of the matter, it fails. Her writing should have been more brief and so should her marriage.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Let's be honest--it takes a lot of courage to write a story as p

    Let's be honest--it takes a lot of courage to write a story as personal as the one Christi Paul shared with us. I loved her openness and the religious overtones. My only complaint is it felt she was repeating herself sometimes or would get rambling at points; definitely did not break the book or keep me from reading and enjoying it. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    If you want whiny sniveling drama this is your book.

    I found it hard to feel sorry for someone who just went on and on in her self pity.

    Perfect looks, perfect career and not enough guts to leave when she knew her marriage was in trouble.

    This was a sorry read. period.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Wow

    Because of the review I want to read this book. 1st reviewer Im glad that u have overcome the challengees u faced in ur life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Ebony

    I hate love she yelled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Whitefang and blackfur

    Both pad in and lay ddown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Love isn't supposed to hurt

    What an awesome book! If you are going through some pretty bad times in a relationship or feel that you are not worthy this is a great book to read. It lets you know you are worthy and God is there for you no matter what you are going through or how you may feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Thank you Christi Paul for writing this book. What I loved most

    Thank you Christi Paul for writing this book. What I loved most about it is your compassion for those women who have been crippled by emotional abuse. If you have never been in this situation you cannot understand the difficult steps it takes to leave and heal from the wounds of abuse especially from someone you love. It is like a beautiful house that has been struck by a storm. It is torn apart into a million pieces leaving you with the mess to sort out and you do not know where to begin. Thank you for guiding the brokenhearted to a Father who will build their house.
    Thank you for sharing your story with teenagers and those of us who have experienced this journey. And last of all thank God for new beginnings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Ugh

    The story was lite and not as detailed as you would expect from a journalist. As well, I thought most of it read like I was being preached to at church. I worship God in my own way, thank you. NOTE: Not recommended AT ALL for non-Christians.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    to all the women in this situation

    great book! so many people go thru some form of this,including myself, hopefully it can give some women the stregnth they need to live their OWN lives!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Hit and miss

    This was a pretty good book but got pretty boring with alot of petty trivial things. For instance when she says her counselor asked her to write 100 reasons for such and such..... do ee as readers really need all 100 listed?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Not that impressed.

    Cost too high for this book. Too much other stuff with the story that didn't interest me at all. I wish I hadn't spent the money for it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Good book

    A very interesting and thought provoking book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3