Customer Reviews for

Love It, Don't Leave It: 26 Ways to Get What You Want at Work

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Insightful!

    Beverly Kaye and Sharon Jordan-Evans have written a useful book for employees who are tempted by greener pastures. The authors caution that those who pursue a glittering opportunity often wind up in a golden mess. Thus, it makes sense to at least try to improve your job before seeking another one that, ultimately, may be even worse. The book¿s format offers one item of advice for each letter of the alphabet. At times, the formula wears a bit thin (X for 'X-ers and Other Generations'), but the advice itself is sound. It primarily consists of encouraging you to decide what you want and go get it. We recommend this book to currently employed malcontents (you know who you are!) and to those who need help mustering the nerve to discuss job satisfaction with their employers. Perhaps the best piece of advice is to only approach your supervisors for a favor when you understand their WIIFT: 'What¿s In It For Them.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Administrative Assistants need this book too!!

    My boss received an advanced copy of Dr. Kaye's book, and since he was traveling, I took the book home to read. Let me just say 'WOW'! It was a quick, enlightening and motivating read! I now see how I can take steps toward growing in my present position - and not risk jumping 'from the fire pan into the fire'. Thanks to the authors who helped me rethink my career objectives to grow right where I am!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    The True Meaning of Empowerment!

    A fabulous companion book to Love 'Em or Lose 'Em, Love It Don't Leave It offers step by step, practical advice, ideas, tips and much more. Many employees are feeling the effects of the wild workplace ride of the last few years. Recognizing what can be done to take actions around your own career and understanding the many job satisfaction leverage points you can control or influence can be extremely rewarding and, yes, even empowering! Kaye & Jordan-Evans give the reader all that even step by step guides on getting a mentor, setting goals..the list goes on. A must read for employees who want to recover the energy they gave away and rediscover the passion for their work - and for the managers who want to help them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Take Charge Of Your Own Career

    Love It, Don't Leave It completes a circle. The original book, Love Em' Or Lose Em' focused on the accountability of an organization to their human resources -- their employees. The new book shines the light on employees -- how to get what you want where you are now -- rather than looking for a greener pasture, nicer manager, better fit with a team, riskier or more secure position. Bev and Sharon have said: It's Up To You = organizations AND employees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    Finally, a Guidebook for Employees!

    After years of managing a staff and trying to help them define what they need to stay engaged, here's a tool THEY can use to take responsibility for their own satisfaction. Employees are people ... and people get bored, dissatisfied, and unhappy doing the same thing over and over again. History has allowed employees to take the easy road out when things aren't perfect or when they get bored ... they just hop to another job. It's always been easier to leave, rather than fix! In today's economic climate, employees don't have the same options, it's not so easy. There are things employees can do to stay happy, engaged and continue to grow RIGHT WHERE THEY ARE! This is an easy read, a MUST for all employees everywhere. Walk away with immediate actions you can take to make your current job the one you want to keep! Stop Waiting -- take action! Your job, right now, can be the best job! It's up to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Great Advice!

    This book was recommended to me by a friend. I am not normally a fan of business books - generally they reek of corporate coercion - but I loved this book. The advice is practical and down-to-earth, the tone is friendly, almost confiding - like a friend is talking to you. I think the subject matter is also extremely timely, as there are fewer and fewer jobs out there, and one may well have to (at least in the current market) try to make the best of where they are at work. This book offers lots of suggestions for pursuing workplace satisfaction that I suspect many workers have not considered. I also like the fact that for once, here's a book about how to make one's worklife more satisfying, and it is not necessarily directed towards managers, who already have a plethora of publications to choose from that are aimed directly at them. It's nice that someone thought of the 'rank and file' for a change!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Dis-engagement Costs Productivity

    All organizations need to keep productivity up at a time when they cannot offer much in the way of monetary rewards. Your last book said it was not about money in the first place and this will prove it. Employees who feel that have more control over their job satisfaction will move toward a better fit. Better fit equals more satisfaction. Satisfaction for employees means higher productivity and more customer satisfaction, as well. More customer satisfaction results in more sales. So, spending a few dollars on this book can result in increased productivity, and an incredible and very measurable return on investment. Extremely practical. A field guide for managing your own satisfaction. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Finally, the TRUTH is found on T-shirts!

    It's about time someone wrote this book. The work environment out there is changing all the time lately, and just when you figure it out it changes again. This book really addresses critical issues facing employees today, and acts as a valuable road map to move in the right direction. But what I realized is that it's actually quite timeless also...the strategies put forward would have been just as helpful when I started working, and will be things to use in the future no matter what happens. I really love how the authors have used 'T-shirt truths' as a way to punch the messages and tactics they deliver. I know a lot of people who could benefit from this wisdom right now, and I can't wait to start spreading the 'love' in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Tough Love for Employees Pays Off!

    OK, the gigs up! It's time for all of us closet whiners to 'fess up and admit that the quality of our work life depends on us. The good news is that we have two super coaches cum authors, Bev and Sharon, to assist us in our 26 step( A-Z) recovery program. Their down to earth, brass tacks suggestions are easily implemented and lead to a greater sense of empowerment and satisfaction. I used their space suggestions and I am now the happy recipient of a sabbatical! So, stop whining and start reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    An On-Target Tool For Anyone in Today's Workplace!

    I loved the first 3 chapters of Love It and am ready to buy the book! The humor, charm and user-friendly style that made Love'Em so easy to use all come across in the preview. Spending over 20 years as a Human Resources leader in the corporate world and now as a career management consultant, I've heard the appreciation time and again from managers as well as employees when they are provided with immediately useful, practical and results-oriented tools. I've had much more success with managers and employees making positive changes when they have steps to follow and clear direction rather than to try to draw on theory and conceptual situations. Love It sets the stage for managers and HR professionals to move away from the Mr./Ms 'fix-it' label. With employees being given a guide to assume more ownership for fixing what doesn't work for them in the workplace, managers and HR professionals are able to more consistently take the role with employees of sounding board, coach and collaborative strategist. Corporations talk about managers and HR taking this role and about employees taking ownership for their workplace and career satisfaction, but learning to 'walk the talk' can be a slow and often difficult process. Love It can easily serve as a desktop guide and reinforcer for the steps to take to get the corporate culture moving in the right direction. The t-shirts are great too! Lots of food for thought and discussion opportunities could come from their messages. Congratulations, Bev and Sharon, on another beautifully written, on-target workplace tool. I can't wait to start sharing the book with clients and colleagues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Goldmine of Strategies To Stay where you are and Thrive!

    Love It, Don't Leave It is chock full of value with a storehouse of 'easy to implement' hints and tips. These solutions are ready to 'put into practice' and I especially enjoyed that EVERY chapter provided new insights and possibilities. Definitely worth my while to read cover to cover! From the A to Z organization of the book, I've already used strategies from sections on 'Career, Enrich, Passion,Question, Understand, Values, Wellness and Zenith. All the 'T Shirt truths' add an interesting spark. Thanks to the authors for provocative questions and sound solutions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1