Customer Reviews for

Love Italian Style: The Secrets of My Hot and Happy Marriage

Average Rating 2
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Love!

Everyone, you picked up this book knowing that it was not written by a Harvard grad or established author. This is a cute book written by an ordinary girl, who was lucky enough to be offered a book deal.

I am a university student, and I'm smart enough to realize that t...
Everyone, you picked up this book knowing that it was not written by a Harvard grad or established author. This is a cute book written by an ordinary girl, who was lucky enough to be offered a book deal.

I am a university student, and I'm smart enough to realize that this is a book written to share stories, ideas, opinions, and photos. It is not a physiology text.

This book describes some of the basic concepts in life and love, and you know.. sometimes its the basics that we need to be reminded of, again. This book is enjoyable and leaves you with a good feeling.

Also, you and/or someone you know, knows Melissa Gorga's name, and has purchased this book.... so keep hating because Melissa wins. Its sad how so many grown people live with jealousy in their hearts.

Now go read how to Love.

Italian style :)

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Where is the Zero star? A friend of mine (now questioning that f

Where is the Zero star? A friend of mine (now questioning that friendship) bought this last night and couldn't finish it due to the poor writing style of the author and the fact she has been married for 9 years. She brought it to me today to see what my thoughts were. I...
Where is the Zero star? A friend of mine (now questioning that friendship) bought this last night and couldn't finish it due to the poor writing style of the author and the fact she has been married for 9 years. She brought it to me today to see what my thoughts were. I read the first chapter and just could not finish. I honestly don't understand how she could have received backing from a publisher to write such drivel. I am not a fan of housewives shows, and this poor excuse of a book just solidifies my opinion of "reality stars". By reality stars, of course I mean fame whores. Don't waste your money. If you honestly want marriage advice, my suggestion would be to seek professional counseling, or buy a book from an expert in the field...who has been married a minimum of 25 years. This garbage would set the woman's movement back 40 years...if it were taken seriously.

posted by Alicia4 on September 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Where is the Zero star? A friend of mine (now questioning that f

    Where is the Zero star? A friend of mine (now questioning that friendship) bought this last night and couldn't finish it due to the poor writing style of the author and the fact she has been married for 9 years. She brought it to me today to see what my thoughts were. I read the first chapter and just could not finish. I honestly don't understand how she could have received backing from a publisher to write such drivel. I am not a fan of housewives shows, and this poor excuse of a book just solidifies my opinion of "reality stars". By reality stars, of course I mean fame whores. Don't waste your money. If you honestly want marriage advice, my suggestion would be to seek professional counseling, or buy a book from an expert in the field...who has been married a minimum of 25 years. This garbage would set the woman's movement back 40 years...if it were taken seriously.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    This is the most ridiculous book I have ever read. What a waste

    This is the most ridiculous book I have ever read. What a waste of money. Even one star is one too many

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    You want some essential newly wed advice from this fabulous book

    You want some essential newly wed advice from this fabulous book? POOP!!!! Yes, poop. Apparently you aren't supposed to
    let your husband know you do it, nor are you supposed to let him know you grow hair on your legs and armpits. Human women
    are so last year! Why have a breathing female when you can have a fake one, right Melissa Gorga? Don't forget not to poop!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    I've been married 26 years to an Italian man so I was intrigued

    I've been married 26 years to an Italian man so I was intrigued by the title of the book.  But then I read the excerpt and was greatly disappointed.  If this excerpt is any indication of how the rest of the book reads, I would not recommend wasting your money.  Very poorly written.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Dumb book written by a dumb woman.  This book is all about her.

    Dumb book written by a dumb woman.  This book is all about her.  Thank you, Jesus, that I didn't pay for it.  Melissa Gorga is not a relationship expert.  She is one woman in the beginning of a marriage, and it seems like she cheated on him anyway.  Do not take her advice.  She is an ape.  Buy a book written by an expert or ask your grandma what made her marriage last for 30+ years.   

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Melissa Gorga's 'advice' is worth less than the crayon this was

    Melissa Gorga's 'advice' is worth less than the crayon this was written with . How embarrassing for her .

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    POOR Writing & beyongd boring. 

    POOR Writing & beyongd boring. 

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I wish I could unread it. I have never "quit" on a b

    I wish I could unread it.

    I have never "quit" on a book before, but I just can't with this one--I made it, albeit laboriously, to the fourth chapter. I've had my Nook for 4 years and for the first time, I deleted a book. I thought it might be poorly written, but I hoped to see some insight into Gorga's life that would help me understand who she is and why. Unfortunately, she talks in monosyllabic circles and the book seems more of a vendetta against people who have wronged her with a little "have sluttly sex with your husband and make sure he doesn't know you poop" thrown in.


    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    If you are looking for an advice book about marriage then this i

    If you are looking for an advice book about marriage then this is NOT the one. This book is more of an autobiography is ALL about her and how great she thinks she is. Things don't make sense, poorly written and a waste of money. Also Im not a big fan of all the brand name talk,  about her 7 bathrooms, and rolex watches, Range Rovers, Jimmy Choo shoes etc. Again don't waste your time if you are actually looking for some kind of marriage advice. St. Martin Press should be ashamed for publishing such book instead of giving real writers and authors a chance. 

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Is it normal for a book that has just been released to already b

    Is it normal for a book that has just been released to already be discounted?  Based on what I have read here in the comments and in the excerpt, I guess I am not surprised.  It seems to be poorly written and I am not too keen on taking marriage advice for someone who has been married such a short time. 

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    LOVE MISOGYNIST STYLE- A poorly written memoir/advice book writ

    LOVE MISOGYNIST STYLE-

    A poorly written memoir/advice book written by Melissa Gorga, a Z list Bravo celebrity.

    Dated, hackneyed advice about being a Lady In the Parlor, Cook in the Kitchen, and a Puttana in the bedroom. Speaking of which, there's nothing authentically Italian in this book. Becoming a doormat to save your marriage is a trait I don't normally associate with being Italian, but whatever can sell this drivel. Also, believe the hype about these two morons advocating marital rape. It's in the book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    This book should be removed from the shelves. It's disturbing th

    This book should be removed from the shelves. It's disturbing that this is considered an advice book as it promotes both mental and verbal abuse in additional to marriage rape. Susan B. Anthony must be rolling over in her grave right now as this book sets woman back fifty years. This book suggests that if a woman is does not have dinner made or puts on a few pounds, her husband will cheat on her.  

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Worst book I've ever read in my life.  I borrowed it from someon

    Worst book I've ever read in my life.  I borrowed it from someone who wanted to throw it out.   Now I will complete that process.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    I'm Italian and have never seen the Housewives show. The book w

    I'm Italian and have never seen the Housewives show. The book was a letdown - I didn't realized they've only been married 9 years! I had a hard time connecting with it. I thought it woudl be good beach read, but it's pretty dull and poorly worded.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    What a stupid book, this is not about marriage?!! 9 years of mar

    What a stupid book, this is not about marriage?!! 9 years of marriage and her own husband is not on the cover?!! this is sad and I'm pissed that I read this useless book. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Love!

    Everyone, you picked up this book knowing that it was not written by a Harvard grad or established author. This is a cute book written by an ordinary girl, who was lucky enough to be offered a book deal.

    I am a university student, and I'm smart enough to realize that this is a book written to share stories, ideas, opinions, and photos. It is not a physiology text.

    This book describes some of the basic concepts in life and love, and you know.. sometimes its the basics that we need to be reminded of, again. This book is enjoyable and leaves you with a good feeling.

    Also, you and/or someone you know, knows Melissa Gorga's name, and has purchased this book.... so keep hating because Melissa wins. Its sad how so many grown people live with jealousy in their hearts.

    Now go read how to Love.

    Italian style :)

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    This is the worst book I ever read in my life. I cannot believe

    This is the worst book I ever read in my life. I cannot believe anyone would publish such garbage. No one can write an marriage advice book after 8 years of marriage. It is very poorly written. Save your money. I could not get passed the second chapter!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Poorly written, very difficult to follow - was there no editor i

    Poorly written, very difficult to follow - was there no editor involved? In addition, she contradicts herself throughout. She also sets women back about 100 years with her "advice". A hot and healthy marriage is based on more than date nights, having meals ready, shaving....Just...don't waste your money on this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    The book is fine, ignore all the one-star review from man-hating

    The book is fine, ignore all the one-star review from man-hating rager feminists.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    love this book! I love Melissa and Im glad she wrote a book. All

    love this book! I love Melissa and Im glad she wrote a book. All you haters look stupid because your talking down on a book that you probably didn't even read it. True fans wouldn't bash her that bad even if it wasn't "the best book ever" and her haters wouldn't buy it. So in general these comments crack me up. 

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3