Customer Reviews for

Love Letters from a Duke

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shockingly wonderful..

    I enjoyed reading this book. The story rolled on from This Rake of Mine. That book was pretty much the beginning of this series. This one is about Felicity. She has her heart set that she will be the Duchess of Hollindrake. But that may not be the case since she is falling in love with her new footman! O but this book is just amazing, Elizabeth Boyle knows how to keep you turning the pages. I could not put this book down. I love her writing and will continue to buy her books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    This is a fun book to read. Felicity finds creative ways to get

    This is a fun book to read. Felicity finds creative ways to get around obstructions placed in her path. No money to rent a house, just read the legal notices & find a house held up in estate settlement and borrow it for a while. She has determined that being married to a Duke will solve her finanical problems. The new footman seems to always arrive late for work, but she can't fire him since she does not have the funds to pay him any wages until she marries, and really, he is so handsome in father's old livery. She trys to not like him, but something about him keeps drawing her closer. She can not fall for him, in order to find good husbands for the rest of her family she must marry the Duke. Why does the Duke of Hollindrake not come by, they have been exchanging letters for years, or have they? The cook drinks, but since she makes REALLY good scones they overlook her little problem, they can't afford to pay her either. It is touching, funny, fast paced, rainy afternoon book. You will not want to put it down until you find out how it ends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this!! It was my first Elizabeth Boyle book and I quickl

    I loved this!! It was my first Elizabeth Boyle book and I quickly bought her other ones. This is the first mistaken identity book I've read where I thought the author totally pulled it off. From the second Felicity answers the door in her red woolen socks, I was sucked in. And I stayed there until THE END.

    I loved the characters. I could so see Felicity's vulnerability under her "I'm going to marry the duke and take care of everyone" facade. This was skillfully done. It's difficult to portray this in a character but Elizabeth Boyle did it splendidly. It wasn't a false bravado that Felicity sported but rather a dogged determination that had a touch of desperation to it.

    I loved the chemistry between Felicity and Thatcher and can't understand why a couple of people didn't feel that. I not only felt the physical chemistry, but I felt a genuine liking of each for the other, something that doesn't happen in a lot of romances. It was especially amusing that Felicity didn't want to like him and kept trying not to.

    I had not read any of Boyle's other books, yet I had no problem following this one, so for me I would have to say it definitely was a standalone book. Reading the earlier books later was quite a delight, really. I knew what was in store for Felicity and that made me smile. Yes, the supporting characters were sometimes a little whacky, but honestly, no more whacky than my family members (or yours, probably). And anyway, this is fiction. If I want to read something with no imagination, that doesn't demand any leap of faith, I'll read non-fiction.

    This story was fast-paced and I never knew what was going to happen next, yet as it happened, it was like, Of course! Why didn't I realize that was coming? I love it when an author surprises me and everything fits perfectly into the story. I laughed out loud several times during this book, and that's important to me. Even if a book has me crying during the dramatic parts, I expect to laugh somewhere along the way, or it's not for me.

    I loved it. What more can I say except I'll be looking forward to her forthcoming stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Sage's letter to Siren

    Inse it had a dogtag incribed with S+S. Om the other side was a pic of Sage. Her ead slightly tilted up and black and white. Beautiful. Th tter read-
    <p> Dear Siren,
    <p> No. I don't hate you. In fact, I still love you. Even though we broke up, you broke up with me, i will always think of you. I pray you stay safe and happy while you r gone. My question; do you really hate me? Enough to not love me? My plead- please come back! I have applied to the army. Nothing won 't chage my mind. I will be either- intell spy, navy se sniper, or air force piolet. Please don't hate me...i don't....
    <p> Love,
    <br> Your Army girl (Sage)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Loved it!

    Read it in mere hours. Couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    truly enjoyed this

    best story of mistaken identity in a long time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Loved, loved, loved this story

    Great writing - romance and wit. Such a great way for Felicity to meet her Duke. Can't wait to read Tally's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Loved it!

    Loved the book. Read the second and will be getting the last soon. Great love story, developed characters you grow to care about and another winner by a favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Story!

    Loved It! Could not put it down!
    Romantic, Wonderful Story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A rollicking, delightful romance of mistaken identity, this is Felicity (aka Duchess) Langley's story and her inspired use of her Bachelors Chronicles.

    Felicity and her twin Thalia and cousin Pippin (she's nursing a secret love for an American pirate from This Rake of Mine) with virtually no money creatively contrive to take up residence in London. In fact, given their unique upbringing and experiences as an offbeat diplomat's daughters and niece, these three are decidedly unconventional. Felicity has been in a long correspondence with her duke, Hollindrake, who is captivated by her offbeat charm and has a betrothal understanding with her. Felicity doesn't know that he's the Hollindrake grandfather, not the current Duke. So she's in London to cement the betrothal. Aubrey Sterling aka Thatcher and new Duke, immediately calls on Felicity to set things straight, but she thinks he's the new footman. Each time he tries to reveal himself an event happens to keep him by her side. Soon the marriage-shy ex-soldier realizes that he has an opportunity to get to know the 'real' Felicity, who captivates him by her sincerity, joy of life, loyalty, kindness, et al. But he wants her to love him as a man, not as a Duke. Felicity is dismayed that the duke hasn't called on her and that she's falling for her footman (!) who is honorable, heroic, and handsome, and struggles against it, feeling responsible for securing good marriages for Tally and Pippin. But marry for love she does. The Duke's ball is the big event where the deception should be, but isn't, forgiven. Everyone to the lovers' rescue: Temple and Diana; Jack and Miranda; Tally and Pippin; and the duke's mother, herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Even better than the jacket indicates

    I love Elizabeth Boyle and was not certain about this books premise. Seemed like it was just another in a long line of the same. It is not though. The letters are between the former duke and this young lady in finishing school. The old man croaks and his grandson inherits. The sire was courting the young landy for the grandson but the young lady does not know this. When the grandson goes to the house to break things off with the young lady he gets mistaken for their cheap footman as they are banking on getting funds from the marriage having sold everything just to get to London so as not to get ignored by the duke's promises of marriage. Well, the duke does not tell her who he is and so begins the story. Great quick lively read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    I absolutely loved it!!!

    It was well written, moved along at a nice pace, had excellent characters, and a witty sense of humour. It was almost impossible to put down. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In 1814 London impoverished Felicity Langley may not have a pence for a piece of coal, but still hopes her duke will come forth to marry her. Specifically, four years ago Felicity was promised as the intended of the haughty Duke of Hollindrake, but he has done nothing to even meet her. She decides she must introduce herself to her betrothed.------------- Felicity thinks Thatcher is her new footman. In fact he is the Duke she never met. He knows he is out of character for a staid aristocrat who loathes scandal, but he fails to correct her mistake though he cannot fathom why not. To his shock, he falls in love with Felicity, whose enthusiasm and charm makes him feel good. However, he knows she would marry the Duke in an instant, but what about the footman for he vows to only wed someone who loves him not his title.--------------- Thatcher is a fabulous protagonist who knows he must have an heir and a spare, but would rather allow the dukedom to expire than to settle for anything less than love. He knows he loves Felicity, but doubts she reciprocates as her obsessive objective is a title. Fans will appreciate Elizabeth Boyle¿s fantastic historical as we hope breathlessly that she will admit she loves the footman and if she does when she learns he is the duke will she still want to be with him in spite of his deception.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2