Customer Reviews for

Love Letters to the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful YA novel! In the interest of full disclosure, I recei

Wonderful YA novel!

In the interest of full disclosure, I received a copy of this book at no cost from the publisher for review purposes.

5 Stars!

I just loved this book. Even though I was a teenager half my life ago, this book is one of the reasons I still choose to...
Wonderful YA novel!

In the interest of full disclosure, I received a copy of this book at no cost from the publisher for review purposes.

5 Stars!

I just loved this book. Even though I was a teenager half my life ago, this book is one of the reasons I still choose to read YA novels. There are no silly sparkly vampires seen here. There is really nothing sparkly seen here at all. This book is real. This book makes the reader feel.

Laurel is just entering a high school at a new school. She is given an assignment in her English class of writing a letter to a person who is dead. While Laurel never turns in her assignment, she spends that year writing letters to famous dead people as a way of journaling her very troubled life. Through the letters, the reader learns everything that troubles Laurel but we learn them piece by piece. The biggest piece is the loss of her older sister and the subsequent effect on her family. Many pieces of the story do not come until the end of the book when Laurel is ready to deal with them. We watch her deal with pain and grief in stages as she is ready.

The letters are address to people that I know well since I am older than the intended audience. I do wonder if the average teen reader will know who Kurt Cobain, Jim Morrison, River Phoenix and Janis Joplin are and whether than will have any effect on their enjoyment of the book. This book will probably be best for an older teen as drinking, drugs, and sex (plus other sensitive topics) are part of the story.

We do see Laurel grow and deal with everything that has happened in her life. I have hope for her future. This is a story of a girl having the strength to overcome what life has thrown at her.

posted by Caroles_Random_Life on April 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

What might have been?

Could have been a good book until an honest review. Gave away to much info. Now I don' t need to read it. Teachs me a lesson,not to read long review.

posted by 273898 on April 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful YA novel! In the interest of full disclosure, I recei

    Wonderful YA novel!

    In the interest of full disclosure, I received a copy of this book at no cost from the publisher for review purposes.

    5 Stars!

    I just loved this book. Even though I was a teenager half my life ago, this book is one of the reasons I still choose to read YA novels. There are no silly sparkly vampires seen here. There is really nothing sparkly seen here at all. This book is real. This book makes the reader feel.

    Laurel is just entering a high school at a new school. She is given an assignment in her English class of writing a letter to a person who is dead. While Laurel never turns in her assignment, she spends that year writing letters to famous dead people as a way of journaling her very troubled life. Through the letters, the reader learns everything that troubles Laurel but we learn them piece by piece. The biggest piece is the loss of her older sister and the subsequent effect on her family. Many pieces of the story do not come until the end of the book when Laurel is ready to deal with them. We watch her deal with pain and grief in stages as she is ready.

    The letters are address to people that I know well since I am older than the intended audience. I do wonder if the average teen reader will know who Kurt Cobain, Jim Morrison, River Phoenix and Janis Joplin are and whether than will have any effect on their enjoyment of the book. This book will probably be best for an older teen as drinking, drugs, and sex (plus other sensitive topics) are part of the story.

    We do see Laurel grow and deal with everything that has happened in her life. I have hope for her future. This is a story of a girl having the strength to overcome what life has thrown at her.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    What might have been?

    Could have been a good book until an honest review. Gave away to much info. Now I don' t need to read it. Teachs me a lesson,not to read long review.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Laurel is in a new school to try and get away from everyone know

    Laurel is in a new school to try and get away from everyone knowing who she is and what happened to her sister. She gets her first assignment in English class to write a letter to someone who has died. She writes to Kurt Cobain because he died young like her sister May did. While she doesn't turn it in that assignment started her writing to all kinds of dead people about what is going on in her life and the more she writes the more she reveals about what happened to her and her sister. The letters become a way of her finally getting out what she has been hiding from.




    I had heard great things about this book and was glad I finally got the time to read it. Laurel is a young girl who is in many ways running from who she is. She lost her sister and now just wants to move on. She goes to a new school and begins to make new friends. She doesn't share anything from her past with them. With her new friends she begins to d many things from drinking form the first time, to falling in love with a guy, to sharing their secrets. All the time she is writing letters do dead people in her journal talking about her life. She slowly begins to talk about what happened to her sister and her in the letters. She doesn't want anyone to read them. Her sister's death has tore her family apart and Laurel has to learn to talk to them as well. The letters help her do so. I liked this book as it is very clever in how it is written. You do get to see Laurel in her every day life but the journal entries are a great touch as you see why she has picked each person and why they are special to her. Kurt Cobain is just the start of some amazing people she writes to. I felt sorry for her in many ways as most of the time she seemed to be trying to fit in with the others and hiding form what is really bothering her. I didn't expect what had happened to her and it was a twist that really surprised me. This is a wonderful book I would recommend to many.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    I was super excited to read this book. The cover is gorgeous and

    I was super excited to read this book. The cover is gorgeous and the blurb sounds really interesting. At first, it was everything I had been hoping for. Laurel is writing letters to dead celebrities as she tries to figure out her life. She is trying to cope with the fact that her mom ran away and her sister died. She's at a new school and makes some new friends. The writing is gorgeous and full of emotion. I love the way Laurel describes things, like the way she feels connected to the music of dead singers, or the performances of dead actors.

    About half way through, I started to lose interest. The beginning was so awesome, but then the same things kept getting rehashed over and over. The writing was still beautiful, and I really enjoyed Laurel's relationship with the dead people she keeps writing to. But the story had somehow lost it's spark for me. I didn't feel like I connected with the characters all that much. They were all pretty quirky, which isn't a bad thing, but it just wasn't MY thing.

    I'm not a teenager, so maybe that had something to do with it, but I can't be certain that I would have connected with the book even if I were a teenager. I'm chalking this one up to personal taste, because it really is a beautifully written book.

    Content: This one has a LOT of content. Underage drinking, sex between underage teens and older guys, drugs, smoking, passionate make out sessions with and without clothes, and quite a bit of language. Far too many F-words for my tastes.

    The Cover: I adore this cover! It is so gorgeous and it portrays the feel of this book really well. The cover was definitely a huge plus for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest re

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Love Letters to the Dead is one of the most important books I’ve read in my entire life. It’s important because the message it conveys, is of the utmost important. The story tells us about Laurel, the main character, who moved schools after her sister, May, passed away. After May’s death, Laurel’s entire life has crumbled apart. She tries to become like May, tries to make her sister come to life again by becoming her. She tries to understand her sister and the mistakes she made, the choices she picked, and why. But the more Laurel begins to behave like May, the more she loses herself.

    Her English teacher gives her an assignment – to write a letter to a dead person. Laurel starts writing to Kurt Cobain, Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, and more. She picked those artists because her sisters loved them, or because they had something in common with her sister. As Laurel writes more and more letters, in which she talks about her new life, her new friends, how she copes with her sister’s passing, about her Mom who lives halfway across the state now, and about her Dad who tries so hard to cope, I started to feel a real connection to her, and my heart broke for Laurel. But despite it all, she keeps on going strong, and tries to deal with the past the only way she knows how.

    The book is beautifully written. It brought me to tears more than once. The characters are amazing, and even May, although deceased, feels like a real character. The book feels very real, as if Laurel and her friends – who each have their own share of troubles – could just walk into the room and start chatting.

    A great, inspiring read. Keep the tissues ready.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Looks cool

    This book looks good but unfortunately i cant afford it :(

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    I just finished this book literally 15 minutes ago. I read the w

    I just finished this book literally 15 minutes ago. I read the whole book in a day, i really liked this book. I was on the edge of my seat after every single page because there was never a page that was a drag on. It shows what she has been through and her obstacles that she faces after the death of her sister. I definitely recommend this book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Sounds creepy

    Dont know if i should read.......?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    I've seen this book in a store and had to pick it up mainly beca

    I've seen this book in a store and had to pick it up mainly because of the beautiful cover but the storyline seemed to be great, too.
    I was wrong, not even halfway through the book I couldn't read on anymore, I'm not a person that needs big words but the writing style is too simple,
    too much of what people would say they feel than what they really feel. I couldn't identify at all with the girl and everything was happening too quick while we didn't learn
    anything about her secret for a long time.
    I think the idea of the book, writing to dead people, is really interesting but it didn't make up for the lack of feelings that were conveyed. I felt like what I read was more "my face got red when he glanced at me" than a description of how she really felt inside. Sadly this seemed to be the main writing style and therefore I lost interest pretty soon. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Beautiful

    This book to me is honestly relateable in so many ways
    I seriously could not put it down, i felt connected to Laurel and fell in love with Sky, they kept me on my toes the entire time. Throughout this book I admit, I cried, idk it just hit me in a way I can't describe , truley one of the best books i have read in awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    This book was absolutely amazing, and i would definitley recomme

    This book was absolutely amazing, and i would definitley recommend it for teenagers to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 3.5 This book is confusing for me to review/rate. Ove

    Rating: 3.5

    This book is confusing for me to review/rate.

    Overall, I liked this book. If I think about the book in terms of individual letters, though, I feel less certain about whether or not I liked it as much. I enjoy stories that are told in the form of letters. I especially liked that the letters are addressed to people that I am familiar with. However, the included details about the letter recipients, solely for the sake of the reader, kind of threw the story off. It felt strange to read the letter discussing the recipient’s life and then transition into what was going on in Laurel’s life. It didn’t flow well for me.

    The book is about dealing with loss, moving on, and becoming your own person after losing someone you’re close to. I enjoyed the way the story unfolded, over time and in a realistic way. However, there were times where I just wanted to know what happened already! Laurel’s grief over her sister’s death is palpable. It rang true in her letters. I think her transition throughout the book was done well. It’s hard dealing with life sometimes and this is especially so when dealing with such a great loss.

    Love Letters to the Dead is a unique coming-of-age story. It will work for some, but fail for others.

    You can read all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I finally picked up the book that everyone is raving about. And

    I finally picked up the book that everyone is raving about. And yes, it is good.

    Plot: This story is told through letters written to dead people. I love the way these letters reveal a small part Laurel life’s. She writes to each person differently, capturing the reader with great imagination. The way she wrote her feelings, the way she questions actions, helps the reader become more in-tune with Laurel.

    Friendship/Loss: Laurel goes through a lot. With each letter Laurel becomes better and learns to deal. Each letter is significant to the person she is writing to. For me, it felt like Laurel’s connection to each dead person makes it real. Towards the end, I adored Laurel and the way she dealt with grief.

    Ending: I think this story deals with grief that any teen can connect to. It has music and it has soul. It touches the reader right in the heart.

    Love Letters To The Dead is an effective tale of grief and lost. The elegant use of letters, steals the reader away. Love Letters To The Dead is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Couldn't put it down

    More on a teen level, but I loved the concept of a teacher giving an assignment for her class to write a letter to a dead person which for one student turns into several letters to different dead celebrities. The assignment becomes a healing process for her and ger journey is one to take in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1