Customer Reviews for

Love Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love Life by Rob Lowe follows his fascinating memoir Stories I O

Love Life by Rob Lowe follows his fascinating memoir Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography which was published in 2011. With the kind of rave reviews it received which catapulted the book to the top of the bestseller list, I’m sure there is bound to be a sens...
Love Life by Rob Lowe follows his fascinating memoir Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography which was published in 2011. With the kind of rave reviews it received which catapulted the book to the top of the bestseller list, I’m sure there is bound to be a sense of disappointment with his second book. Not because it is poorly written or that it does not have great content worth reading, but living up to a certain degree of expectation or hype is a difficult thing to follow through. On that count, many readers will be frustrated.

Love Life is an absorbing, stimulating and thought-provoking read. It is a confirmation of the gift that Rob Lowe is bestowed as an author. What is particularly fascinating, and mostly likely to endear with readers, is the fact that he is open about his life, and is not unduly worried to talk about it. He is not the type to confine himself or his family within a limited protective shell. He lives quite a normal life, the kind of life that humans are meant to live. He has seen his own fair share of failures and successes and he is not about to discuss them or admit his mistakes. Reading the book opens new eyes with which to see him as he really is.

What is plainly clear is that he knows what he is writing, talking or doing. He has learned and unlearned many things in life and shares them with profound abandon. What I find particularly interesting is the part about his family. He also offered an exciting look into the world of television and movie. Love Life by Rob Lowe is the lessons of life that the author learned during his life’s journey. It is informative, entertaining and incredibly inspiring.

posted by Wildflowers on April 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

5 Star Lowe

An amazing story teller with such a zest for life

posted by Dobie1 on April 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Love Life by Rob Lowe follows his fascinating memoir Stories I O

    Love Life by Rob Lowe follows his fascinating memoir Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography which was published in 2011. With the kind of rave reviews it received which catapulted the book to the top of the bestseller list, I’m sure there is bound to be a sense of disappointment with his second book. Not because it is poorly written or that it does not have great content worth reading, but living up to a certain degree of expectation or hype is a difficult thing to follow through. On that count, many readers will be frustrated.

    Love Life is an absorbing, stimulating and thought-provoking read. It is a confirmation of the gift that Rob Lowe is bestowed as an author. What is particularly fascinating, and mostly likely to endear with readers, is the fact that he is open about his life, and is not unduly worried to talk about it. He is not the type to confine himself or his family within a limited protective shell. He lives quite a normal life, the kind of life that humans are meant to live. He has seen his own fair share of failures and successes and he is not about to discuss them or admit his mistakes. Reading the book opens new eyes with which to see him as he really is.

    What is plainly clear is that he knows what he is writing, talking or doing. He has learned and unlearned many things in life and shares them with profound abandon. What I find particularly interesting is the part about his family. He also offered an exciting look into the world of television and movie. Love Life by Rob Lowe is the lessons of life that the author learned during his life’s journey. It is informative, entertaining and incredibly inspiring.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly Great Read!

    I had read Rob Lowe's first book when it came out and then saw him promoting this book on TV. This book was really well written, easy to read and enjoyable. Rob tells stories about his career and family and why he has made the choices he has. Very insightful. Rob isn't just another pretty face - he has a great mind and shares some of the things he has learned in life in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    This was a good book, but it's not a scandalous kiss and tell bo

    This was a good book, but it's not a scandalous kiss and tell book. The love life he's referring to is his wife, who he obviously adores (lucky lady). Still has good stories about the past and about being a father and the challenges of acting. Plus, he refers to Dayton, Ohio, numerous times, which is close to where I live. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Rob Lowe has seen it all and done it all. He¿s been to the heigh

    Rob Lowe has seen it all and done it all. He’s been to the height of fame, he has experienced the fall from fame, he has been through image-destroying scandals, and he has survived it all to come out on top. His private stories told in Love Life are very interesting. Rob is very open about his life and the stories are both honest and inspirational, with just the right touch of humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Annabelle

    Anyone on

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    A great summer read

    He's just adorable....in looks and in personality. Self-deprecating (although he's not afraid to remind you of his acclaimed acting), sweet and very thoughtful. I preferred his first book, but this one is a solid follow-up. Keep 'em coming Rob!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    To abby

    Sure, choose anybook, i love giving girls and women pleasure

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Abby to anyone

    Looking for bf i have blond hair blue eyes big b.oobs and a se.xy body

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Loved this book!

    Entertaining, insightful, honest, funny, and well written! Keep writing Rob, you have a gift for this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Loved It!!!!!!

    An easy, intimate read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Riley to Jassy

    Want to chat go to lovd and i will be waiting.plus i did not misspell lovd wrong it is a real book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    To jassy from caroline

    I slowly take your clothes off.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Jassy to Riley

    Hi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    For fans¿. Not as good as his first book.

    So first to set expectations…. this book is less about Rob Lowe's "Love Life" than an instruction from him for you to "love life." For those looking for juicy tidbits about his romantic or sexual escapades you may be disappointed. There are certainly a few of those, yes, but most of the book is not focused on them.

    Lowe's first book Stories I Only Tell My Friends was wonderful. After that, this book is a bit of a let down.

    There are some wonderful parts to it, and some less wonderful. It felt a little all over the place with no clear logic as to what stories he included in the book and why in this particular order. In many places he throws around the names of his celebrity friends and co-workers and then in other stories - some of the ones in which you'd most want to know "who" he is writing about- he leaves them unnamed. Overall, the book does give you insight in Rob's life as a happily married man, involved father, and successful actor. There are some great moments about his appreciation for life and thoughts to how we can all enjoy and appreciate our own lives more. As a fan, I enjoyed the book but felt it could have used a better editing job to craft it into something even better than it is and as well done as his first one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Alex

    Walks in and says i am Mr.Big Di.ck

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Not what I expected

    I read the first book by Rob Lowe and it was far better than this one. I thought he went into too much detail at times making it hard to follow. Was disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Jen to blain

    U related to bill?

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Rebecca

    ...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Blaine

    Blaine snoeberger is my real name....just got done watching fastand the furious my

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Akila

    Walks in

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2