Customer Reviews for

Love Lifted Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    I got this book in the mail last week and immediately got down t

    I got this book in the mail last week and immediately got down to reading it. Not because I am familiar with either Sara Evans or the Songbird series, but because the premise looks interesting, and the cover is just heartwarming.

    Love Lifted Me is the third book in the Songbird series from the collaborative, creative writing of two talented ladies, Sara Evans and Rachel Hauck. I never got to read the first two book, but this did not really stop me from adoring this story of forgiveness and the rebuilding of trust. Some events from the first two books were briefly referenced without having to tell the whole story, and I thought that was okay. I didn't have much trouble getting back into the flow of the present events.

    The characters are easy to relate with, like next door neighbors going through some tough times. There is no doubt that this is a heartwarming novel, and the writing helped in making each emotions seem real. While some of the events felt a little too-good-to-be-true, I didn't mind. I loved this book from start to finish. I'd probably find time to read the first two books and will definitely be watching out for these two author's future works.

    Thanks Booksneeze for the review copy! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    More about Max than Jade and very Spiritual

    This 3rd book in the series was more about Max and his journey and them both very much relying on God and prayer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    AMAZING!!! Each book gets better and better. I could not put t

    AMAZING!!! Each book gets better and better. I could not put this one down. I woke up wanting to know what was going to happen next. The only bad thing is that I am done reading the series...I want more of Jade and Max :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Good Read

    This book was the best of the three. Overall a good story but a little slow at times. I think that the writing style is just a little slow.. It ended up to be a nice sweet story. It did keep my interest more than the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    I had never heard of the Songbird series and didn't realize that

    I had never heard of the Songbird series and didn't realize that Sara Evans was involved in something like this. Rachel, it's a pleasure to "meet" you! I will have to check these books out--they promise to be rewarding in more ways than one.
    Just finished this book...and I had to slow down my reading speed because I ENJOYED it that much! I was so thrilled to received the pre-order even earlier than expected. SUPERB writing...great job Rachel! I have also read the two previous books and highly recommend this series to anyone wanting to get "lost" in a good book.Beautiful review, Serena!! I have read this book and it is all that you say and more!! Excellent read you won't want to put down.


    I wanted to like this book, and for the most part, I did. The story is a cute story about a couple who works on their rocky marriage. I loved how both the wife and husband had baggage, and grace and forgiveness were main themes of this book. Max, the recently recovered addict, leaves his lawyer career to pursue coaching football. His wife Jade goes with him, and learns to trust her husband again after his addiction and infidelity. There were moments that reminded me of the Friday Night Light. This book was like,“Facing the Giants” with southern spice. Jade and Max had a rough beginning to their marriage. He cheated and out of that union came Asa, a son. After Asa’s mother died, Jade took in the little boy like her own showing love and faith, struggling against fears and an old habit of running away from things and situations.

    Max goes to work in Texas as part of his rehabilitation after getting confronted with his prescription drug addiction. After months of being clean. n this sequel to Softly and Tenderly, Jade is trying to heal from Max's betrayal. She still doesn't trust him, but she's fallen in love with Asa his two-year-old illegitimate son. Max returns from the Outpost Rehab Ranch in Texas where he has been coaching football for the Randall County rec center team. Now Jade and Max have to figure out how to become a family again or whether it's still possible. I have really enjoyed all three of these and hope there are more to come. I'm never sure of a singer or actor that crosses over into writing but tgese were a nice surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Kritters Ramblings

    The third in a series of heart wrenching stories that have an air of Christian fiction, but do not shove their religious views in your face. Written together with country singer, Sara Evans, and well seasoned fiction author, Rachel Hauck - this series hits straight to the heart with each flip of the page.

    With a gap in time between reading the second book and this third and final in the trilogy, it was still so easy to get back into Jade's life and be swept away by her struggles and extreme faith and forgiveness. As this is the third in the series, I can't talk too much about the specifics of this book because you must go read the first two before you dive into this one. Jade and Max are a couple that have real emotions and real experiences that help make this book enjoyable. This couple has trials and tribulations just as another other couple.

    A job change, a big move, and the struggle to start a family are themes in this book that almost anyone who is reading can relate to, I felt Jade's struggle as she moves for Max to follow his dreams. Whether you are a fan of chick lit or women's fiction, this series would be a perfect start to a cold winter weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    really a great read

    Great book great series wish this wasn't the last though, but love this series and it was a good end to it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Riveting, Uplifting Read!

    Jade Benson, the main character of Love Lifted Me, the third book in the Songbirds Series by Sara Evans and Rachel Hauck, is just starting to grow strong enough to face the chaos and heartache she's endured in her life, especially in the last few years. Her husband, Max, is trying to prove himself to his wife--his faithfulness to her and his commitment to stay drug free and not return to using pain-pills to chase away his problems.

    Readers who have read the other two books in the series know that Jade and Max have run a full gauntlet of struggles and challenges in their marriage. Drug use, infidelity, parent issues...The scene is already set when book three begins, and it's hard to imagine what trials the two of them will go through in this book.

    This book is full of hope. There is still enough conflict to keep the reader interested and make her leave her dishes undone and dinner uncooked while she finds out what will happen to these people she's grown to care about, but the tone of this book is markedly different from the first.

    The fragrance of grace permeates this story. It's not at all "preachy", but the message of God's love was clear in the lives of the characters. This was a story about losing fear and embracing trust. It was a story of redemption, perhaps the best possible theme a story can have. And it was about love. Love for others. Love for God. His love for us.

    Evans and Hauck make a great writing team. The writing is very well done, the imagery and symbolism used colors the story in an even more vivid way. Nothing about this book left me disappointed and I very highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1