Customer Reviews for

Love Me to Death (Lucy Kincaid Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    A long wait well-rewarded

    Ever since Lucy Kincaid's horrific experiences in a past Brennan book I've been waiting to see what happened to her. This book was well worth the wait. Lucy Kincaid and Sean Rogan are a great pairing for the action/adventure tale in this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a tense twisting thriller

    Six years ago, Lucy Kincaid met a seemingly nice man on-line. When they finally met in person, he proved to be a psychopath. He attacked her, but she survived while her molester died.

    Since the assault, Lucy dreams of becoming an undercover FBI agent. In the meantime in DC waiting for the feds to call, she works obsessively as a volunteer for Women and Children First! Her role is to lure web predators and other sex offenders into traps. However, Lucy becomes concerned with her endeavor when she realizes several of those she busted have been executed since leaving prison. A friend and business cohort of Lucy's concerned brothers, private investigator Sean Rogan, tries to keep her safe. They are attracted to one another, but are hesitant to act on their feelings. Meanwhile Lucy probes the connections that seem chaotic, but at the same time the FBI is scrutinizing her actions as she is more than just a person of interest in what is believed a serial killer's vendetta.

    Love me to death is a taut "FBI" romantic suspense thriller starring family members from Sudden Death and Cutting Edge. The story line is fast-paced but driven by obsessed Lucy who is stunned to realize someone is following up on her efforts to capture sex predators by killing the psychopaths. Although purposely serpentine with surprising but fun chaotic misdirection and red herrings that confuse the heroine (and readers), this approach enhances the investigation that Lucy and Sean conduct. There are also a ton of support characters who can overwhelm the reader at times trying to remember who's who, but this also adds to the fog of a convoluted inquiry as Allison Brennan provides a tense twisting thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    For those who have read this author's previous books about the Kincaid family, this book will be enjoyable and familiar. It focuses on Lucy 6 years after the last book and moves at a quick pace. It's an easy read, and you don't have to have read any of the author's previous books to read this, although it would be helpful in understanding the character relationships and Lucy's back story. I enjoyed it and look forward to the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Love me to death

    Its a sad but loving story. Ha its just like my parents!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Love it!

    I've been a fan of Allison Brennan since reading the Evil series and I continue to be. I love how the characters overlap from story to story while each book still stands on it's own. This story pulls you in and keeps you inerested the whole way through. Can't wait to read the next Lucy Kincaid story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    I discovered this series about the 3rd book in and I loved it so

    I discovered this series about the 3rd book in and I loved it so I went back to the beginning. This is the first book in the Lucy Kincaid Series and boy is Lucy a fighter. She is the hero of this story, fighting to put rapists and child predators back in prison. Then she meets the hero Sean Rogan and together they make romance magic. You will also meet more of the Kincaid clan who are all heros in their own right. Lucy has had a tough fight for quite a while and this book doesn't give her a break. If you love lots of twists and turns and a romance on top this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    LOVED this book.  Had me hooked from the very start of the book.

    LOVED this book.  Had me hooked from the very start of the book.  It was hard for me to put down.  Just bought the next one and can't wait to get started on it.  It will be my 4th book by Allison Brennan, I think she is now one of my favorite authors! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Exciting!

    This was a good, exciting read. However, the main character's self pity did get old after it came up over and over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    ¿v¿

    <3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Fabulous

    Omg this book was amazing. Read it in 3 days only because I had to sleep...lol......this series is amazing!!! On the 2nd now...cant wait to finish that one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Love Lucy

    Lucy has been thru a kidnapping and horrific rape. She has tried to prepare herself in case someone tries it again. Trust is a difficult emotion to acquire. Lucy wants to work for the FBI. Physically she is strong and she is doing everything possible to be as strong mentally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great

    Love all her books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Good read but not a keeper. Bunny

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Intriguing!

    Smart, thrilling,sexy, and mysterious...this book has it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    highly recommened

    I loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    An exciting, suspenseful thriller.

    It was six years ago when the incident happened. Lucy Kincaid met a man who seemed nice on the internet. However, after meeting in person, this man proved to be anything but ¿nice¿. Lucy survived an attack against this man, however, he didn¿t. While Lucy works on her goal to join the FBI in hopes to fight any cyber-crime, especially sex offender related sex crime, she volunteers first to lure web predators out into the open. She works with a business partner, Sean, who attempts to keep Lucy safe. In the midst of all of this, the FBI reports the predators that Lucy has caught turning up as murder victims. Now, Lucy is appointed as a person of interest, and everything is on the line. The real question is how Lucy would ever be able to free herself, and if she every does. Love Me to Death is an exciting, suspenseful romance thriller. Obstacles are thrown at the main character left and right, and it seems like everyone (including the readers) are stuck in a maze of mysteries. I would recommend this book to anyone my age (15) and up. Anyone who is up for an exciting story can be sure to find it in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    A great story with love 'em or hate 'em characters

    With sheer determination, Lucy Kincaid has beaten the odds. A one-time victim, she's worked tirelessly to rebuild her life, focusing on her goal of joining the ranks of the FBI despite the lingering anxiety ingrained from a brutal attack and kidnapping six years prior. She survived and in a fitting twist of fate, made certain that her attacker didn't. She'll do what it takes to never be a victim again and try to help those that unwittingly step into predators' paths.
    While waiting for word on her FBI application, Lucy spends her free time volunteering at a victim's rights group and surfs the web undercover to smoke out re-offenders. But as in any good story, the best laid plans never go smoothly. When Lucy discovers that the criminals she's entrapping become murder victims themselves, the FBI takes a brand new and very different look at Lucy. Now everything's in jeopardy, family, her future, maybe even her life.
    With her freedom and future now in peril, she joins up with Sean Rogan-daredevil and security expert-and they work to track their slippery prey. Now here's a guy we'd love to meet. Street smart and facing unfamiliar territory as he discovers that he wants Lucy to be his, he doesn't see the damage that she feels deep inside and he'll do anything for her. However, someone is watching them both. A cold-hearted killer has his violent eyes on Lucy. Her only means of escape? Perhaps another fight to the death.
    Three circling threads braid this story together: Lucy's past, the vigilante-murderer of parolees and the stalker. With so much evil surrounding her, it's a sad state of affairs when the good guys begin to appear suspicious.
    A fan of Allison's for many years, you always know what you are getting.a great story with love 'em or hate 'em characters and perfectly placed plot twists in every book.

    Reviewed by Shannon Raab for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Worth Reading

    I think it could have been shorter though. It was a too drawn out in parts ... that's why I didn't give it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    lovely

    this is the best book ever you should really check it out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10