Customer Reviews for

Love Monkey

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So much more than expected....

You know how sometimes you just want a bite and you end up having a great meal? That is this book. I wanted something light going into the summer dating 'season' and can't say enough about this book and Mr. Smith's writing. He is clever and insightful and you care for ...
You know how sometimes you just want a bite and you end up having a great meal? That is this book. I wanted something light going into the summer dating 'season' and can't say enough about this book and Mr. Smith's writing. He is clever and insightful and you care for him yet see why others can loathe him. In short, he is any guy who has ever dated beyond high school (or at least what we hope to be). This book is genuinely funny, laugh-out-loud, not-to-read-in-public funny. But there is a heart, and for those of questionable men who do feel we somewhere nurture a heart of gold, this encapsules part of the struggle. My copy is already on its 4th lendee (sorry about the royalties, Kyle).

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Start then a Fizzle

Smith's book starts out great, and I was encouraged to begin reading it based on some of the glowing reviews. I must admit that the beginning was funny and i couldnt put the book down, but towards the end the self-depricating humor turned into whining. While I would sti...
Smith's book starts out great, and I was encouraged to begin reading it based on some of the glowing reviews. I must admit that the beginning was funny and i couldnt put the book down, but towards the end the self-depricating humor turned into whining. While I would still recommend reading the book i'd take it with a grain of salt

posted by Anonymous on November 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    Great Start then a Fizzle

    Smith's book starts out great, and I was encouraged to begin reading it based on some of the glowing reviews. I must admit that the beginning was funny and i couldnt put the book down, but towards the end the self-depricating humor turned into whining. While I would still recommend reading the book i'd take it with a grain of salt

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    So much more than expected....

    You know how sometimes you just want a bite and you end up having a great meal? That is this book. I wanted something light going into the summer dating 'season' and can't say enough about this book and Mr. Smith's writing. He is clever and insightful and you care for him yet see why others can loathe him. In short, he is any guy who has ever dated beyond high school (or at least what we hope to be). This book is genuinely funny, laugh-out-loud, not-to-read-in-public funny. But there is a heart, and for those of questionable men who do feel we somewhere nurture a heart of gold, this encapsules part of the struggle. My copy is already on its 4th lendee (sorry about the royalties, Kyle).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    WICKED HUMO, HIP DIALOGUE, AND SHARP INSIGHT

    He's been dubbed 'The male Bridget Jones.' You can call his debut novel Guy Lit if you wish, but gals will find it unputdownable, too - it's a rare glimpse into the male mind related with wicked humor, hip dialogue, and sharp insight. An editor at People magazine, Kyle Smith said, 'Someone has to speak up for that dwindling minority, the non-metrosexual straight male.' Speak up he did producing one of the most clever debut novels of the year. Protagonist Tom Farrell (who may, for all we know, slightly resemble the author) works at a fictional Big Apple daily, Tabloid. He's been there for ten years now, coming up with such forgettable headlines as 'The Stripping News' for an article on topless bars, and 'Sects and the City' to top an article about a new Jewish group. Distraction and love enters his life in the form of a shapely, tiny-waisted co-worker, Julia. Tom is hooked but he's not quite deft at hooking her. To this end he receives advice, support, and tongue-lashings from his buds, including Shooter, A-Rod, and Bran (a gal pal). There's a wide divide between dating and mating. Is Julia really the one? How's a guy to know? However, the year is 2001. It is summer and September is yet to come, and with it many changes. Put 'Love Monkey' at the top of your To Read list - it's not to be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    Hilarious!

    The author is incredibly witty and has a talent for truly describing the inner battles within all of us. I would laugh out loud while reading this book on the subway. This is a MUST READ! I can't believe this is Kyle Smith's first novel. I think he will become one of this generation's best novelists.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Love Monkey Review

    I have a new friend and his name is Tom Farrell. Kyle Smith has written a character that reminds us of ourselves or someone we know well. The book is funny and has caused me to laugh out loud repeatedly with its witty observations. I strongly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    I love this book

    If you have ever lived and dated in the NYC area, you will completely relate to and enjoy this book, although I can't imagine that there is anyone out there who wouldn't find Love Monkey thoroughly amusing. I seriously laughed out loud the whole way through and even cried once or twice. Chick lit was soooo over, but Kyle Smith reinvented it. As a former New Yorker, I wish I read it back in my single days, because I would have understood a lot more about what guys are actually thinking about (other girls!). But this book also reminds us that even the most cynical, immature guy can fall in love. And I fell in love with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    The stuff we laugh and drink to avoid thinking about, in minute, funny, painful detail

    I once saw a female literature professor say of Harlequin-style romance novels: 'What do women want? The answer's right here, in these books!' _Love Monkey_ answers the somewhat more disturbing question 'What are men thinking?' It manages to do so while being painful, embarrassing, and very, very funny all at the same time, just like life (and it's not just life here in New York, though as a part of the New York media milieu that inspired Smith, I must say he's got our number). As the hack writer hero alternately pursues his dreamgirl, schemes up fallback plans for pursuing other less-difficult women, and distracts himself with fond memories of _The Empire Strikes Back_ or unpleasant memories of gym class, we're reminded that all those postmodernisty-type writers of the past decade or so were wasting their time: real life is strange and funny and confusing enough already. Smith sticks to that, and creates the strange feeling that, as a friend of mine (yet another thirtysomething 'manboy,' as Smith dubs our kind) said, that Smith has been spying on all of us pathetic, desperate males and is finally telling the world the ugly truth. (Is it Schadenfreude if you're laughing at a version of _yourself_ on a bad date?)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Love Monkey Shines!

    In this day and age of drab dates, women may be better off spending a few evenings at home curled up with Kyle Smith's Tom Farrell character. He's funny, intelligent and (though he tries hard to hide it) incredibly sexy and romantic. It makes you want to shake up some of the female characters in the book for writing him off. Smith also succeeds in making New York City the book's second most intriguing character, capturing all the sounds, smells, and excitement-in-the-air sense that is the city. So take note: there's only a few episodes of 'Sex and the City' left. Get 'Love Monkey' and ease those withdrawal pains!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Love Makes a Monkey of Us All

    A dazzling debut by a very funny and talented writer--as a fellow male member of the NYC generation between the Boomers and the Xers, this one brought back all of the memories of the exhilarating highs and the inevitable lows of the dating jungle inhabited by said Love Monkey. While it speaks to a very specific place and time, aspects of the tale are timeless, so here's hoping that this one is around for quite a while. Smith turns a phrase with the best of them; sprinkled in with his take on big picture themes are some classic witticisms out of the mouths (and, in at least one case, groins) of some unforgettable characters. To all who haven't read it yet, Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    Cute

    Thirty-two tears old Tom Farrell is a swinging single enjoying life in Manhattan while working as a rewrite man at Tabloid, 'America's loudest newspaper.' His job is to revise submissions into spicy tales with attention-grabbing headlines, the more outrageously conspicuous the better............................................... Tom¿s pastime is to collect and discard girlfriends at a pace that would rate a mention in Guinness if they kept such a category. His hobby besides women and sports is the Cartoon Network as he prefers to emulate the life of a young teen to that of a thirty something soul married with children. Recently Julia entered his top head and he cannot switch gears with her as he normally does with females. Still that does not stop him from thinking (with the wrong head) that he might want to end his friendship with Bran by enticing her into his bed......................... . This gender bender slick lit tale is amusing though the protagonist loses his cute image turning Tom terrific into an unsympathetic character when he pursues action with a gal pal not out of undying love and regardless of the cost to their friendship. Readers will appreciate LOVE MONKEY for placing a mirror to the chick lit sub-genre with a stag stud star, but ultimately ask what¿s it all about Farrell? .............................. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    a joy

    If you have any sense of humor whatsoever, or have ever been smitten by a certain someone, you'll quickly be charmed by this warm, wonderfully well written story of a guy making his way through a romantic obstacle course in New York. One of the best comic novels in a very long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No story

    There is no plot here. The book just run out of steam and ends. While several parts are very funny, it isnt enough to prop this book up. It sounds like the author wrote about a funny, but pointless part of his own life...like a collection of water cooler stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Fans Strike Back

    I was initially taken by the idea of Love Monkey, however after reading the book felt Kyle Smith to be a truly awful writer. Despite the low price, I would have a greater feeling of satisfaction had I eaten the four dollars I spent. Save your money for the Dollar Menu folks...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    NOT RECOMMENDED!

    Kyle Smith's debut novel, with its insipid plot and self-absorbed protagonist, is pretty unlikeable if you ask me. It's badly written, for one thing. I think this reads like it was ripped from the author's journals or diaries. You want something substantial in a novel, even a more commercial one, and this one just doesn't deliver. Big thumbs down. Maybe next time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    love monkeyyyyy

    the main character of this book repeatedly calls himself a 'manboy', but the author went overboard in trying to prove this. the writing came off as a bit too immature and chauvinistic. his overall prose style was okay. it had a crisp magazine flair and was an easy read. on the otherhand, there was pretty much no plot and occasionally the lack of story became boring. i didnt like it, but i didnt hate it either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1